Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®

Tackle the hot sun in a lightweight and breathable shirt originally designed for fly fishing the tropical flats. Pleated back gives room for movement. Aeromesh-lined yoke circulates air. Roll-up sleeve tabs convert long to short sleeve. Quick-dry fabric. 30+ UV block. Insect Shield Insect Repellent Apparel repels insects. Wrinkle resistant. Reinforced bellows pockets, one security zip. Polyester/cotton. Do not dry clean. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Review 1 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Value,
July 19, 2013
By: Hwkrplt
from St Albert, AB, Canada
"Shirt is as it claims to be. Comfortable, lightweight and bug-free. Worn on hot days and is well ventilated and not too heavy for heat and humidity. A pleasure for my fly fishing trips. Will be purchasing others."
Review 2 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 29, 2013
By: GoingOnSafari
from MI
"Ordered this shirt for my husband to wear on our upcoming safari. He loves the air vents on the side and the built in SPF. He hasn't worn it yet, so unsure of field performance, but overall a great shirt."
Review 3 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
read washing instructions,
September 19, 2012
By: jMadison
"The instructions say wash separately. I inquired and it was suggested not to wash with other garments. Not practical."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
August 4, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I recently bought this for a trip to Alaska, knowing this shirt was going to be put to the test against some serious mosquitoes. I am proud to report that I almost never found a mosquito on the shirt during the week I was there. My friends were covered with mosquitoes and I was free from any. Absolutely amazing. It is also a very nice-looking shirt that is functional in the field and is also something you can wear to dinner that evening. The wrinkle-resistancy is also a very nice attribute to the shirt."
Review 5 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Shirt is very large,
March 23, 2012
By: Marco23
from Buffalo, NY
"I ordered a medium but it quite large. They did not have a small, and so I spent a lot of money on postage in both directions with no shirt to show for it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow - great shirt,
February 28, 2012
By: TWWorldtraveler
from Buffalo NY
"I wore this shirt off and on in Costa Rica for more than a week and not only was I bug free but it stood up to packing and wearing with minimal wrinkles! I couldn't ask for more."
Review 7 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Maine guide loves this shirt,
September 18, 2011
By: leeb747
from Norther Maine
"I purchased this shirt to contend with black flies and other lovely insects that inhabit the north Maine woods in the spring, summer and fall. The shirt does all it's supposed to do and that is wonderful. In addition, the shirt is lightweight and that is just as wonderful on hot days when I'm working in the woods. I see they're on sale now. I'm going to buy another."
Review 8 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Definitely What You Need,
August 23, 2011
By: Carruthers
"This is the second Ex Officio Baja Insect Shield shirt I have purchased, and if it came in any other colors than the two I now have, I would buy still another. Based on the great fitting and many-featured Baja long-sleeve shirt, this shirt goes one better. The Insect Shield technology really works. This has been a mosquito season to challenge any insect-repelling system and this shirt works almost like armor plate. No bites through the shirt or near the collar or cuffs, and fewer mosquitos just hanging around to annoy. After multiple washings the repelling effect seems undiminished and Ex Officio says it should last up to 70 washings."
Review 9 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Insect Shield Shirt Casting Shirt,
July 14, 2011
By: mrgen
"This is the second insect shiled shirt I purchased. These things are super! With ticks and mosquitoes carrying West Nile, EEE, and Lyme disease any protection you can get helps. It helps to reduce the use of bug repellant on your skin. This product works well as I can say I have a lot less trouble with insects wearing it. It also has the bonus of deep pockets, and sleeve tabs to tie the sleeves back. I hope they modify a future version with additional pockets and a "D" ring or two. I'd use it in place of a vest or chest pack for quick trips to a local stream or stopping by the roadside to fish for an hour or so.
PS- I also own the insect shield hat and will get another when available. Unfortunately, the pants were just too long for me or I'd have those too.
"
Review 10 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Garden Shirt,
September 30, 2010
By: MrsOwlLady
from Levittown, PA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This shirt does seem to help keep the mosquitoes away. I had to order a man's because there were no ladies' sizes available, so it is a bit sloppy-looking. In fact, my husband says it looks like I bought it in a thrift store.
As long as it keep the "biters" away, I don't care how it looks. Bugs have been ruining my gardening time so I bought the shirt in desperation. I am a Penn State Master Gardener so I spend much time in the out of doors and I don't like sprays."
Review 11 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Technical Shirt Out There,
July 9, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I buy one of these shirts for my father-in-law for every occassion - Christmas, birthday, Fathers' Day, etc. He had a fight with skin cancer several years ago, and needs to stay covered up with UV rated clothing. These shirts provide that protection. The long sleeves offer him full protection when in the sun, but the roll up sleeves and button flaps allow him to roll his sleeves up to help cool off when in the shade or inside. I also happen to have about 4 of these shirts, and they are great for fishing. Roomy pockets for storage, and quick dry when wet wading. They are also cool just to wear around town."
Review 12 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
July 7, 2010
By: db49
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Husband wears them on the ranch, doing heavy duty work. Loves them. We ordered three more."
Review 13 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very Thin,
February 24, 2010
By: orvisbeliever
from Northern VA
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I just received this shirt today and since it is winter time in the northeast, I can't comment on how well it repells insects. What I can say is that this shirt is VERY thin. So thin it is almost see-through. I'm surprise how sheer it is and will need to consider whether to return it or not. Otherwise it seems to be well made and nicely styled. If you will not be bothered by a nearly see-through shirt then buy it otherwise I'd go for something else."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 6, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full credit. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence—we will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 14 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
own three of these shirts,
February 19, 2010
By: jokester
from dayton, OH
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great shirt. comfortable and stops the bite. wear it even when not fishing. looks great"
Review 15 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Advertised,
August 27, 2009
By: Karl
from Winter Haven, FL.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wore this shirt for the first time on a fishing trip out of Everglades City, Florida. The mosquitoes in the glades are brutal and this shirt kept them at bay all day. It is also extremely comfortable and it looks great. It looks great on the water or when worn casually ashore. Great shirt that works as advertised and looks even better."
Review 16 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Value!,
July 15, 2009
By: Dabratt2cio
from Alpharetta, GA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have purchased at least 6 InsectShield products including several of these shirts. Bottom line, this is a fantastic value!
The insect repelling quality is without question what you should expect. It works!
In addition, the design allows for full ventilation and cool comfort even in the hottest tropical heat. I have worn these shirts on the flats in the Bahamas and south Florida and in the open ocean off the coast of Puerto Rico, and I can say without a doubt, this is a top shelf product..."
Review 17 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Baja Shirt®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
July 1, 2009
By: Pose
from Dayton, Ohio
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this shirt because I have seen friends and relatives wear ExOfficio shirts in the past and I just wanted to find out why they are so popular. I found out quickly why. The shirt is well made, very comfortable, dries fast and washes up well. I love the look and the roll up sleeve tabs. Looks good with jeans as well as with shorts. I love it and I plan on purchasing some more soon."