Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Donegal Tweed Split Skirt

The graceful look of a skirt with the practicality of pants, women's gaucho pants in salt-and-pepper Donegal Tweed. This split-skirt design has a generous leg shape for freedom of movement. On-seam pockets, side zipper-and-button closure, belt loops, and elastic inserts in the back waist for ease. Fully lined. Women's gaucho pants in brown, black. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Regular sizes: 6-18; about 34" long. Petite sizes: 6-16; about 31½" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.189 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
31 of 37(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Review 1 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not like photo,
February 4, 2013
By: bargain
from Green Bay, WI
"I was so disappointed when I saw how huge the legs on this skirt were. The construction and material were beautiful and the size was perfect. BUT the legs were just enormous and I sent them back."
Review 2 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy and beautiful,
January 14, 2013
By: Good2Go
from Missouri
"I love the classic style. It is well made and very soft and comfortable. The size 10 was a perfect fit for me. I would like to order the matching jacket, but will wait until it is on sale."
Review 3 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classey,
December 28, 2012
By: Babas
"A great split skirt! Very classey looking especially with a pair of tall black dress boots! Receive lots of compliments when wearing the skirt. Very comfortable to wear. Hope to purchase the brown one next!"
Review 4 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Donegal Skirt,
December 17, 2012
By: kerispal
from Southern Michigan
"I looked at this skirt a long time before I decided to spend the $150+ shipping. It is a pretty skirt, but it came to my ankles. It is very long. The fit is good otherwise. I was very disappointed in the fabric, though. It is very scratchy, like burlap. I was surprised since the other reviews mostly commented on what nice fabric it was. It was creased from shipping and even after hanging in a steamy bathroom the wrinkles did not hang out. I'm glad so many others love the skirt, but that was not my experience.
I am still a loyal Orvis customer,
"
Review 5 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely love this split skirt.,
December 17, 2012
By: DobbsFerryLady
from Dobbs Ferry, NY
"I bought this split skirt to match the Donegal Tweed Jacket with standup collar blouse. I was not disappointed. Excellent quality and workmanship. Looks beautiful with the jacket. The jacket and skirt (both the regular skirt, which I purchased, too, and the split skirt) have a very classic, timeless look. I would definitely recommend this to a friend."
Review 6 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too Long & Bulky looking,
November 28, 2012
By: supermom210
"I am 5'4" tall and this split skirt went all the way to my ankles. I ordered a size six and it was plenty roomy. Not at all what is pictured. I had such great expectations for this and was really disappointed."
Review 7 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart and comfortable,
November 13, 2012
By: Talbot
from Pembrokeshire
"Tweed look divided skirt with good lining. Very confortable to wear. Slight elastication in waist band makes for a good fit"
Review 8 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good for those with flat tummies,
November 7, 2012
By: Winyan
from East Texas
"I was very much looking forward to wearing the tweed split shirt; it reminded my of my riding days. Unfortunately it didn't fit because of a device in my abdomen and the Petite in 10 was not available. It's a regal feeling split skirt and the jacket completes the outfit."
Review 9 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CLASSY,
November 4, 2012
By: LakePat
from Gettysburg, PA
"As good as this split skirt looks on the webpage, it's even better when you see it at home and feel the material. Extremely well made and good looking.
I ordered my normal size and the fit was good,if a little snug. It's fully lined and the tweed is gorgeous!
"
Review 10 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AsPromised,
October 30, 2012
By: teacherease
from Milwaukee Wi
"I was a bit worried about ordering the petite,as sometime they are too tight in the crotch. However...these are a great fit and length. Easy to find cute coordinating jackets."
Review 11 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and Fashionable,
October 22, 2012
By: Fashie
"Although a little pricey, this split skirt fits well, is made well, and is warm. It looks great with boots"
Review 12 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
February 21, 2012
By: Leskey
"I purchased the Donegal Tweed Split Skirt. The fit is perfect and the quality of material and construction are excellent. Orvis products are always of highest quality, classic style and reasonable price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dye lots,
February 17, 2012
By: wingthorn
from Toronto, ON
"I've been wanting this split skirt for ages and finally ordered it. It arrived quickly and in good shape and fits beautifully. I was mildly surprised to see that the Donegal tweed of the split skirt is slightly darker than the skirt I bought four years ago. Dye lots do differ - if you want a jacket to go with it, it's probably a good idea to order both at the same time to ensure that they're the same dye lot. I'm sorry the vest is no longer available!"
Review 14 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
February 2, 2012
By: Pezz
from Springfield, Ohio
"I looked at this split skirt for months before breaking down and ordering it. It is a serious disappointment. The fabric is bulky and rough like burlap, not a fine grade wool as I would have expected for $100. It is shapeless and it's exceptionally long even on me and I'm 5' 9". Now I have to pay to return it - this will be my last order from Orvis."
Review 15 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Split Skirt for the Ultra Skinny,
January 30, 2012
By: sahra
"This split skirt has a matching jacket and it is a great set, but no split skirt has ever been flattering unless you happen to very skinny. I purchased it anyway because it was such a beautiful set, but I don't wear the skirt nearly as often as I do the jacket!!"
Review 16 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved the way it fit,
January 23, 2012
By: Hotdottie
from Centennial, Wyoming
"The fit was perfect and it was all that it was written up to be. Color, material, length of skirt all were just right for me at 5 foot 7 inches--thanks much--one happy on line buyer."
Review 17 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
look cool! wear warm!,
January 19, 2012
By: terisa
from Midwest Ohio
"when I opened the bag, there were creases where they were folded.
but the next day, they were completely gone. so I'm impressed with the quality of material.
I'm 5'03 and it comes a bit longer (than the photograph), but, it means, I can wear even ankle boots and it'll be warmer too. so I'm totally satisfied with the product.
"
Review 18 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE IT !,
January 6, 2012
By: Teacha
from Somerset, MA
"great quality, great fashion! I ordered and loved my black tweed one so much I just HAD to order one in brown tweed as well! Recieved many compliments."
Review 19 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
December 16, 2011
By: Lela
from Des Moines, Iowa
"I am very pleased with the Donegal Tweed split skirt I purchased from Orvis and plan to order another in black tweed inless--- Mr. Santa has aready! :)"
Review 20 for Donegal Tweed Split Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Split skirt,
December 5, 2011
By: Keren
from London
"Tnhe name split skirt is silly considering for years they were called cullottes. I love them and although I bought a brown pair and a black pair the brown has yet to arrive. The cut is not brilliant and most definitely problems for me and my back with the high waist and not comfortable. I do like them and if necessary I will have them altered."