Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tweed Jacket

Our ever-popular Weatherbreaker™, a jacket style that rivals the WWII bomber with its sporty profile and casual style, attains a higher level of sophistication with pure wool tweed. Detailed with corduroy neck trim for comfort and handsome looks and lined with our durable Bush Poplin. Elasticized cuffs and waist enhance wind resistance. Two exterior and two interior pockets. Nylon/acetate-lined sleeves enable easy on-and-off. Waist side vents. Pure wool shell with cotton lining. Dry clean. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.494 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
1
78 of 89(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tweed Jacket
Review 1 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
July 15, 2015
By: Hoserman6
from Orlando, FL
"very nice jacket and nice looking and I can't wait to wear it this winter."
Review 2 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good looking,
May 28, 2015
By: Stasshu
from Milford, CT
"This is an early or late fall jacket. It is well made & looks great. I bought this jacket to wear along side the brown Harris tweed jacket that I bought last year."
Review 3 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Little pricey for the quality,
April 1, 2015
By: Lben
from Menomonee Falls, WI
"Did not feel the quality was there for the price. It also was lacking style and somewhat ho hum. Returned this item and will look for a different jacket."
Review 4 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and looks good,
February 17, 2015
By: Shoney
from Hartland, Michigan
"Really nice jacket....it is cold here in Michigan and this jacket keeps me warm and stylish..."
Review 5 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
classy looking jacket,
January 21, 2015
By: buruusu
from san jose, ca
"I am very pleased with my latest purchase from Orvis...as usual.
This jacket is comfortable and will never go out of style. I've had some nice compliments, too!
I decided to take the plunge and order, in spite of some of the talk that was going around, thinking that it was just an idle rumor. But, it is true that wearing this jacket does make swimming kind of a challenge."
Review 6 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pure Class but Still Casual,
January 9, 2015
By: Prezi
from NJ
"I'm very happy with the look and feel of this jacket. It's a break from the normal leather or puffy coats most people wear. A lot of compliments so far. It's lightweight but still keeps you warm in the cold. It's just pure class and no problems at all with the collar flap hitting my chin either. Zipper pockets would be nice, but it has lots of interior pockets."
Review 7 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful jacket!,
January 7, 2015
By: pwilson
from Omaha, NE
"I rarely get compliments on my cologne, but I do get accolades wearing this jacket. Some reviewers mention the collar tab; forget it. Once you put on this coat, you don't even notice it. The jacket is a little heavier than I believed, too. I wore it in 30 below zero Nebraska winter weather, and it's warmer than my long dress coat. All in all, wonderful!"
Review 8 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
January 2, 2015
By: Sblu345
from Memphis, TN
"My husband is thrilled with this jacket. It is light weight but warm. Perfect for southern climate. Stylish either dressed up or down."
Review 9 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reminded me of Scotland,
December 30, 2014
By: ami43
"I did not know that my husband had been looking at this jacket and wishing that he had one. Beautiful and classic look!"
Review 10 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
December 12, 2014
By: JamesColorado
from Colorado
"I was disappointed in the material weight and the collar "flap" that is an annoyance. The material was much thinner than expected. Many reviews I read prior to purchasing had a similar complaint. The collar "flap" makes contact with my chin which is bothersome, Returned the jacket which is obviously good quality and well made, just too annoying to wear."
Review 11 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Jacket,
December 9, 2014
By: descasus
from Springfield, Pa.
"This is a Christmas present for my son. And I can't wait to see his reaction. Great quality and design."
Review 12 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Looking Jacket,
December 6, 2014
By: Sheila1
from Dallas, TX
"This jacket is very stylish, and can be worn casually or in a more formal setting. Lightweight, yet warm enough for those cold days when outside."
Review 13 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome jacket,
November 23, 2014
By: 2468Pooh
"Beautiful, comfortable, light weight, can be dressy or casual"
Review 14 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wool Coat, good buy,
November 14, 2014
By: Chuck4024
from Newtown, Pennsylvania
"The Jacket is everything Orvis said it was and looks great on me."
Review 15 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Jacket!,
November 11, 2014
By: catz5
from georgia
"Gift for my special man and he loves it. My only complaint is there is no hook to hang the coat on a coat rack!"
Review 16 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
October 23, 2014
By: Wildcat1
"There are two features in the design of the jacket that I did not like. First, the flap on the collar that is designed to button up around the neck. The flap just flops out and there is no way to tuck it out of the way. I really don't like it flopping around my chin. I would never use the button up feature on the collar anyway. Next, the outside pockets are not user friendly. If you want to tuck your hands in them, the flaps over them are in the way."
Review 17 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very stylish,
October 18, 2014
By: Mateomc
from Maryland
"A great fit, good quality tweed and it looks very well"
Review 18 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Eye-Catcher,
August 19, 2014
By: Marshall3
from Midland, MI
"I had my eye on this jacket for 6+ months because I was looking for something other than a typical windbreaker. I purchased it on sale and am pleased so far. The tweed fabric and cotton lining are comparable in weight to a tweed sportcoat. There is no thermal layer mentioned in some reviews, but it is suitable for spring and fall, and there is ample room to layer. For this price point, I would expect separate openings for hands behind the outer pockets and fasteners on inner pockets, but this jacket is about style, not utility. I give it 4 stars at list price and 5 on sale. It is definitely an eye-catcher."
Review 19 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stay Warm In the Fall,
August 18, 2014
By: BavarianEd
from Vestal, NY
"Great colors; wool make up will take the chill out of Fall."
Review 20 for Tweed Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
most comfortable jacket i own,
August 14, 2014
By: yukonman
from upper peninsula michigan
"since wool is my favorite apparel fabric,the orvis tweed is the third orvis jacket i have purchased.extemely comfotable and lightweight but warm.can even provide warmth on very cold days when layerd with a wool sweater."