Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Super Magnifiers

You can't buy these special magnifying eye glasses in a department store. Most reading eye glasses give you a maximum magnification of 3X, but these optically correct magnifying glasses are stronger and the focal point is closer, exactly where you need it to be for tying flies or replacing tippets. Eye glasses come in 4X and 5X magnifications. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
54 of 60(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Review 1 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Best Buy,
July 22, 2015
By: GlennS
from Western MA
"I loved them right out of the box. They are great for reading fine print on products and forms. High quality frames and lens. I am impressed. I can read small print and don't need the manifying glass any longer. They are more powerful. I can't wait to use them on the water."
Review 2 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
June 29, 2015
By: Redlegs
from New Jersey
"Orvis magnifiers are of excellent quality. The product arrived in perfect condition, just as expected. My husband is very well pleased as fly fishing will be much more exciting now."
Review 3 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific clarity,
June 26, 2015
By: Lindalee4102
from Bel Air, MD
"I was using the magnifiers that clip on your hat and fold down, but found that they did not give me the magnification or clarity that I needed to tie a fly on my line. These are perfect and fit nicely in the pocket of my Orvis fishing vest."
Review 4 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surpassed my Expectations,
June 21, 2015
By: luckypt7
from Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
"These glasses make a HUGE difference when tying flies. They are comfortable and very clear. They are also very sturdy and made of solid materials. Would definitely recommend these to everyone that ties flies.....now I wonder how I did without them."
Review 5 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Vision,
May 18, 2015
By: MarkA12
from San Luis Obispo Ca
"I need something more power and these work great with threading the line through the fly."
Review 6 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Magnifying Eyeglasses,
February 26, 2015
By: StarBuyer
"Nice looking pair of magnifiers. Wish they would have come with a box instead of a plastic bag.
Purchased for my mother who has macular degeneration. She cant see out of one eye and other eye 20/40. They did not work at all for her. She cannot read anything with them. The glasses may work for someone with better macular degeration vision.
Will keep the glasses and use as a magnifier for other family members"
Review 7 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful tool,
November 28, 2014
By: KayakGuy
from Dallas, TX
"These glasses are ideal for both tying flies and threading small ones streamside."
Review 8 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magnifying glasses,
November 20, 2014
By: Chris119
from Holiday, FL
"This was a gift to my mother, who has macular degeneration. Her feedback was 100% positive! She said she could finally read!"
Review 9 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super,
October 31, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"These magnifiers are incredible. I have both the 4x and 5x. I keep the 4x in my fishing bag for those size 22s with 8x tippet. I use the 5x for tying those 22 flies. Using these is so helpful for many situations. My wife loves them for their ability to pull splinters out."
Review 10 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A lifesaver !,
July 22, 2014
By: Cdornriz
from New York
"I was recently diagnosed with Tersons syndrome after a brain bleed. This is a condition that affects ones vision and is hopefully temporary. I am happy to say the 5x magnifying glasses have enabled me to read, see the computer and set the temp on the Oven. Thank you Orvis for my quality of life!"
Review 11 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better vision,
July 10, 2014
By: Tadzio
"I really struggle with my sight when I am in the water trying to get a new fly on. These have really been a blessing for me."
Review 12 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Addition for Stream Side,
June 26, 2014
By: AaronAA
from Ironton, OH
"Recently i found myslef having a difficult time with knots and other matters. I needed a sound pair of magnifiers and found them here at Orvis. The glasses are made with quality components and the butterfly hinges make for easy on and off with other items hanging around your neck. Makes life much easier on and off the water."
Review 13 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great glasses,
June 2, 2014
By: KingstonOntario
"Will be good for tying flies onto Tippett. Focal distance is short so not ideal for tying flies which is why I wanted them in the first place."
Review 14 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As we get Older,
April 3, 2014
By: DBOMB
from Fresno, Ca.
"I just received my new Orvis Super Magnifiers and was very pleased with the quality and clearness of the lenses. I am anxious to use them for close up fly tying work up here on the upper Kings River in the Sierras. I now have no excuses."
Review 15 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can see!!,
January 20, 2014
By: fatblake
from Fresno, CA
"I like these glasses. My eyes are getting worse every year. I cannot thread a fly even with my 1.75 magnification reading glasses. These are great, because they are high quality with nice clear lenses. They are not the typical 10 dollar reading glasses, they are crystal clear. The focal point is also perfect for fly fishing. These are great glasses, if you are having problems seeing the fly, these will work great for you!!"
Review 16 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
January 18, 2014
By: Cimmeron
from St. Augustine, FL
"Very well made. I have the 5X for my shop and the 4X to replace my prescription reading glasses. These are a great investment if you do any fine work."
Review 17 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Super Magnifiers,
January 2, 2014
By: guntrader
from Memphis, TN
"This product is a very good addition to my work bench. Excellent for tedious work on very small gun parts. The frames are sturdy and should hold up to a lot of use."
Review 18 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed -not worth the price,
December 27, 2013
By: iknowmolly
"pricy glasses, hopefully are durable. for the cost, did not even come with a case or cleaning cloth. do not recommend"
Review 19 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
See the light,
December 22, 2013
By: KBWDECON
"These glasses are excellent and well made as advertised. You cannot find x5.0 in the stores now days but Orvis has done it again.
See the light when you get yours.
"
Review 20 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great For Reading,
December 21, 2013
By: droe
"These are the perfect glasses for people who can't find strong enough reading glasses anywhere else."