Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)

Ties neater drys and nymphs because it doesn't build up. 100% poly thread grabs and holds materials. 100 yards per spool. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Review 1 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fly-tying thread,
November 7, 2014
By: Fiske
from Golden, CO
"I've used a few other threads lately because I have a shop right down the road from my house that doesn't carry Orvis products and get so frustrated at how thick and/or weak other threads are. The Orvis thread is nice and thin, easy to work with, doesn't fray... can even tie size 22 flies with 8/0 and still get a clean end product. Only thread I will tie with."
Review 2 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dry fly thread,
November 3, 2014
By: WNCHappyFisher
from North Carolina
"I always use this thread when I tie on hook sizes 16-6, but I will also use on #2 hooks. Overall great thread."
Review 3 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thread,
January 2, 2014
By: bestatthegame
from michigan
"excellent quality. orvis has the colors that i was looking for."
Review 4 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fly-Tying Thread,
October 31, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"Despite minor spool (plastic) and label (no hole; often falls off) issues, the thread is excellent. It’s everything it should be in terms of strength and material hold. For me, the basis of many great flies."
Review 5 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Thread, but...,
May 29, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"It's good thread, but with a cheap plastic spool that often times has no place to lock-in the thread when you are done tying. I also wish they had a better labeling system that is not as apt to, well, fall off. If you use a fly tying station like I do with metal rods to store your thread on, you have to punch a hole in the label before it will go on the rod. The bobbin will also punch a hole in the label. Both of these leave you continually trying to hold the label in place so you will know what size the thread is. Other threads don't have this problem.
Good thread that needs a spool and label that meets Orvis' standards. Orvis should AT LEAST switch to a label with a pre-punched hole in it to save some of the hassle. I should probably have rated this 3 stars - though this didn't seem like it would have properly reflected on the quality of the thread."
Review 6 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good strength,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"Have tied about 15 flies with this so far and no problems. Would buy more."
Review 7 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Thread,
February 28, 2012
By: jahney
from Arthurdale, WV
"Thread works very well, is strong and also flattens out nicely. Highly recommend."
Review 8 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speedy delivery,
February 21, 2012
By: Clashbain
from Wiltshire, UK
"The product was exactly what I wanted but the most impressive part was the speed of delivery. Great service."
Review 9 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the last spool,
October 25, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"This spool was correct. The last one I received was not wound correctly but they got this right!"
Review 10 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality,
September 21, 2011
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"does the job, no breakage yet which has been awesome"
Review 11 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tan Thread??,
April 20, 2011
By: Hellgie
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I ordered TAN thread and what I got is more of a GOLD color. The spools are cheap low quality plastic."
Review 12 for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Thread,
March 15, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A lot of tiers easily overlook one of the most important facets of tying. Thread is the base your fly is created on, and the thread will determine so many aspects of your fly (correct body shape and size, nice looking head, symmetry etc.) that can easily be overlooked or flat out disrupted by poor thread (and poor thread size choice). I vacillate between size 6/0 and 8/0 as my favorite tying sizes. Works great with my nymphs, buggers, caddis flies, emergers etc. and the thread feels great in my bobbin."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Orvis Thread Size 8/0 (Sizes 8-16)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1