Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders

Orvis fly-fishing accessories are designed to make life easier for anglers everywhere. Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders clip on to the Mountain River Lanyard or can be clipped on any available D-ring. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Review 1 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Get the horizontal model,
September 8, 2014
By: TurkeyBum
from Alabama
"I really like this tippet holder in the horizontal version - it seems that most of the negative reviews are for the vertical version. It will hold up to seven spools and has an extra clip on one end - actually a fishing snap swivel - to keep it from flopping around on your vest."
Review 2 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Horizontal works better than Vertical,
June 24, 2014
By: Josh54
from Colorado Rockies
"I bought this horizontal tippet spool because the vertical one keeps coming apart. This one works much better."
Review 3 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good, but always room for improvement,
February 28, 2014
By: SooperYooper
from God's country
"The Mountain River tippet spool holder does what it's supposed to - keeps your tippet close at hand for easy repairs and modifications. It also came with a chamois which was a nice surprise because I didn't expect that. My only critique is that the large plastic clip makes the holder hard to attach to vests or packs that don't have a nice plastic/metal ring waiting for it. Other than that, it's hard to complain."
Review 4 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
July 5, 2013
By: JimmyO
from Tulsa, OK
"I had been looking for a spool holder that would hold tippet spools in a horizontal direction and could not find one until I found the Mountain River unit from Orvis online
It is exactly what I wanted and works on my waist pack perfectly.
"
Review 5 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not recommended,
April 23, 2013
By: jaybo41
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I purchased this for an upcoming fly fishing trip and was extremely disappointed. This Tippett holder came apart on two separate occasions. Luckily I found my Tippett both times. The plastic prongs do not hold and weaken. Terrible design and not recommended unless you would like to replace your Tippett."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
useful,
March 12, 2013
By: StevenD
from Carson City, NV
"got this to mount my tippet spools to my sling pack. It worked well and provides all that I expected"
Review 7 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
November 17, 2012
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"Not particularly pleased with this tippet holder. As another reviewer wrote, a bottom clasp is needed to keep the contraption in one place. The end-cap that keeps the tippet in place and on the retaining rod was broken inside of a month or two of use."
Review 8 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just As Advertised,
May 20, 2012
By: Riverbat
"Got the horizontal tippet holder and have had no problems. Makes changing tippets on the river a LOT faster and more convenient. Great product."
Review 9 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Organizer,
May 17, 2012
By: Parry
from Indiana
"I like this for 2 reasons one they are together not loose in your bag, or pocket, the other reason I like this is i can use one hand and getting the line out and the other hand in cutting or holding your tools, flies or rod."
Review 10 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy item,
November 11, 2011
By: Chuch
from Somerset, Pa.
"It's what you'd expect. A convenient way to keep your tippet spools handy and separated - easy get to.
To replace spools simply pull holder apart put new spool in and snap back into place.
"
Review 11 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Somewhat cheap,
August 30, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"Not thrilled with this product because it sways back and forth. Would have been better if it had a clasp with a clip in the bottom to keep it from swaying back and forth when bending over. The price was good though"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3