Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders

Orvis fly-fishing accessories are designed to make life easier for anglers everywhere. Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders clip on to the Mountain River Lanyard or can be clipped on any available D-ring. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Review 1 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Horizontal works better than Vertical,
June 24, 2014
By: Josh54
from Colorado Rockies
"I bought this horizontal tippet spool because the vertical one keeps coming apart. This one works much better."
Review 2 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good, but always room for improvement,
February 28, 2014
By: SooperYooper
from God's country
"The Mountain River tippet spool holder does what it's supposed to - keeps your tippet close at hand for easy repairs and modifications. It also came with a chamois which was a nice surprise because I didn't expect that. My only critique is that the large plastic clip makes the holder hard to attach to vests or packs that don't have a nice plastic/metal ring waiting for it. Other than that, it's hard to complain."
Review 3 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
July 5, 2013
By: JimmyO
from Tulsa, OK
"I had been looking for a spool holder that would hold tippet spools in a horizontal direction and could not find one until I found the Mountain River unit from Orvis online
It is exactly what I wanted and works on my waist pack perfectly.
"
Review 4 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not recommended,
April 23, 2013
By: jaybo41
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I purchased this for an upcoming fly fishing trip and was extremely disappointed. This Tippett holder came apart on two separate occasions. Luckily I found my Tippett both times. The plastic prongs do not hold and weaken. Terrible design and not recommended unless you would like to replace your Tippett."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
useful,
March 12, 2013
By: StevenD
from Carson City, NV
"got this to mount my tippet spools to my sling pack. It worked well and provides all that I expected"
Review 6 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
November 17, 2012
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"Not particularly pleased with this tippet holder. As another reviewer wrote, a bottom clasp is needed to keep the contraption in one place. The end-cap that keeps the tippet in place and on the retaining rod was broken inside of a month or two of use."
Review 7 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just As Advertised,
May 20, 2012
By: Riverbat
"Got the horizontal tippet holder and have had no problems. Makes changing tippets on the river a LOT faster and more convenient. Great product."
Review 8 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Organizer,
May 17, 2012
By: Parry
from Indiana
"I like this for 2 reasons one they are together not loose in your bag, or pocket, the other reason I like this is i can use one hand and getting the line out and the other hand in cutting or holding your tools, flies or rod."
Review 9 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy item,
November 11, 2011
By: Chuch
from Somerset, Pa.
"It's what you'd expect. A convenient way to keep your tippet spools handy and separated - easy get to.
To replace spools simply pull holder apart put new spool in and snap back into place.
"
Review 10 for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Somewhat cheap,
August 30, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"Not thrilled with this product because it sways back and forth. Would have been better if it had a clasp with a clip in the bottom to keep it from swaying back and forth when bending over. The price was good though"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mountain River Tippet Spool Holders
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3