Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Shetland Wool Sweater Coat

Our handsome sweater coat is knitted of pure Shetland wool. A great layering piece for autumn and winter, this sweater has leather knot buttons and ribbed trim at the stand collar, cuffs, placket, and hem. 100% Shetland wool. Hand wash. Sizes: S, M, L, XL; about 37" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.992 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (131 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
14
1 star
12
99 of 131(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Review 1 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A nice sweater for the money,
February 18, 2014
By: Lucy456
from Chicago, IL
"Runs a little big but it will go over a sweatshirt without a problem.
I would recommend it to my friends.
"
Review 2 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cozy sweater coat,
February 10, 2014
By: 1MoonhawMaid
from NYC & Ulster County, NY
"Very pretty and warm; lovely red color; but I found it too itchy, so I returned it. Nice for someone not bothered by itchy wool..."
Review 3 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Initial Disappointment,
February 10, 2014
By: bneb
from Bellingham, WA
"Yes, this sweater wool coat does run very large as other readers have noted but my biggest disappointment was how much it "shed" when I ran my hand over it. It seems to have been plumped up with what appear to be unspun fibers. It also had a very strong chemical smell, perhaps from the black dye. Before returning this I decided to hand wash it in Woolite to see if this would help remove the shedding and remove the smell. I was shocked at how many short fibers were shed! Finally, after 3 hand washings, the odor diminished as did the quantity of short fibers. I decided to keep this item because it is what I have looked for for quite awhile and after much labor, it is now a favorite--very warm yet lightweight, despite so much shedding! I'd gladly buy another one if it did not have these problems. Buyer beware!"
Review 4 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic sweater,
February 7, 2014
By: ukchick
from Wrightwood, CA
"Bought this at the bargain sale price! What a deal - fits perfectly, hangs well - taking it on my trip to the UK - it for sure will get good use! May go back for the blue one!!"
Review 5 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sizing Inconsistent,
February 7, 2014
By: Judio
from Massachusetts
"I received this sweater coat in red, size small as a gift and it fit like a glove - tres chic! - so I purchased another, same size in black.
Alas, the black size small is huge. Shoulders fall far below natural shoulder line, and sleeve width is extremely wide. I tried adding shoulder pads, but that did not help.
I advise caution as sizing is not consistent.
"
Review 6 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
.. Baby it's "no longer" cold outside,
February 7, 2014
By: NYADKGirl
from NYer in Northern CA
"I have been looking at this sweater coat for several years with longing in my eyes.. then it went on a crazy sale and I bought the Blue and the Red!! So glad I did! Length is perfect, buttons look nice and are great quality. Super warm, without the bulk of a heavy sweater. Layering is easy since the sweater is lighter.. Perfect!! Highly recommend to everyone.."
Review 7 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long sweater,
January 18, 2014
By: Honey83
from California's capital - Sacramento
"Sweater is wonderful. Heavy enough to let it fall without pulling it, yet light enough to wear on a crisp California day. And it's black so I can wear it any time."
Review 8 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shetland Wool Sweater Coat,
January 16, 2014
By: Ceil01
from Nj
"The sweater coat is very warm and comfortable. Just right for the weather we are having."
Review 9 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
January 16, 2014
By: Shara
"I love my new sweater so much (it is the perfect length and weight) I bought it in two colors! I can wear it into a restaurant or movie and stay warm without it feeling bulky. I have received many compliments!"
Review 10 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater Coat,
January 15, 2014
By: 22twain
from TN
"This was a Christmas gift for my wife and I was concerned that I got the wrong size. My wife was delighted with the sweater coat and has worn it often. The fit is perfect; she likes the material and the length. We are 100% satisfied with it."
Review 11 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice quality,
January 15, 2014
By: lilybay
from Green Bay, wisconsin
"I like my red sweater coat. It is of nice quality and I really like the buttons. best of all, it is nice and warm."
Review 12 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater coat!,
January 15, 2014
By: CynthiaLynne
from Edgewood, KY
"I have been on the lookout for this kind of long sweater as I had one many years ago. Such a classic and cozy look! The sweater does run a little big (I'm 5'4" and wear a size 6) and I ordered a size small ... but then most of the Orvis clothing I've purchased runs a little generous. But it looks great and plenty of room for layering underneath. Loved the red during the holidays and the buttons really set it off. Great looking, great quality, and great price. Orvis does it again!"
Review 13 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very large,
December 31, 2013
By: VWQC
from Charlotte, NC
"This is a beautiful sweater, but it's so large and long that I'll have to return it. I received it in size small for Christmas and it absolutely swallows me. I wish it came in a petite small/x-small."
Review 14 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
too big,
December 26, 2013
By: clfprf
"runs on the large size disappointed it did not come in xsmall"
Review 15 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not great,
December 10, 2013
By: TerriT
from Maryland
"I should've listened to those of you that said that this product was you itch and scratch
it's also too big
I'm returning it
"
Review 16 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and attractive,
December 9, 2013
By: etlinen
from Bloomington IN
"A typically first-class Orvis product. Sylish and substantive. My wife loves it."
Review 17 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too Big!,
December 8, 2013
By: MemphisAnne1
from Memphis, TN
"First, let me say that I liked the shetland wool knit - it has a good weight & feel to it. The disappointment was in the sizing. The small could have fit 2+ of me in it and still be buttoned. I returned it. Orvis, please sell these in a smaller size."
Review 18 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great sweater-runs large,
December 7, 2013
By: Number1Momma
"Beautiful sweater just runs too big. Small is the smallest size it comes in and it was way too big. I would have probably fit in an extra small but that option doesn't exist. Too bad!"
Review 19 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Large and shapeless,
December 6, 2013
By: MountainClimber
from California
"The coat looked terrific in the catalog and online. I read the reviews and knew that Orvis clothing runs large, but since I was going to be wearing it over layers I went ahead and ordered the medium. I was excited to receive it and start wearing it. However, it is very large and shapeless. I doubt that the small would have been better. It looks much slimmer in the photos, but does not look like that in real life."
Review 20 for Shetland Wool Sweater Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ugh.,
December 5, 2013
By: Clementine
from Atlanta GA
"I knew in seconds this was not the sweater for me. So disappointed because I have had my eye on it for a couple of years. Looks so pretty in the picture, but not right for me. Beautiful blue color. Ordered XL which was too big, but I decided not to re-order in L because the wool was scratchy and the stand up collar was irritating against my neck. Sigh. I have to return it."