Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tweed Jacket

Our ever-popular Weatherbreaker™, a jacket style that rivals the WWII bomber with its sporty profile and casual style, attains a higher level of sophistication with pure wool tweed. Detailed with corduroy neck trim for comfort and handsome looks and lined with our durable Bush Poplin. Elasticized cuffs and waist enhance wind resistance. Two exterior and two interior pockets. Nylon/acetate-lined sleeves enable easy on-and-off. Waist side vents. Tweed jacket in brown. Pure wool shell with cotton lining. Dry clean. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
1
69 of 79(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tweed Jacket
Review 1 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
December 12, 2014
By: JamesColorado
from Colorado
"I was disappointed in the material weight and the collar "flap" that is an annoyance. The material was much thinner than expected. Many reviews I read prior to purchasing had a similar complaint. The collar "flap" makes contact with my chin which is bothersome, Returned the jacket which is obviously good quality and well made, just too annoying to wear."
Review 2 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Jacket,
December 9, 2014
By: descasus
from Springfield, Pa.
"This is a Christmas present for my son. And I can't wait to see his reaction. Great quality and design."
Review 3 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Looking Jacket,
December 6, 2014
By: Sheila1
from Dallas, TX
"This jacket is very stylish, and can be worn casually or in a more formal setting. Lightweight, yet warm enough for those cold days when outside."
Review 4 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome jacket,
November 23, 2014
By: 2468Pooh
"Beautiful, comfortable, light weight, can be dressy or casual"
Review 5 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wool Coat, good buy,
November 14, 2014
By: Chuck4024
from Newtown, Pennsylvania
"The Jacket is everything Orvis said it was and looks great on me."
Review 6 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Jacket!,
November 11, 2014
By: catz5
from georgia
"Gift for my special man and he loves it. My only complaint is there is no hook to hang the coat on a coat rack!"
Review 7 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
October 23, 2014
By: Wildcat1
"There are two features in the design of the jacket that I did not like. First, the flap on the collar that is designed to button up around the neck. The flap just flops out and there is no way to tuck it out of the way. I really don't like it flopping around my chin. I would never use the button up feature on the collar anyway. Next, the outside pockets are not user friendly. If you want to tuck your hands in them, the flaps over them are in the way."
Review 8 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very stylish,
October 18, 2014
By: Mateomc
from Maryland
"A great fit, good quality tweed and it looks very well"
Review 9 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Eye-Catcher,
August 19, 2014
By: Marshall3
from Midland, MI
"I had my eye on this jacket for 6+ months because I was looking for something other than a typical windbreaker. I purchased it on sale and am pleased so far. The tweed fabric and cotton lining are comparable in weight to a tweed sportcoat. There is no thermal layer mentioned in some reviews, but it is suitable for spring and fall, and there is ample room to layer. For this price point, I would expect separate openings for hands behind the outer pockets and fasteners on inner pockets, but this jacket is about style, not utility. I give it 4 stars at list price and 5 on sale. It is definitely an eye-catcher."
Review 10 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stay Warm In the Fall,
August 18, 2014
By: BavarianEd
from Vestal, NY
"Great colors; wool make up will take the chill out of Fall."
Review 11 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
most comfortable jacket i own,
August 14, 2014
By: yukonman
from upper peninsula michigan
"since wool is my favorite apparel fabric,the orvis tweed is the third orvis jacket i have purchased.extemely comfotable and lightweight but warm.can even provide warmth on very cold days when layerd with a wool sweater."
Review 12 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
August 14, 2014
By: Khawk
from La Mesa, CA
"Love the jacket. Well make and very good looking a comfortable. Size is right on."
Review 13 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
August 6, 2014
By: janice54
from Hershey,Pa
"Bought this for my husband, great quality, fit and price."
Review 14 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tweed jacket,
March 3, 2014
By: HKap
from PA
"A beautiful coat. Great comfort and fit. The perfect weight for spring and fall. Planning to take this jacket on two spring trips as it goes well with jeans or slacks"
Review 15 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Jacket!,
March 2, 2014
By: Winnie123
from Memphis, TN
"I bought this jacket for my husband and he really loves it! Since it is Tweed, it's different from all of his other solid color jackets. It fits perfectly. We are very pleased with the purchase!"
Review 16 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice but some issues,
February 21, 2014
By: Roundowl
from Saint Louis, MO
"This is a very nice jacket but I expected it to be a bit heavier in construction. The color was considerably darker than what appeared in the catalogue. When it as compared to a bomber jacket, I guess I expected some weight to it. Stylish, yes, but you will be chilly below 40 degrees. In know way does this mean I'm unhappy with Orvise. As a long time fan of Orvise, This is the only item I've ever returned."
Review 17 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
February 10, 2014
By: Muggins2
from Salt lake City, UT
"I was looking online for a replacement for my Woolrich wool jacket. I looked at what Orvis had to offer and found this great looking jacket. The jacket is very well constructed. It is light weight but very warm. If you prefer a wool jacket with great style and looks I highly recommend this one."
Review 18 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What I wanted - not disappointed,
February 8, 2014
By: Reltub
"Comfortable, and looks nice. Fits well. Only negative comment involves the pockets. Because of angled cut and buttoned flap, it is inconvenient to get in them. Especially when you want to warm your hands."
Review 19 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Jacket,
February 6, 2014
By: cows
from Holly Springs, MS
"I had been looking at this jacket for a few weeks prior to ordering it. It is all I hoped it would be. Even thought it's not a heavy jacket it is a warm jacket - Very Stylish! Good Job!"
Review 20 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife loves it,
February 4, 2014
By: ButchH
"Yes, my wife loves it and that doesn't happen often in my world. Fabric is beautiful and heavier than I was expecting after reading other reviews. Nice fit and design. Definitely a 3 season coat for here in Northern Cal. I highly recommend this coat ."