Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Battenkill Large Arbor Reels

Our Battenkill Large Arbor reel series is machined from 6061 aircraft barstock. This is the best value, high-performance large arbor fly reel anywhere. Your fly reel of choice when fishing any hard-fighting gamefish—from trout and panfish to bones and reds on the flats, snook under the lights, and stripers in the surf to steelhead and salmon in the harshest freshwater fly fishing conditions. Plus, with backing capacities to handle any spey-fishing situation, this fly reel's smooth, strong, proven drag and fast retrieve rates help control and land big fish more quickly and effectively. The Battenkill Large Arbor Reel is available in black, titanium.
Average Customer Rating:
4.741 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
82 of 85(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Review 1 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Cold Weather Reel,
January 19, 2012
By: Eldon
from Great Falls, MT
"I purchased the reel to be used on a 3wt Orvis rod for the smaller streams but I couldn't wait for them to thaw. I had to try it out on the Missouri where the trout are in the 2 to 3 lb range. On 14 Jan, on the river near Craig MT, the water temp was about 35/36 degrees. Outside temp was a cool 38 with a slight breeze (wind chill 33/26). I need add here that the waders I was using was the Orvis 5mm neoprene's that are 11 years old and has never been patched (they kept me warm). Back to the reel- It is a very mechanically sound and well made reel. Light weight and durable was my first impression (not to mention it's a very good looking reel). Hooking into the first rainbow the drag was very predictable and reliable. After 6 trout I would rate the drag as perfect/excellent). A little bit of ice on the guides, but the reel never faulted in the cool weather. Bottom line: This is a great reel at a very reasonable price. I am very impressed and more than satisfied.--Thanks Orvis for a great reel (and waders)."
Review 2 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
April 10, 2012
By: OSLJAY
from Ont, Canada
"I ordered this reel online a few weeks back and was delighted to see that it was shipped rather quickly. The box was in perfect shape, even though it was shipped to Canada. I am very happy with the quality of the product and the great look, which can be important to some down at the river. The price made it easy to afford a great reel, and it looks to be more expensive than the actual price."
Review 3 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine Product & deal,
March 17, 2012
By: Derri
from Long Island, New York
"Needed a LA for a new TH 11' Beach Rod. The indexed, easy to adjust, large disc drag is wonderful to handle. Spey was a piece of cake with this combo. Will move to the Hydro later. But for now.....One heck of a reel and super deal. Thanks Orvis."
Review 4 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
maiden trip on christmas island,
March 8, 2012
By: robertcity
"bought this as a back up reel with extra spool for a bonefish and trevally trip to Christmas Island. The improved drag system performed perfectly on some very large 50lb plus trevally, pulling hundreds of yards of backing of the reel at an alarming pace.
Got home and dunked the reel in fresh water, cleaned it in less than five minutes and its ready to go.
Shame they stopped making this reel, but that;s why i bought spare spools for it at the sale price. Highly recommemded"
Review 5 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Reel,
March 6, 2012
By: augie3
from Beaufort, SC
"This is a great reel, I have several including both the older model which had a so so drag an the most recent models. The more recent models have much better drags. I'm sorry they are taking it out of the like. My current purchase is a gift to my grandson."
Review 6 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest Purchase ever,
March 1, 2012
By: marcl33
from Cassville, Mo.
"Purchased this reel for a 2 wt rod that I just had built and it is fantastic lives up to all my expectations. It is the second Battenkill reel I have Purchased and for the money can't beat it."
Review 7 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had to have another,
February 29, 2012
By: fishnlab
from Oklahoma - in between mountains and coast.
"Purchased a Battenkill Large Arbor size II for a four weight Hydros rod and liked it so much, I just had to purchase a size VI for an upcoming tarpon trip. Great reel."
Review 8 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large Arbor Reel,
February 29, 2012
By: Pelikan
"Works great. Easy to retrieve a lot of line taken out by bone fish."
Review 9 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
February 21, 2012
By: clone6
from Sagamore Beach, Ma.
"I bought a reel from one of your competitors for less money. I took it to Costa Rica to go fishing and it fell apart and was unfixable. I learned - Buy the right reel from the company that has a history of fly fishing . I know this reel won't fail, I cast it and can really tell I have a quality product. I own several of your reels. Thank you"
Review 10 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
February 20, 2012
By: ront
"I have a Battenkill Large Arbor Reel for my Helios 6 wt. and love it. The new purchase is for a Superfine 1 wt. Bought a extra spool which I will use on my 3 wt. Love the finish, size and weight. Great reel."
Review 11 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect reel,
February 8, 2012
By: Maxibear
from Naples, FL
"I have a half dozen of these reels in different sizes and all of them have performed beautifully."
Review 12 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd time around,
February 4, 2012
By: bgut68
from Tamaqua PA
"I have the battenkill V, for 10 wonderful years, and have used it for salmon and steelhead,in the pulaski river.
The V has held up to many a 35lb salmon, so when the VI went on sale for $129, how could I refuse , Just got back from steelhead fishing and the VI is just as good if not better, with the new drag system, Thanks for another great deal and great purchase . BGUT68
"
Review 13 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great addition to my fly reels,
February 2, 2012
By: ocean77
from Mission Viejo, CA
"I receiived my Battenkill large arbor 1 reel promty and I'm ready to try it on trout but I will have to wait a while so I am going to use it in the harbort at Dana Pt. this week end for bass and anything I can catch from the shore or in my pontoon boat. It is small but the drag is very strong and I use 8 to10 pound lead on the end of my floating line."
Review 14 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great value,
February 1, 2012
By: MetroTrout
from N Cal
"Light weight, well vented and smooth drag. Sweet little reel."
Review 15 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit, Finish, Function,
January 27, 2012
By: Grayknight
from Colorful Colorado
"I've been using the BLA II reel for several years and had been thinking about a BLA I to mate with a 2-wt rod for small sstream fishing. When they went on sale I bought one. Like the BLA II, the fit and finish are all I could ask for, and the functions is flawless as well. It would have been a bargain at the full price -- on sale it was like getting a great gift."
Review 16 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent products and customer service.,
January 24, 2012
By: Fish09
from Harrison Township, MI
"I purchased this reel for my wife, because I have been using one for two years for salmon with no issues. When you top it off with the customer service that is second to none, I know exactly where I will be purchasing my next reel again."
Review 17 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My fourth Battenkill LA,
January 23, 2012
By: Docmag
from Montgomery, Alabama
"I purchased this reel to use with my 10 wt Spey rod to fish for stripe bass below hydroelectric dams near my home. I selected this reel for it's value, light weight, solid construction, and good looks. It has a reliable drag, large arbor, and high capacity- all required for my use."
Review 18 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Timeless Quality,
January 23, 2012
By: ProfLemoi
from Machias, Maine
"As a young boy I can remember my grandfather using Orivis Reels and Rods. As one of the most successful Salmon fishers in Downeast Maine, he chose the best and got the best results. Over 45 years later my son and I are continuing the Orvis tradition with the Large Arbor Reels. I was pleased to see the quality that my grandfather raved about still present in a modern reel. The Large Arbor is smooth, light and is a great addition to any Orvis Fly Rod. The reel has a nice modern look but don't let that fool you, its foundation is firmly placed with the quality of the past. My grandfather would be pleased to own one... just as my son and I are. These are generational reels that I will be pleased to pass along someday to my children and their grandchildren."
Review 19 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
December 29, 2011
By: Lotsafish
"A medium to heavy duty reel for fresh as well as salt water applications at an affordabe price."
Review 20 for Battenkill Large Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BLA IV - Great Reel for the Money,
November 20, 2011
By: drojas11
from Washington, D.C.
"I've used this reel for the past year. Its incredible for the price. Holds plenty of backing, super strong drag. No problem handing large Steelhead, Salmon and Stripers. Great reel for the money."