Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown

Detailed with smocking in front, the combed-cotton knit makes this one of the softest long nightgowns you'll ever wear. Button-front yoke. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 48" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.465 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (159 reviews)
5 stars
115
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
9
140 of 159(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Review 1 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
October 8, 2012
By: aryma
from Waukesha, WI
"This nightgown is a dream to wear. It is very soft, the purple color is beautiful. I would recommend this to anyone looking for pure comfort in their sleep ware purchase."
Review 2 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and comfy,
March 6, 2014
By: Anna2014
"This nightgown is lightweight and takes up very little space in a travel bag."
Review 3 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crazy about my nightgown,
February 28, 2014
By: Woodall
from Haverford PA
"I have never worn a nightgown and I am amazed at how comfortable this is. The neck is wide enough not to disturb my hairdo; it is long enough to be cozy but has never twisted. The deep blue color makes me feel romantic, like a princess; the fabric is soft and slinky.Shall I say goodbye to pajamas?"
Review 4 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sleep Well dressed,
February 19, 2014
By: fusspots
from Peterborough. Ontario Canada
"This is the third nightie I have purchased. the first was two years ago, now I have all three colours.
This will be the last. Sadly our $ has lost its value however I am so in love with these gowns I could not resist one more."
Review 5 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful nightgown,
February 18, 2014
By: Sparkie509
from Schaumburg, Illinois
"I received this night gown (green) as a Christmas gift last year. It is wonderfully soft and cozy. I liked it so much that I purchased a second one in purple this January."
Review 6 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love This Gown!!,
February 12, 2014
By: suzie007
from Norman, OK
"This gown has been perfect for the winter months. The long sleeves add enough warmth without being too hot. The gown is very comfortable, true to size and good style. I have ordered it in all three colors because when I find something this great I want to be sure I have extras!!"
Review 7 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cosiest nightwear in jewel colours,
January 21, 2014
By: pigtails
"At last I've found the prettiest nightie, easy to wear, warm without being bulky, and one I'm happy to be seen in. I am so pleased with this purchase in a sapphire blue that I have bought a second in a pretty green."
Review 8 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
feminine comfort,
January 17, 2014
By: MaryAnnH
"This smoked nightgown is beminine while providing the coverage you want when anyone is around. Very flattering, so I "had to" order a second one. You will too!"
Review 9 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
January 16, 2014
By: ZeaZea
from Baltimore, MD
"Love this nightgown... Perfect weight, launders well"
Review 10 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mixed feelings,
January 16, 2014
By: chalkyvapes
from Mystic, Ct.
"I bought the same nightgown for my mother and sister. My mother loved the quality and extra fullness, hers was a large. My sister asked me to return her extra large as she felt she was wearing a tent. I ordered her another style in a large. She is going to try it on this weekend, keeping my fingers crossed this one will fit better. This one looked like it would have less fullness, I hope it will not be to small."
Review 11 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my new nightgown!,
January 16, 2014
By: NancyPeterson48
from Ann Arbor MI
"I love the color, I love the look. This is nice looking with the smocking and feels good. Isn't too heavy but is just right. Washes very well."
Review 12 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So soft and comfy,
January 15, 2014
By: DrGran
from Holly Springs, NC
"This nightgown is a real jewel. The lavender color is so calming and soft. The fabric is also very soothing; it is very smooth, soft, and calming. What a dream."
Review 13 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good sleep!,
January 15, 2014
By: smarterthanever
from Reno, NV
"I purchased a wonderful and comfortable nightgown. I am pleased with all Orvis purchases I have made. Their products are excellent and wear well."
Review 14 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gown!,
January 15, 2014
By: ChickoryChick
from Cincinnati, OH
"This a wonderful gown, all cotton, soft and perfect weight for cold weather. I like the length and the color! It washes beautifully."
Review 15 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful!,
January 1, 2014
By: elantra
from charleston sc
"This nightgown is the most comfortable and attractive nighttime attire I have ever owned. It feels so good against the skin and is very well made. If I weren't on a limited budget I would purchase multiples in all of the colors!"
Review 16 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely,
December 28, 2013
By: Pamnick
"A beautiful nightgown. I feel elegant when I wear it."
Review 17 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So comfortable!,
December 27, 2013
By: grandX4
"This is the nightgown I've been looking for with no success anywhere else. It's soft, nicely sized and a dream to sleep in."
Review 18 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Soft Knit Nightgown,
December 23, 2013
By: suehd
from fullerton, CA
"I ordered a medium, but it was very large. I sent it back. Not able to exchange it at this time."
Review 19 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pretty, But Too Thin,
December 22, 2013
By: YOGAJANE
from Western Colorado
"This is a very attractive item, but the fabric is so thin, it is just not warm enough for cold winter nights. Sadly, it's going back. FYI I'm 5' 5", 120 lbs,, 34C and the Small was HUGE. Definitely size down if you decide to give it a go."
Review 20 for Smocked Soft-Knit Nightgown
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great find on cotton gown,
December 22, 2013
By: posey3
from Texas
"I can only wear cotton,I in my 70's and stay cold all the time, so I love the feel and length of the gown.Really like. the smocking"