Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)

Ideal for wets, drys, nymphs, and small streamers, this is the basic thread for all but the smallest trout patterns and saltwater flies. Made from 100% poly, 6/0 thread grabs and holds materials in place. 100 yards per spool. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Review 1 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice quality,
October 6, 2014
By: Herefishy
from Northern NM
"Needs this tint of thread for flys. It is sturdy and does fuzz up hardly at all. Very durable and most of all the trout seem to like it too."
Review 2 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better feel.,
March 7, 2014
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"I didn't realize that there could be a difference in threads but the texture of this thread seems to be more consistent and lay better that what I was using."
Review 3 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thread,
January 2, 2014
By: bestatthegame
from michigan
"orvis has a great selection of threads and i can always count on it being of good quality"
Review 4 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I tie with mostly 6/0 thread. This is the strongest 6/0 thread I have ever tied with. I use this thread for tying size 20 zebra midges because I do not have to put a lot of thread of to make a body. Great thread."
Review 5 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent Thread,
January 26, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I'd recommend this to a friend. It's decent thread. It hold up well but breaks a lot more than other threads I've used in the past. Not my first choice but certainly not my last choice as far as tying thread goes."
Review 6 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good strength,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"Have tied about 20 flies with this and so far so good. Has good strength."
Review 7 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not fond of the spool,
July 20, 2012
By: dweit
"Thread quality seems fine, but the spool is dissapointing. The seperate cap/end-piece, which I assume is there to catch the thread end, fits poorly and seems overcomplicated compared to a simple slit in the edge. And the label detailing the thread size/color is right over the bobbin hole and gets punctured on installation, making it unreadable after removal from the bobbin."
Review 8 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
April 23, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"I use mainly 6/0 and 8/0 I would recommend this as it is strong, and with a good bobbin should not break."
Review 9 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gets the job done,
September 10, 2011
By: JMGross
from Ohio
"I am personally a Uni-Thread fan and I will typically use that thread if I can find it in the size and colors that I need. But if I can't for some reason, this is my second choice."
Review 10 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6/0 Thread,
October 14, 2010
By: FireFly2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have used almost every type of thread from all of the manufactures. I find the thread from Orvis lays the best on my flies, plus the only thread that never breaks while tying."
Review 11 for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thread?,
December 5, 2008
By: Garry1000
from Rector Arkansas
"O.K. You think thread is just thread? Wrong! I find Orvis thread is better than others. I use orvis 6/0 for most trout flies. Thread is one product you use more than most others tying flies.Why not use the best? Orvis has a very good thread and a great price. Thread costs pennys. Buy the best which I think is from Orvis. If you buy a fly from most dealers it will cost as much as this spool of thread! Why pay more?For less?"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Orvis Thread Size 6/0 (Sizes 14 and larger)
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2