Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)

Ideal for wets, drys, nymphs, and small streamers, this is the basic thread for all but the smallest trout patterns and saltwater flies. Made from 100% poly, 6/0 thread grabs and holds materials in place. 100 yards per spool. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Review 1 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better feel.,
March 7, 2014
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"I didn't realize that there could be a difference in threads but the texture of this thread seems to be more consistent and lay better that what I was using."
Review 2 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thread,
January 2, 2014
By: bestatthegame
from michigan
"orvis has a great selection of threads and i can always count on it being of good quality"
Review 3 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I tie with mostly 6/0 thread. This is the strongest 6/0 thread I have ever tied with. I use this thread for tying size 20 zebra midges because I do not have to put a lot of thread of to make a body. Great thread."
Review 4 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent Thread,
January 26, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I'd recommend this to a friend. It's decent thread. It hold up well but breaks a lot more than other threads I've used in the past. Not my first choice but certainly not my last choice as far as tying thread goes."
Review 5 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good strength,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"Have tied about 20 flies with this and so far so good. Has good strength."
Review 6 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not fond of the spool,
July 20, 2012
By: dweit
"Thread quality seems fine, but the spool is dissapointing. The seperate cap/end-piece, which I assume is there to catch the thread end, fits poorly and seems overcomplicated compared to a simple slit in the edge. And the label detailing the thread size/color is right over the bobbin hole and gets punctured on installation, making it unreadable after removal from the bobbin."
Review 7 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
April 23, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"I use mainly 6/0 and 8/0 I would recommend this as it is strong, and with a good bobbin should not break."
Review 8 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gets the job done,
September 10, 2011
By: JMGross
from Ohio
"I am personally a Uni-Thread fan and I will typically use that thread if I can find it in the size and colors that I need. But if I can't for some reason, this is my second choice."
Review 9 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6/0 Thread,
October 14, 2010
By: FireFly2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have used almost every type of thread from all of the manufactures. I find the thread from Orvis lays the best on my flies, plus the only thread that never breaks while tying."
Review 10 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thread?,
December 5, 2008
By: Garry1000
from Rector Arkansas
"O.K. You think thread is just thread? Wrong! I find Orvis thread is better than others. I use orvis 6/0 for most trout flies. Thread is one product you use more than most others tying flies.Why not use the best? Orvis has a very good thread and a great price. Thread costs pennys. Buy the best which I think is from Orvis. If you buy a fly from most dealers it will cost as much as this spool of thread! Why pay more?For less?"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2