Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

World's Coolest® Patch Shirt

The word patch, short for the Telug pach'chadamu, meaning "thin pieces of cloth at Madras," has been in use for more than 300 years to describe the lightweight patch madras used in one of the world's hottest climates. Our famous World's Coolest® Patch Shirt is made of squares of pure 3.5-oz. cotton Indian madras that are stitched into a muted multipatch design. The cloth of this warm weather shirt features an open weave to allow plenty of ventilation. From the cloth to the cut, this shirt is designed for warm-weather wear. Button-through chest pocket. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.704 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
51 of 54(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Review 1 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Without Equal!,
September 8, 2014
By: Sonnie
from WI.
"Own one and wanted 2 more for friends.
NEVER wore anything that drew so many compliments as "like it", "great shirt", "I'd like one", etc.
.............And now it's "unavailable"!??
How very sad!
"
Review 2 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
July 2, 2014
By: GeorgeEB
from Centre Al
"This is a great shirt. I get compliments all the time.
Very well made shirt.
"
Review 3 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SATISFACTION,
June 10, 2014
By: 12xxjohn
from florida
"Splendid colors perfect fit cloth wieght very comfortable!
This shirt is exactly what everyone
needs.
i'm pleased."
Review 4 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite Shirt,
June 4, 2014
By: irishdad1
from Chicago, Illinois
"I have owned countless summer shirts but this one is my all-time favorite! It looks good, feels good, and is very comfortable on hot, humid days. The assorted color
patches make the shirt compatible with virtually any solid color pants or shorts. I receive compliments whenever
I wear this shirt. As always, the product quality is outstanding.
"
Review 5 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 9, 2014
By: urizen
from Fredericton, NB, Canada
"zany and casual at the same time, with colours muted and not overstated. This shirt always makes me feel upbeat.
Allen Bentley"
Review 6 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
unmatched patch madras,
May 4, 2014
By: OPaul
from Hendersonville, NC
"superb stitching 0f madras patches
insures original quality of this shirt through countless washings after
cool wearings on hottest days. Combo of colors presents a pleasing, even arresting appearance.
"
Review 7 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the good old days,
May 1, 2014
By: 2narley
from Sarasota, FL
"what a find...you get what you pay for and this one is worth every penny! Quality throughout."
Review 8 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second time around,
March 25, 2014
By: Patchshirtlover35
from Lincoln, NE
"My husband had this shirt for several years. He loved it so much and wore it so often that it was showing wear. When I saw that it was still in your catalogue, I ordered a new one for his 75th birthday."
Review 9 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the reviewers were right!,
March 19, 2014
By: JohninOregon
from Salem, OR
"When I read reviews on this shirt, several commented on the compliments they'd received. After wearing mine twice so far, I've had four compliments! Very nice-looking shirt, very comfortable."
Review 10 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Party shirt,
March 10, 2014
By: BillThomas
from Culebra,P.R.
"I had the shirt on at a Mardi Gras
party last week and everyone told me how nice the shirt is and most
said it had to be from Orvis,.because
of the quality and look of the shirt.I was impressed because a lot of people had on various costumes but my shirt got most of the comments.I really like the look and feel also.Thanks
"
Review 11 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality,
February 24, 2014
By: ClothesDude1
from San Antonio, Texas
"The shirt is attractive. Good soft material. I wear a large. This shirt was a little tight at the shoulders and the shirt tail was longer than I expected. I look forward to wearing it this summer in the Texas heat."
Review 12 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dad loves the shirts,
December 31, 2013
By: bco2003
from Texas
"One of my dad's favorite shirts. This is his 3rd one over the years."
Review 13 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE This Shirt!,
December 21, 2013
By: Tigerblossom
from Chicago, IL
"Ok, I'm embarrassed to say I ordered the wrong shirt the first time. I had purchased my husband the long sleeved version of the World's Coolest® Patch Shirt many years ago and he wore it so much I felt it needed replacing. I had no idea Orvis has a short sleeved version and I wasn't paying attention.
Not only was Customer Service very helpful, Orvis allowed the return with no problem. I bought the correct, long sleeved version of the World's Coolest® Patch Shirt and my husband and I are thrilled!"
Review 14 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cricket oh cricket.,
November 18, 2013
By: hedley
from perth australia
"saw the shirt and was transported back to the early 70's in england(albeit with penny collar).this will be my dedicated cricket viewing shirt as i swelter in west australian heat."
Review 15 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the XL come with tent poles?,
August 1, 2013
By: specious
from London, England
"I'm a 42" chest, so I ordered the large as per the website measuring guide; but when it arrived, it was huge - the chest was 48" according to my tape measure. Note to self: when Orvis say 'generously cut', they really mean it...
Had to send it back, which was a shame because it is a really nice shirt!"
Review 16 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patch Work,
July 30, 2013
By: Hurstachelli
from On the Lakein South Carolina
"Exactly like the picture. The shirt is light and comfortable. Don't buy if don't like people telling you how nice this shirt looks."
Review 17 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding shirt,
July 1, 2013
By: Janx
from Canada
"Several compliments from total strangers the first time I wore it.
Both my wife and my sister (in Portugal) bought the ladies jacket (no longer available) and are constantly asked where they purchased it.
"
Review 18 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unusual Patch Shirt,
May 14, 2013
By: Cucarilla
"Great looking shirt that looks good with jeans or khaki slacks and very good with shorts. Very soft and feels cool to the body in hot weather. Washed it and short time in dryer then hanged damp to dry. Type of shirt that looks good slightly wrinkled. Many were asking where I got the shirt and commented how nice it looked. GO FOR IT!"
Review 19 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Shirt,
May 14, 2013
By: MonsMeg
from Cape Cod
"I bought the precursor to this patchwork shirt on sale at an Orvis outlet two years ago, and it quickly became my go-to shirt for the summer. And the next summer. It was comfortable, light, obviously well-made, and colorful in a discreet way. I wore it out. This year I replaced it with the new model, which is slightly brighter in color. I happily paid full price for it and will no doubt buy another one in two years."
Review 20 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First purchase,
May 14, 2013
By: buzzy33
from Midwest
"Very happy with my first purchase. It was very comfortable wearing in extremely hot weather. Its wash and wear came in very handy."