Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Wire-Cord Zinger

Our classic fly-fishing zinger. Keep all your vital fly fishing gear and equipment close at hand. Virtually unbreakable 15" nylon-covered woven wire cord.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
6
29 of 40(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wire-Cord Zinger
Review 1 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality!,
November 17, 2014
By: JLeJeune
from Gloucester, MA, USA
"There is a reason I prefer this over all other zingers, quality. The plastic coated wire never jams or frays. The wide clip accommodates all tools with ease and no fuss. The re-tractor spring is strong, with the right amount of tension. I prefer the pin-on since it is more streamline and stays put. I find the clasp a bit bulky. When other brands break they are replaced with one of these."
Review 2 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Heavy users take care,
July 1, 2014
By: jz9349
"It may seem like a contradiction, but until these zingers break, they are better than any other zinger I've used. They last me about two years, then they fall apart without warning. I fish about 150 times a year, so they are used heavily. I only use the zingers for a very small hemostat,simple nippers, and a file, one tool per zinger. This time I'm ordering the black one, hoping it might be manufactured in a different facility."
Review 3 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Product,
July 1, 2014
By: RyanVA
from Alexandria, VA
"These things a great. Very well made and help me keep track of all my little, easy to drop, pieces of gear."
Review 4 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The pin version is flawed,
June 11, 2014
By: FMMMD
from Denver, CO, USA
"For years there have been complaints about the pin version of this otherwise good product. Stick with the clip on version. The pins are weak, and the pin clip will eventually bend and will separate from your vest causing loss of zinger and whatever was attached to it."
Review 5 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Zingers,
May 31, 2014
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"These zingers work great and ast longer than any other brand I have purchased in the past. The clip ons work great on D rings and I have never had one fall or pull off. Great product."
Review 6 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
handy,
September 19, 2013
By: garrbear
from MD
"I have a few of various Orvis zingers on my fishing vest and thought they would be great for ID badge at work.I decided on the steel cable due to co workers breaking them (plastic) quite frequently.It worked great for over 3 years almost 4.before internal spring broke.These things are awesome and they look better too"
Review 7 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Orvis Zinger,
August 19, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I have purchased and use both the clip-on and pin-on versions of this zinger (I prefer the clip-on version). They both are good quality products that hold nips, forceps, amadou pads or other fly fishing tools at the ready. I have not experienced any of the problems that the other reviewers have noted. Be reasonable in terms of weight when loading these zingers; I recommend a single tool per."
Review 8 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 31, 2013
By: Mambo5
"Bouhgt the zinger for a friend. He liked the fact it was "Orvis". Much better than the one he had."
Review 9 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality Zinger,
May 20, 2013
By: snobird23
from Sandy ,Utah
"Use this zinger to hold my large fly book to my fly fishing vest.
It feels strong and handles the weight of the well.
Do not need to worry about losing my fly box any more."
Review 10 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wire Cord Zinger,
April 3, 2013
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"Just bough one of these after my last one (diffferent make) broke.
It does seem more robust than my previous zingers."
Review 11 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wire Cord Zinger,
April 2, 2013
By: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
from San Clemente, CA
"I have been using Orvis Wire Cord Zingers for a long time, they are strong and durable and work well over a long period of time. unfortuneately i left my Lanyiard with zingers at a rest room on the San Juan River and i had to restock and therefore I have just re-ordered some. Re-ordering is a good recomendation."
Review 12 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality Not There,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"The cord retractor wore out really fast and doesn't retract the wire all the way. The rotating pin lock always opens, sometimes resulting in the pin opening and the zinger falling off my pack. I think a redesign is needed on these."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy, good price.,
August 24, 2012
By: PhantomIIRIO
from Bethlehem, PA
"I bought two of these...one for the forceps and one for the snips. Both have the pin backings. They attached securely to the vest, the snap clips open and close easily for attaching the tools, and the wire extends and retracts very smoothly and evenly...exactly what I was looking for."
Review 14 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wire Cord Zinger,
August 17, 2012
By: troutfts
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"It broken immediately."
Review 15 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wire cord zinger,
July 14, 2012
By: Philip1958
from London
"Bought two, so far no problems. Easy to use and do what I wanted of them. Think about the magnetic type though for forceps as the cord gets in the way when handling fish."
Review 16 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not What it Used to Be,
July 6, 2012
By: simslax
from Avon CT
"I have used these zingers for nippers and forceps for years. I ran into bad batch of "pin on" ones this year-- the metal locking coupling that traps the end of the pin simply popped off on one and also on its replacement. The bottom clip opened too easily on the third one and I lost my nippers coming through some brush. I always liked this product but I fear that the quality may have gone down recently."
Review 17 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
can be improved,
June 13, 2012
By: lehich
from Upstate NY
"well, maybe I'm asking too much but at $10 it should a quality product. here are the problems: the metal piece which suppose to lock needle and prevent it from popping - broke off and got lost, the wire started curling up after about a month of usage so I ended up replacing wire with 65lb powerpro (good thing you can take it a part), the other problem with wire - coating comes off the wire itself... the screw which hold everything together needs some loctite to keep it from getting loose..."
Review 18 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than other makes,
June 8, 2012
By: regt
"bought Wire-Cord Zinger
to replace another which ad broken. much better and far better value.
"
Review 19 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality lacking,
May 9, 2012
By: Tomovet
from NSW, Australia
"Purchased several of these recently. Theylook great until you try to pin them to your jacket. On first try the locking mechanism for the pin fell off
2 of these Zingers. Now I am not sure whether to use them as without the locking mechanism, they may just fall off at any time. As I night fish this means you will lose the Zinger and whatever is attached to it, not good. Just a small thing but cheap components used, such a shame.
"
Review 20 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great zinger,
January 13, 2012
By: drdawg
"As all always this Orvis product is top quality. Thanks"