Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Deerfield Berber™ Jacket

Trimmed with touches of tapestry at the pockets and collar facing, this Berber jacket is made of lighter-than-air fleece with the warmth of wool. Cuddly, deep-pile fleece. Cut just below the waist. Acrylic/polyester Berber jackets. Washable. Imported.Sizes: XS(4), XL(18-20) ; about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.779 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
13
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
12
57 of 86(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Review 1 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It!,
February 19, 2013
By: cowgirl5
"Have been eyeing this jacket for several years. Just love it, wish I'd bought it sooner! Very classy, warm and cozy."
Review 2 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Deer Field Berber Jacket,
December 28, 2012
By: Motha
from massachusetts
"Nice quality fleece. Keeps me nice and warm for quick errands or for a trip in the car. Size was a little roomier than I had wanted. Wish I had ordered down."
Review 3 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
design,
December 14, 2012
By: sandrocksally
from Alabama
"there was no lining in the jacket and the inside of the material was rough. The outside was not what I expected."
Review 4 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
October 25, 2012
By: Tich
from South Wales
"This jacket was much nicer than the photo.Cosy and soft and a good fit.What more could you want from any product."
Review 5 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cosy jacket,
October 24, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Northumberland
"I purchased this jacket recently, having seen it for many years in the catalogue. Once it was in the sale, I jumped at the chance to have one. I am a size 14, so ordered the medium but found the sizing large and the sleeves were much too big. However, I exchanged it for the small size and although the sleeves were still a little long, after shortening them, I now love the jacket. It is really comfortable to wear, stylish and nice and cosy!!"
Review 6 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
October 23, 2012
By: Deb12
"This jacket is everything I hoped it would be. It is soft and beautiful and high quality construction. It does have small black threads interwoven but that does not take away from the creamy color at all. Have not noticed any scratchiness. Thought about purchasing it for 3 years before doing so and am so glad that I did! It was exactly as it appears in the catalog. I am a petite size 6-8 and the small fit perfectly!"
Review 7 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
massive,
October 11, 2012
By: Pene
"I sent this back as ordered a size medium (my size 14-16) and it drowned me!
Warm shapeless design that probably someone very slim will carry off but I felt like a polar bear gone wrong!
"
Review 8 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cute but Scratchy,
September 7, 2012
By: SFbaygirl
from Northern California
"This is a very cute jacket, but the lining (which is a really attractive print) is very scratchy around the collar. I'll have to wear a turtleneck or a soft scarf with it, but I'll look good! I might recommend it to a friend, but my only choices were yes or no."
Review 9 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Berber jacket,
August 14, 2012
By: Martha1991
from Scottish Borders
"This jacket quite lives up to my expectations, beautifully cut with such a nice tapestry trim and nice horn buttons, fits me to perfection and I am sure I shall get a lot of wear out of it when the weather gets cooler. The oatmeal colour means it will go with a variety of different coloured skirts or trousers. It is light in weight but very cosy. Definitely one of my best buys."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well worn,
April 24, 2012
By: paisleyjane
from Lincolnshire, England
"I have had my jacket a couple of years and love it. I usually prefer lined jacets, but i wear this so often,versatile was a really good buy."
Review 11 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
April 1, 2012
By: MagicMom
from Bremerton, WA
"I expected a much softer feel to the fabric. The inside is scratchy and would always have to be worn with long sleeves."
Review 12 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket.,
March 13, 2012
By: Deejay
from Plano, TX
"I really like the jacket. It is exactly what I wanted--the fleece material can be worn inside to snuggle up and read, or outside. I always get compliments when I wear it. The decorative touches on the pockets and collar are a great touch."
Review 13 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 27, 2012
By: jiby
from Cooperstown, NY
"'
this Berber Jacket is well made, very warm, good style and comfortable. I have worn it alot since I received it 10 days ago and know that it will be a regular in my wardrobe.
"
Review 14 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice, warm jacket, attractive,
February 3, 2012
By: jaimie
from Md
"On the whole I am pleased but a little disappointed in the collar which is too structured and prudish looking. I found myself leaving the top button open to try to get a more relaxed look like it has on the model in the catalogue. But the collar is too stiff to lie down like an open shirt collar and you can't see the cute paisley trim.I think if you could tweak the collar a bit so it looks more like the picture it would be dynamite.."
Review 15 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect comfort,
January 31, 2012
By: sam75
from Pennsylvania
"I love this piece so much I ordered one for my mother too. It is extreamly warm, but also versatile for those non frigid days. Very versatile in your wardrope as well, dress up..or casual."
Review 16 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice material, but not flattering fit.,
January 24, 2012
By: Marcee614
from Caldwell, N.J.
"I was really looking forward to getting a nice, cosy jacket to wear for all occasions, but this wasn`t it.
While I loved the material and overall look, the fit was disappointing. The length was not what I would have hoped for: it needs to be cut longer and slimmer. As with most of your products, it is too large..even tho` I took the precaution of ordering a small. I have decided to keep it and will wear in the spring.
"
Review 17 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fabric disappointment,
January 19, 2012
By: Tess3
"I liked the designing and styling of the jacket, and the feeling of coziness. However, the fabric fell far short of my expectations. I had not expected to find the black hair strands interwoven in the materiel. They also altered the shade of the natural, detracting from the appearance as well as from the texture."
Review 18 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
January 15, 2012
By: Yahtzee
from UK
"I love this fleece jacket and have worn it a lot. I am 5'3" so I like fact that it is shorter than some other Orvis jackets. Perfect
The tapestry linings are lovely too
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
January 11, 2012
By: minipal
from Johns Creek, GA
"I rec. this jacket as a gift and was so excited as I think it is beautiful and it does keep me warm. However, the front of the jacket, from the shoulders down, there is simple too much fabric and does not hang smooth. It actually buckles. Thinking this was a flaw I ordered another one but while the replacement jacket has less fabric it too does not lay flat."
Review 20 for Deerfield Berber™ Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
looking forward to spring,
January 11, 2012
By: HappyDogMom
from Columbia, MD
"when I can wear this jacket. It looks good and is warm enough to wear outside during moderate weather. It should look good with many things."