Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition

A fully updated, completely revised edition of the classic beginners guide to fly fishing book that's helped more than 200,000 anglers learn or improve upon the basics of fly fishing. More than 400+ new full color images will make it even easier for thousands more anglers to enjoy learning this great pastime. Heralded as the absolute best source on all aspects of fly fishing. Orvis Fly Fishing Guide by Tom Rosenbauer. Art by Bob White. Softcover; 271 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 32(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Review 1 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Insightful Guide,
July 21, 2014
By: HunterS21
"I found this book very useful! After reading it, I am keeping the book in my room so I can go back to it if I ever need to look something up. Having not fished in a long time, This guide was not only a magnificent refresher, but also taught me a lot that I had not previously known about fly fishing."
Review 2 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent resource,
June 16, 2014
By: JPro
"Being new to fly fishing I needed a thorough yet easy to digest book on the sport. This fantastic guide exceeded my expectations. From the equipment, recommended Knots for setting up your rig, to a guide on flys and casting this book covers it all!"
Review 3 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
February 4, 2014
By: LVEmkeWisc
"Tom Rosenbauer does an excellent job of detailing the basics and beauty of fly fishing in this book. Nice work."
Review 4 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing Guidebook,
September 21, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"This revised edition improves upon the already great Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide. This book guided me through all aspects of fly-fishing as a beginner several years ago, and I still refer to it today."
Review 5 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best guide to fly fishing!,
September 9, 2013
By: fdboucher
from Quebec, QC
"This guide should be in the bands of every fly fishing enthusiast. It is exhaustive, smart, and very well written.
I learned a lot. Thanks!"
Review 6 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tom knows his stuff,
September 4, 2013
By: whatsinaname
from madison heights,mi
"tom sure is enthusiastic for his love of flyfishing...sure can be infectious
really explains what you need to know to be successful at the sport
"
Review 7 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Book,
August 8, 2013
By: Argo
from Atlanta, GA
"This book is an excellent source of information on all types of fly fishing. The book's chapters are logically organized and the photographs are sharp and colorful. I purchased this book as a reference guide, having been a fly fisher for over a decade, and managed to learn several new approaches and techniques that have since landed me fish. I recommend this book for anyone interested in fly fishing."
Review 8 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Book,
June 14, 2013
By: swimcoach
from Houston, TX
"Excellent book that covers all aspects of fly fishing. I recommend it for both novice to experienced fisherman. I periodically revisit mine to refresh myself on information."
Review 9 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Intro Book,
June 9, 2013
By: ai10
from Northeastern US
"I really liked this book, even though I have done a lot of spin fishing and knew some of the information. It is well balanced on all the topics, very quick to read, but informative and with nice photos and illustrations."
Review 10 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little book,
May 29, 2013
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"A very nice review of the major activities of the fly fisher. Wouldn't change anything. Even non-fishers enjoy the excellent photography"
Review 11 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Basic Reference Book Not to Be Without,
May 20, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"There are many, many books on fly fishing. It's easy to spend a lot of money building up a library of books, only to find that many of those books collect dust and are never used.
Tom Rosenbauer's book is not one of those. I find myself going back to this book more often than all the others.
The coverage is broad covering different fisheries - wherever you fish, there's something in here for you.
Highly recommended."
Review 12 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
January 28, 2013
By: Bcosby
from salt lake city, UT
"A great read. Comprehensive and informative. I can't wait to put all of this info to use. I grow more and more excited with each chapter."
Review 13 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Informational,
January 8, 2013
By: WellingtonWoman
"My husband and I found this book to be very helpful and informative in learning how to use our new rod and reel."
Review 14 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great book,
December 29, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"I've read and own a few different fly-fishing books but this one is very well-organized and illustrates (with both words and pictures) the concepts in a way that's easy to understand."
Review 15 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In depth and timeless resource,
October 23, 2012
By: SnapperMan
from Victoria, Australia
"I have been flyfishing for years and yet the concepts and ideas contained in this excellent book are as fresh and exciting as the first trip to the river was. Some great tips to help you get the most out of your fishing for both the beginner and the experienced fisho-Love it!"
Review 16 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential book!,
May 10, 2012
By: FreddyPacNorthwest
from Lacey, WA
"Do you or are you going to fly fish? You'll never get rid of this book."
Review 17 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Resource,
February 27, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Canadian Lakes, MI
"Being new to the sport, I have found this guide to be very helpful in understanding the art of fly fishing. This guide has helped me beyond the one day hands-on instruction I got last summer. It seems to be oriented to the rookie - which is me - and anyone who wants to better get a grip on this wonderful experience."
Review 18 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great reference,
January 3, 2012
By: johninsouthjersey
from new jersey shore
"Not only is this book a great reference, but it reflects Orvis' hundred and sixty year old devotion to conservation and sportsmanship which is why I got into fly fishing to begin with (besides the fun of course!),"
Review 19 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good reference,
December 30, 2011
By: rogaaron
from Pleasant Grove, UT
"I bought this book as a general guide to flyfishing and was not dissapointed. It has definatly helped with the cabin fever in the winter months."
Review 20 for Orvis Fly-Fishing Guide Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Reference,
December 30, 2011
By: Mukilteo
from Mukilteo, WA
"This is the perfect reference for a beginning (and maybe even an experienced fly fisherman). I look some beginning classes from a pro fly shop and it was only after I got this book and started reading it did I understand what had been taught and what was going on. I'm still reading it and bought a second copy for a friend. Well worth the price."