Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Super Magnifiers

You can't buy these special magnifying eye glasses in a department store. Most reading eye glasses give you a maximum magnification of 3X, but these optically correct magnifying glasses are stronger and the focal point is closer, exactly where you need it to be for tying flies or replacing tippets. Eye glasses come in 4X and 5X magnifications. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
48 of 54(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Review 1 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful tool,
November 28, 2014
By: KayakGuy
from Dallas, TX
"These glasses are ideal for both tying flies and threading small ones streamside."
Review 2 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magnifying glasses,
November 20, 2014
By: Chris119
from Holiday, FL
"This was a gift to my mother, who has macular degeneration. Her feedback was 100% positive! She said she could finally read!"
Review 3 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super,
October 31, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"These magnifiers are incredible. I have both the 4x and 5x. I keep the 4x in my fishing bag for those size 22s with 8x tippet. I use the 5x for tying those 22 flies. Using these is so helpful for many situations. My wife loves them for their ability to pull splinters out."
Review 4 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A lifesaver !,
July 22, 2014
By: Cdornriz
from New York
"I was recently diagnosed with Tersons syndrome after a brain bleed. This is a condition that affects ones vision and is hopefully temporary. I am happy to say the 5x magnifying glasses have enabled me to read, see the computer and set the temp on the Oven. Thank you Orvis for my quality of life!"
Review 5 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better vision,
July 10, 2014
By: Tadzio
"I really struggle with my sight when I am in the water trying to get a new fly on. These have really been a blessing for me."
Review 6 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Addition for Stream Side,
June 26, 2014
By: AaronAA
from Ironton, OH
"Recently i found myslef having a difficult time with knots and other matters. I needed a sound pair of magnifiers and found them here at Orvis. The glasses are made with quality components and the butterfly hinges make for easy on and off with other items hanging around your neck. Makes life much easier on and off the water."
Review 7 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great glasses,
June 2, 2014
By: KingstonOntario
"Will be good for tying flies onto Tippett. Focal distance is short so not ideal for tying flies which is why I wanted them in the first place."
Review 8 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As we get Older,
April 3, 2014
By: DBOMB
from Fresno, Ca.
"I just received my new Orvis Super Magnifiers and was very pleased with the quality and clearness of the lenses. I am anxious to use them for close up fly tying work up here on the upper Kings River in the Sierras. I now have no excuses."
Review 9 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can see!!,
January 20, 2014
By: fatblake
from Fresno, CA
"I like these glasses. My eyes are getting worse every year. I cannot thread a fly even with my 1.75 magnification reading glasses. These are great, because they are high quality with nice clear lenses. They are not the typical 10 dollar reading glasses, they are crystal clear. The focal point is also perfect for fly fishing. These are great glasses, if you are having problems seeing the fly, these will work great for you!!"
Review 10 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
January 18, 2014
By: Cimmeron
from St. Augustine, FL
"Very well made. I have the 5X for my shop and the 4X to replace my prescription reading glasses. These are a great investment if you do any fine work."
Review 11 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Super Magnifiers,
January 2, 2014
By: guntrader
from Memphis, TN
"This product is a very good addition to my work bench. Excellent for tedious work on very small gun parts. The frames are sturdy and should hold up to a lot of use."
Review 12 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed -not worth the price,
December 27, 2013
By: iknowmolly
"pricy glasses, hopefully are durable. for the cost, did not even come with a case or cleaning cloth. do not recommend"
Review 13 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
See the light,
December 22, 2013
By: KBWDECON
"These glasses are excellent and well made as advertised. You cannot find x5.0 in the stores now days but Orvis has done it again.
See the light when you get yours.
"
Review 14 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great For Reading,
December 21, 2013
By: droe
"These are the perfect glasses for people who can't find strong enough reading glasses anywhere else."
Review 15 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big improvement over "flipper" magnifier,
December 8, 2013
By: Tomev
"I have all the attachments to keep from dropping various fishing tools in the water, but nothing that would save the "flippers" I attached to my glasses for working with line knots. Now I'm leaving the flippers at home and using standard eyeglass string to keep them safe around my neck. Good, solid quality. Seem more durable than standard drug store variety."
Review 16 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magnifying glasses,
December 4, 2013
By: Yippy
from Australia
"Well made, spring hinges so that it can fit most heads comfortably. Made objects very clear to see, certainly can thread small hooks. I have the 6x version. Was surprised that images were not 6 times larger.
Feels like 2 times larger but certainly exceedingly clear, eyesight
That i had when i was 10 years old !
Wished they came with a matching case.
"
Review 17 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much needed over 55 tool,
November 29, 2013
By: Hound1234
from Gainesville Fl
"The glasses are better than the extra cost incurred to putting reading lens in prescription sunglasses. Fishing for trout is mostly shaded and these work very well. The smaller hook size are easy to thread the line with these glasses. Will keep me fishing freshwater instead of going totally saltwater."
Review 18 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good but,
November 6, 2013
By: Leo111
from Southern England
"Well made strong frame, nice fit, the lens is plastic type material not glass, they arrived in a thin plastic bag secured by a staple, there with a slight blemish on one of the lens, it did not affect the view, they will not resist other than very careful treatment. Disappointed that they were not presented in a proper protective case.not worth the time,cost and trouble to return for exchange."
Review 19 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great glasses,
September 29, 2013
By: Oscardog
"I've been using the 5X version for over a year now. They are great for tying flies and threading 6X leaders onto midges at stream side. I love them so much that the last time I went fishing I left them on my tying bench and was lost without them. I'm getting another pair so that won't happen again. Trust me, I taught physics before I retired and these 5X magnifiers are almost triple the magnification of the 2.5 diopter reading glasses you can get at the drug store. Similar eyeglasses at vision stores are significantly more expensive."
Review 20 for Orvis Super Magnifiers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Buyer Beware!,
May 26, 2013
By: Solearus
from Reading, PA
"I used the Orvis Super Magnifiers on four half day trout fishing trips. They were everything advertised: excellent magnification and clarity. That is, until half way through the fourth outing. When I pulled the glasses from the velcro pocket on my Orvis fishing vest one of the lenses fell out and was washed away to aid some vision challenged trout. For $59.00 I expected better, especially from Orvis. I should have purchased reading glasses from my pharmacy."