Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Shearling Gloves

The warmest, softest, and most comfortable leather gloves you'll ever wear. Made from genuine lambskin with handstitched outside seams for comfort and appearance. In chestnut.Sizes: S(8½), M(9), L(10), XL(11).
Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
17 of 23(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shearling Gloves
Review 1 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice gloves,
September 19, 2013
By: Fyboy
from Winston Salem, NC
"Liked the idea of the shearling to go with my Orvis shearling vest. These fit right, are sewn well and I expect they will be warm, being shearling."
Review 2 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
August 26, 2013
By: clifft47
from twinfalls, id
"the gloves will keep my hands nice and warm during the winter in idaho."
Review 3 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looking forward to Winter,
August 6, 2013
By: TwoBearBill
from Durango, CO
"I wear XL size gloves and these fit perfectly. Very soft leather outside and supple lining inside. Appear to be very well made with sturdy stitching. And all the fingers are different (and correct) lengths, not all the same like cheap gloves I've tried on elsewhere. I'm looking forward to wearing these a LOT this winter."
Review 4 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gloves,
July 16, 2013
By: Cityman88
from New York, NY
"Beautifully made, soft and warm. Size runs large enough to fit my big hands. Looking forward to winter to test them out, but so far so good."
Review 5 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Match for my winter coat,
July 9, 2013
By: Targi
from Hastings-on-Hudson, NY
"I had been looking for a match for my winter coat and found the perfect gloves from Orvis: The color, the look, and the fit are just superb. I can't wait for the winter and those snowy, blistery days just to try them!"
Review 6 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice gloves, wrong color,
March 25, 2013
By: robtee
from New York City
"I've had my eye on these gloves since I saw them in the December catalog. And the "chestnut" color was exactly what I needed.
Unfortunately, they tuned out to be several shades lighter than the photo, and go with nothing I own. Hence, I had to return them.
The gloves were otherwise fine, attractive and warm. But they are not chestnut. If the color had been right, I would have rated the gloves 4 stars. I could recommend them only to someone who is fine with this color."
Review 7 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
February 13, 2013
By: RLangston
"Excellent quality,design, look and feel
soft and warm on the hands
"
Review 8 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice,
February 12, 2013
By: Parley
from New London, CT
"Buy these gloves. Very warm and smart looking. Once you get them broke in, which is no time at all, they just feel great."
Review 9 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A disappointment,
February 6, 2013
By: Rumplestilskin
from Long Island, NY
"Unfortunately, these gloves were a disappointment. I really need a pair of gloves that are the warmest in the world and these are not. The temperature was only down to about 29 degrees F and my fingers were numb. The lining is very thin and certainly not what I expected given the price."
Review 10 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recipients "over the moon"!,
December 28, 2012
By: bails
from Augusta, ME
"These were gifts so I am relying on the recipients comments - "beautiful" - "nice and warm""
Review 11 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Disappointing!,
November 29, 2012
By: AstorGirl
from CT
"I purchased these gloves for my husband; fortunately, not as a gift for someone else. They are only worn back & forth to work, in the car. After only 3 days of wear, the top seam in one finger completely split open. They were not fitted too tightly, either. Very disappointed, as he was very satisfied with the warmth of these gloves. I would have been mortified had I given them to a friend, as a gift."
Review 12 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Orvis best quality,
January 3, 2012
By: jmceug
"Lovely deerskin and warm interior. Sizing true to expectation (XL = 11). Interior shearling not of type or quality Orvis used in past gloves of this design. Craftsmanship in glove sewing uneven and not up to Orvis' previous standards. I would have returned had I another option for my husband's Christmas gift."
Review 13 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shearling Gloves,
December 31, 2011
By: Hunter61
from Philadelphia, PA
"The gloves are a bit too tight but I hope they will loosen up a bit after wearing them. Also, there was white staining on two of the fingers. It doesn't come off. They will keep my hands warm but not look as nice as the 20 year old pair they are replacing."
Review 14 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
December 29, 2011
By: Coldhands
from Brookfield, CT
"From the 1st time I slippped my hands into these gloves, I knew I had a winner. The texture and fit are right on.....my hands stay warm and toasty, yet are able to breathe. Simple, classic, quality...what I have come to expect from Orvis."
Review 15 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
November 2, 2011
By: UKKE
from MA
"I waited two months for these gloves. After purchasing the same gloves several years ago with great satisfaction, I can say definitively that the gloves I have just received are not the same. Clearly the fur is not "curly" and I'm not sure even if the fur is lambskin! The hand- stitching between the fingers is greatly inferior from my last pair; the fur is even coming through the stitching! I still cannot believe that Orvis would even consider sending this product out."
Review 16 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 11, 2010
By: kynoch
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my third pair of these gloves so it seems I like them a lot. My only complaint is that they wear out rather quickly . Usually I get about a year and a half before I get a hole and I don't wear them all the time. That said they are sheepskin which is not the most robust leather in the world but are excellant gloves for early spring and late fall. If you're not going to swing an axe or use them for hard activity I think they're great gloves."
Review 17 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warmest gloves,
February 8, 2010
By: taggs
from Buffalo ny
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have frost bit in my right index finger, aquired from from stripping fly line between my right index finger and rod, while fishing during the winter. So when it gets cold, my right index finger gets very cold compared to my other fingers. These gloves are a blessing. They are the warmest gloves I ever owned. The other gloves did not keep my right index finger warm. The beauty about these gloves is that they breath will keeping you hands warm. Other gloves may keep your hands warm, but your hands will sweat. Thank you orvis."
Review 18 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A disappointment,
February 23, 2009
By: oldstogie
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought a pair of these gloves 5 years ago and wore them out. The 2nd pair I purchased 6 months ago and already the stitching around the thumb area has broken and the material has torn away. The quality of construction is very poor and certainly doesn't meet the price I paid for them. These gloves are not as good as the previous pair I bought."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for any disappointment caused by the lack of durability of these gloves. Orvis thanked the customer for taking the time to provide this feedback and offered an exchange or a refund. Orvis will readily exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 19 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort and Warmth,
November 23, 2008
By: tting
"Most comfortable gloves I've ever owned. Very warm and flexible. Perfect for walking the dog on those cold nights. With the Shearling hat from Orvis, I can outlast the dog on winter walks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shearling Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A MUST FOR EVERYONE,
October 4, 2007
By: Andrews
from Cleveland, OH
"I highly recommended this pair of gloves for everyone! It's soft, warm and comfortable. Easy to pick up coins or little things with this pair of gloves on. I presently own 4 pairs (no kidding), 2 pairs are new which I am saving for the future just in case. I still have my first pair that I have worn through 3 winters and I am still planning to wear the same pair this coming winter. The first pair is pretty much beaten up but still tough enough to keep my hands warm while outdoors. The only disadvantage is that the gloves are NOT waterproof, however, my gloves have gotten very wet several times but once dried it's still as good as before! I plan to get another pair now before my size runs out. Buyers beware - BUY NOW BEFORE YOUR SIZE RUNS OUT (don’t wait for sale as they never go on sale!)."