Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Hand-sewn Leather Loafer

Truly hand sewn, these penny loafers for men feature genuine leather uppers, traditional lasts, lining, and midsoles. Each shoe is individually hand finished for a singular and rich character. Penny loafers for men in brown. Imported.Whole and half sizes: 7. In medium width.
Average Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
24 of 27(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Review 1 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Most disappointing,
September 9, 2013
By: BradNovato
from Novato, CA
"The shoes do not look like they do on line -- color was more "pumkin orange" vs the burnt brown as depicted on line. They were far from the crisp looking show shown on line -- really disappointed -- to the point I will never buy shoes from Orvis on line again."
Review 2 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good shoes,
August 10, 2013
By: wille
"great shoes but would last longer with deep lug Vibram soles"
Review 3 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes,
January 21, 2013
By: Dorkman
from Phoenix, AZ
"Great looking and fitting shoes with very aggressive soles that provide traction in ant condition. The fit is true to size and the width is average. Did not need any breaking in as were comfortable to wear from the first day."
Review 4 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leather shoes,
December 28, 2012
By: Junelee
from Tampa FL
"These were a gift for my brother. They are true to size and extremely comfortable. He put them on Christmas morning without socks and they were snug, but wore out the next day with socks and they were as comfortable as slippers. He wore them all day and said they were wonderful. Excellent craftsmanship. Great product."
Review 5 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
husband love's these shoes!,
December 15, 2012
By: thebestwife
from Troy, Michigan
"Nice shoes! Well constructed; bought these for my husband for his birthday - he loves them! Comfortable from day-1."
Review 6 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If the Shoe Fits,
October 2, 2012
By: Lawdawg
from O'Fallon, IL
"These shoes were great. Out of the box they looked wonderful. The color and texture of the leather was superb and the craftsmanship was outstanding. Excellent quality and service from the staff at Orvis is expected and they deliver it non-stop....24/7/365 THANKS ORVIS!"
Review 7 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feedback on shoes,
September 28, 2012
By: Waffle
from Carmel, Indiana
"The design and quality were as hoped. The color was lousy--the website calls the shoes "brown". They were basically "pumpkin" orange. Only reason i kept them was due to the design. By using dark brown shoe polish i was able to turn the bright orange color into an orangy brown acceptable color. My frustration with Orvis is their advertising in their catalog and website have been misleading on the last 2 purchases i have made--a leather jacket and shoes. Big fan of Orvis products, just wish the Marketing/Advertising would be more specific & accurate on product details, esp since many Orvis products are not in my local store so i go on line and have to trust the website or catalogs."
Review 8 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TERRIFIC,
September 24, 2012
By: MONOPPOLY
from plymouth,mass.
"i have been disappointed of late with orvis competitors,etc.Filson to name one.The shoe i bought was outstanding in its looks, quality, price,and color.I got them the next day. good job Orvis"
Review 9 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shoes!,
September 10, 2012
By: VanT
from Powder Springs, GA
"They fit good, look good, and they are very well made."
Review 10 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size Issues,
August 28, 2012
By: 2wheeler
from Bethesda, Maryland
"I first ordered in my regular size--12--but had to return and reorder in size 11 1/2 . Even so, the heels are so loose that I will need to add padding to the tounge or heel. The shoe seems to be made as if one width fits all. Orvis would do well to add narrow to the width options.
Great construction and appearance. Good beef roll penny loafers are hard to find. This one fits the bill, if not always the foot."
Review 11 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice shoe!,
August 2, 2012
By: SteveO59
from Yardley, PA
"I received exactly what I expected based on the online description and picture. This is a great looking shoe. Very comforatble right out of the box.
This is the second pair of shoes that I've ordered from Orvis and I'm very happy with the products and the service.
"
Review 12 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Casual Dress Shoes,
July 23, 2012
By: MDJim
from Maryland
"I'd been eyeing these beauties for awhile. Looked, even bought a less expensive pair of light tan loafers elsewhere. After that disappointment, I ordered what I should have in the first place...these! Great looking, great fitting, may buy another pair just to make sure I have great looking shoes for the future."
Review 13 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too small. Too garish.,
June 7, 2012
By: Bill1941
from Pine Grove, CA
"The shoes appear very well-made, but I can't judge their comfort, because I was not able to get them on. They were my size 11, but I could not come close to getting my heel into them. I felt like Cinderella's evil step sisters, trying to force them with a shoe horn, and much grunting and cursing. To no avail. The problem was made worse by the fact that they had virtually no give--very stiff.
As to garishness, they are not the same colors as shown in the catalog photo. The main body is noticeably lighter tan, making the shoes almost two-tone, like a form of saddle shoe. The contrast of colors is too much.
I was very dissatisfied, and returned the shoes for a refund. I gave them two stars because of the apparent high quality of construction.
"
Review 14 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shoe Review,
April 2, 2012
By: Kozmo2012
"These are very nice shoes with soft leather lining and Vibram soles. They will fit some with a wide C or D width. Unfortunately I walked right out of them with my a width."
Review 15 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
look great - but,
March 14, 2012
By: buddy3
from Glasgow
"I must be the unlucky one. Friends commented on great appearance which I agree with.Quality of construction also impressive. Unfortunately left shoe was too tight and right was a little loose! One shoe was also slightly different shade from the other. Really disappointed as they really appealed to me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Quality Outstanding comfort,
December 30, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Windham NH
"The shoe is incredibly comfortable and the quality is second to none"
Review 17 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great loafers,
December 19, 2011
By: ragface
from Huntington Beach, Ca
"ordered originally in one size too big (I'm kind of between two sizes). Orvis accomodated a quick return, no problemo, and the new size fits like a glove. Great shoe, comfy and looks good. Top of casual, so can wear anywhere."
Review 18 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had Sewen,
June 29, 2011
By: CDeff
from St. Louis
"Just received these wonderful had sewen shoes last week and have worn them on two trips since.
They are probably the most soft shoes I have ever worn and with the built in instep are proving to be the most comfortable.
I like the two tone styling and have been asked twice where someone could buy these shoes.
They are cut a little wider than I am use to, but this aspect has proven to be only a "slipper-comfort" fit and has posed no problems.
"
Review 19 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good looking shoe,
June 16, 2011
By: PDIRV
from Canada
"These shoes are a little snug (narrow) for me, but will stretch enough to be comfortable.
The price seems high when compared to others in the market that are similar, but we'll see how they last and if the quality supports it.
"
Review 20 for Hand-sewn Leather Loafer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 9, 2011
By: Liberty1
"Very comfortable shoes. Accurate sizing in my situation. Able to wear these shoes all day in comfort & I'm very picky about my shoes!"