Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tweed Jacket

Our ever-popular Weatherbreaker™, a jacket style that rivals the WWII bomber with its sporty profile and casual style, attains a higher level of sophistication with pure wool tweed. Detailed with corduroy neck trim for comfort and handsome looks and lined with our durable Bush Poplin. Elasticized cuffs and waist enhance wind resistance. Two exterior and two interior pockets. Polyester-lined sleeves enable easy on-and-off. Waist side vents. Tweed jacket in brown. Pure wool shell with cotton lining. Dry clean. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.485 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
1
58 of 66(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tweed Jacket
Review 1 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tweed jacket,
March 3, 2014
By: HKap
from PA
"A beautiful coat. Great comfort and fit. The perfect weight for spring and fall. Planning to take this jacket on two spring trips as it goes well with jeans or slacks"
Review 2 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Jacket!,
March 2, 2014
By: Winnie123
from Memphis, TN
"I bought this jacket for my husband and he really loves it! Since it is Tweed, it's different from all of his other solid color jackets. It fits perfectly. We are very pleased with the purchase!"
Review 3 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice but some issues,
February 21, 2014
By: Roundowl
from Saint Louis, MO
"This is a very nice jacket but I expected it to be a bit heavier in construction. The color was considerably darker than what appeared in the catalogue. When it as compared to a bomber jacket, I guess I expected some weight to it. Stylish, yes, but you will be chilly below 40 degrees. In know way does this mean I'm unhappy with Orvise. As a long time fan of Orvise, This is the only item I've ever returned."
Review 4 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
February 10, 2014
By: Muggins2
from Salt lake City, UT
"I was looking online for a replacement for my Woolrich wool jacket. I looked at what Orvis had to offer and found this great looking jacket. The jacket is very well constructed. It is light weight but very warm. If you prefer a wool jacket with great style and looks I highly recommend this one."
Review 5 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What I wanted - not disappointed,
February 8, 2014
By: Reltub
"Comfortable, and looks nice. Fits well. Only negative comment involves the pockets. Because of angled cut and buttoned flap, it is inconvenient to get in them. Especially when you want to warm your hands."
Review 6 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Jacket,
February 6, 2014
By: cows
from Holly Springs, MS
"I had been looking at this jacket for a few weeks prior to ordering it. It is all I hoped it would be. Even thought it's not a heavy jacket it is a warm jacket - Very Stylish! Good Job!"
Review 7 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife loves it,
February 4, 2014
By: ButchH
"Yes, my wife loves it and that doesn't happen often in my world. Fabric is beautiful and heavier than I was expecting after reading other reviews. Nice fit and design. Definitely a 3 season coat for here in Northern Cal. I highly recommend this coat ."
Review 8 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect for Spring/Autumn,
January 31, 2014
By: jjscotman
from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
"I wore this lightweight jacket out on a cold blustery day to test it and was pleasantly surprised as to how warm it is.
Not quite a winter jacket but perfect for spring and autumn weather.
I have however deducted 1 star and only rated the jacket as "good" rather than "excellent" because neither of the interior pockets can be fastened securely. At this price point, one should have a zip and the other a button.
Therefore only a qualified recommendation for this otherwise very good versatile jacket.
"
Review 9 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort and Warmth,
January 15, 2014
By: 1047
from Oregon
"I was impressed that this lightweight jacket was so warm. Such a pleasure not to be weighted down, as I have been with other winter wool jackets. The Thinsulate does the job. I appreciated the classic fabric and styling the jacket. However, my size in this style was a bit too ample, and the next size down was too small."
Review 10 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIRST CLASS A+,
January 15, 2014
By: JRTRP
"I bought this jacket as a Christmas present for my husband. He and I could not be more pleased. It is a heavy jacket but is not bulky. The corduroy collar folds down easily and fits perfectly on his neck. It has plenty of pockets inside and out. It looks and wears like top quality. The only thing I would change is the direction of the outside pockets."
Review 11 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good design,
January 9, 2014
By: EnglishSpringerowner
from Detroit, MI
"This jacket was bought as a gift, so I cannot comment on its wearability. The design and cloth are very attractive and, to my eye, suggest that it's a very good value. The one change that I would recommend, and be happy to pay for, is for the inside pockets to have zippers. I like to be able to zip close pockets, both for security when travelling and, also, just so contents don't inadvertently slip out with coat checks, etc."
Review 12 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks sharp,
December 30, 2013
By: SunshineK8
from Merced, Ca
"Another winner for my Dad. Perfect weight for the climate."
Review 13 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 4, 2013
By: cdha
from memphis tn
"I saw this item in the catalog and called my local store to see if they had it in stock. They did not, but told me to come in and they would order it with free shipping. The sales associate there was super nice and my transaction was completed in about 5 minutes. Very satisfied with the jacket!"
Review 14 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great item from Orvis,
November 18, 2013
By: Chooch2
from Philadelphia
"Jacket is great, fits well, warmer than expected and will be good for spring and fall...."
Review 15 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Almost,
October 29, 2013
By: Mtneer
from Wheeling. WV
"Nice style and construction. Would have liked it better if it were heavier."
Review 16 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
April 12, 2013
By: Luckster
"Perfect fit, built with quality, looks nice. I'm very happy with my purchase"
Review 17 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
March 22, 2013
By: IngridI
from Charlotte NC
"I bought this jacket as a gift for my husband. He loves it! It's been great for our changeable early spring weather, and will probably be a three season jacket in our moderate climate. And it looks great, too."
Review 18 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
poor quality control,
March 15, 2013
By: shocktus
from co. armagh
"stitching had come apart on right inside pocket spent 2 days searching for my credit card eventually found it in lining of jacket."
Review 19 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful jacket,
February 26, 2013
By: Emerlou
from Abilene,texas
"This was far above my expections,very nice and comfortable.Would highly reccommend it."
Review 20 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good value.,
February 19, 2013
By: FSJ003
from Birmingham, AL
"There is a hole in the right outside pocket. That is the only blemish in this good-looking jacket. My wife can darn the hole."