Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Wire-Cord Zinger

Our classic fly-fishing zinger. Keep all your vital fly fishing gear and equipment close at hand. Virtually unbreakable 15" nylon-covered woven wire cord.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
6
33 of 45(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wire-Cord Zinger
Review 1 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Superior device clip,
July 25, 2015
By: HafCanadian
from Clackamas, OR
"I've had pin-on zingers for many decades of flyfishing, on several vests for both me and my grandkids. The weak point for all of them is the wire pin itself, on the back. Sometimes the rotating catch can get inadvertantly turned and the wire released, but more commonly the wire pin itself gets bent. Afterall, our vests are often subject to abuse from getting tossed in the back of a vehicle or boat, and dangling devices get caught on branches along the stream or trail, or get overstretched in use, any of which can bend a pin. Orvis zingers generally have stouter pins and catches, but I've still managed to ding even them a time or two.
All that aside, they are higher quality overall than a lot of cheaper brands available, some of which I've had the case come apart or the cord jam. But the best thing by far about these retractors is the clip. It is so much easier to use than other types I've had that I won't consider anything else.
The chrome clip is readily depressed and swung down for attaching or detaching instruments, and has always stayed secured for me. Other brands with the simple spring wire type of clip can be clumsier to depress and disengage since it depends entirely on the wire's tensile for its spring tension, whereas the Orvis zingers ride on a pivot point for a larger gape when open and yet include enough wire tensile to engage and lock or unlock at its notch point without effort. For kids or we old scudders with fumbling fingers, tying on a fly or a surgeon's knot should be the ultimate challenge, not working the clip end of our zingers.
The hardest ones for me anymore are my old ones that have the sliding sleeve lock in the middle of an hour-glass shaped device clip. Getting the sleeve to slide up or down to expose one end of the wire, and then getting it even further along to allow an implement on or off that wire and down to the loop end is a gargantuan task anymore. And if you don't get the sleeve back over just right so it covers both wire ends, you risk losing stuff. It's not the greatest design.
Orvis zinger clips are the best design of all, and by far the easiest to use."
Review 2 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screw loosened,
July 22, 2015
By: sixex
from Rochester MN
"and I lost the zinger and a rather expensive nipper. I emailed Orvis from there web sight about it but never received an answer. I bought another one and superglued the screw to prevent another loss."
Review 3 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just adding another one,
July 14, 2015
By: ToccoaFisher
from Dalton, GA
"This has got to be one of the best products. I have had an Orvis Zinger for 15 years and its still going. I bought another to add some other products to my pack."
Review 4 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have used these for years. Never had one fail.,
April 28, 2015
By: BobRNC
from North Carolina
"Have used these for years, and never had one fail. Wish I could stop loosing them or giving them to my kids. Great product."
Review 5 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best zigger on the market,
March 23, 2015
By: RobDoo
from Atlanta, ga
"Good quality. Metal casing and metal wire. I have several just like this that are 10 years old and still work like new."
Review 6 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality!,
November 17, 2014
By: JLeJeune
from Gloucester, MA, USA
"There is a reason I prefer this over all other zingers, quality. The plastic coated wire never jams or frays. The wide clip accommodates all tools with ease and no fuss. The re-tractor spring is strong, with the right amount of tension. I prefer the pin-on since it is more streamline and stays put. I find the clasp a bit bulky. When other brands break they are replaced with one of these."
Review 7 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Heavy users take care,
July 1, 2014
By: jz9349
"It may seem like a contradiction, but until these zingers break, they are better than any other zinger I've used. They last me about two years, then they fall apart without warning. I fish about 150 times a year, so they are used heavily. I only use the zingers for a very small hemostat,simple nippers, and a file, one tool per zinger. This time I'm ordering the black one, hoping it might be manufactured in a different facility."
Review 8 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Product,
July 1, 2014
By: RyanVA
from Alexandria, VA
"These things a great. Very well made and help me keep track of all my little, easy to drop, pieces of gear."
Review 9 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The pin version is flawed,
June 11, 2014
By: FMMMD
from Denver, CO, USA
"For years there have been complaints about the pin version of this otherwise good product. Stick with the clip on version. The pins are weak, and the pin clip will eventually bend and will separate from your vest causing loss of zinger and whatever was attached to it."
Review 10 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Zingers,
May 31, 2014
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"These zingers work great and ast longer than any other brand I have purchased in the past. The clip ons work great on D rings and I have never had one fall or pull off. Great product."
Review 11 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
handy,
September 19, 2013
By: garrbear
from MD
"I have a few of various Orvis zingers on my fishing vest and thought they would be great for ID badge at work.I decided on the steel cable due to co workers breaking them (plastic) quite frequently.It worked great for over 3 years almost 4.before internal spring broke.These things are awesome and they look better too"
Review 12 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Orvis Zinger,
August 19, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I have purchased and use both the clip-on and pin-on versions of this zinger (I prefer the clip-on version). They both are good quality products that hold nips, forceps, amadou pads or other fly fishing tools at the ready. I have not experienced any of the problems that the other reviewers have noted. Be reasonable in terms of weight when loading these zingers; I recommend a single tool per."
Review 13 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 31, 2013
By: Mambo5
"Bouhgt the zinger for a friend. He liked the fact it was "Orvis". Much better than the one he had."
Review 14 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality Zinger,
May 20, 2013
By: snobird23
from Sandy ,Utah
"Use this zinger to hold my large fly book to my fly fishing vest.
It feels strong and handles the weight of the well.
Do not need to worry about losing my fly box any more."
Review 15 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wire Cord Zinger,
April 3, 2013
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"Just bough one of these after my last one (diffferent make) broke.
It does seem more robust than my previous zingers."
Review 16 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wire Cord Zinger,
April 2, 2013
By: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
from San Clemente, CA
"I have been using Orvis Wire Cord Zingers for a long time, they are strong and durable and work well over a long period of time. unfortuneately i left my Lanyiard with zingers at a rest room on the San Juan River and i had to restock and therefore I have just re-ordered some. Re-ordering is a good recomendation."
Review 17 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality Not There,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"The cord retractor wore out really fast and doesn't retract the wire all the way. The rotating pin lock always opens, sometimes resulting in the pin opening and the zinger falling off my pack. I think a redesign is needed on these."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy, good price.,
August 24, 2012
By: PhantomIIRIO
from Bethlehem, PA
"I bought two of these...one for the forceps and one for the snips. Both have the pin backings. They attached securely to the vest, the snap clips open and close easily for attaching the tools, and the wire extends and retracts very smoothly and evenly...exactly what I was looking for."
Review 19 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wire Cord Zinger,
August 17, 2012
By: troutfts
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"It broken immediately."
Review 20 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wire cord zinger,
July 14, 2012
By: Philip1958
from London
"Bought two, so far no problems. Easy to use and do what I wanted of them. Think about the magnetic type though for forceps as the cord gets in the way when handling fish."