Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)

An indispensable thread for tying tiny flies, it's nearly half the diameter of conventional 8/0 thread. 100% poly thread. 100 yards per spool. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Review 1 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
12/0 thread,
June 10, 2014
By: whatthe
from Jersey shore
"This is a great thread for midges and particularly the white which I use on jujube midges. Small and strong. A real plus when finishing off the head."
Review 2 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
January 27, 2014
By: ChattoogaRiverTroutBum
from Easley, SC
"Good product, works as advertised. Only wish the thread that orvis made split better for dubbing purposes."
Review 3 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thread,
January 2, 2014
By: bestatthegame
from michigan
"some colors that i need are not always available in store, but you can always order through the catalog."
Review 4 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A different deniar,
April 8, 2013
By: Malky62
from Dundee Scotland
"I have never used thread of this denier before and was pleasantly surprised at the strength in the thread, I used it t tie in deer and orvis comparadun material, tied in well I was concerned it would break but it did not. I like it and suggest try using the thread on hook sizes 14's /16s"
Review 5 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Could be better,
December 21, 2012
By: fleafly
from Clyde, South Lanarkshire
"The thread itself is excellent quality and very strong but it was let down by how slack it was on the spool."
Review 6 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Quality,
December 5, 2012
By: Frankthesurf
from Llanarmon Yn Ial, Near the River Dee, North Wales
"After wasting my money on cheap alternatives the Orvis thread has surpassed what I needed."
Review 7 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for small flies,
March 2, 2012
By: WilliamJ
from Colorado
"Great thread for small flies. It doesn't build up too much but I found it strong enough for deer hair on smaller comparadun and caddis flies.
My one suggestion is to improve the way the spools are labeled. One loaded on a bobbin, the sticker starts coming off. Great product though."
Review 8 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speedy delivery,
February 21, 2012
By: Clashbain
from Wiltshire, UK
"The product was exactly what I wanted but the most impressive part was the speed of delivery. Great service."
Review 9 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
12/0 Thread,
February 7, 2012
By: Scottie24
from Owen Sound, Ontario Canada
"I purchased this thread recently just to see if I was able to use a smaller thread without suffering a meltdown from thread breakage. This stuff has been amazing in terms of strength and of course small diameter for those tiny flies. It has immediately replaced my 8/0 thread for almost anything size 14 and smaller. Size 20 flies are now within my grasp - maybe. I will definitely be ordering more spools and more colours."
Review 10 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good thread,
November 19, 2011
By: MaineDave
from Maine
"This is the first time I try Orvis thread, I have always used Uni or Ultra thread. Good stuff, I like it. Separates easily for dubbing loops. I will definitely buy more in the future."
Review 11 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 17, 2011
By: feds
"just what i was looking for . Fall fishing the swift requires flies sized 26 and smaller"
Review 12 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I expected,
October 10, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"I was a bit dissappointed with the quality of this thread. It seperated and was very difficult to work with. It was also not wound correctly from the factory and the thread got stuck several times. Surprised!!"
Review 13 for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best thread on the market,
February 11, 2010
By: bamboo
from Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This thread is exclusive to Orvis. This thread is strong and lays down a very flat thread and makes a neat head. The diameter is smaller than other brands so there is less build up. The only thing I could ask for would be a complete selection of colors across all of the sizes. Short of that, I have no reason to use anything else."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Orvis Thread Size 12/0 (Sizes 14 and smaller)
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5