Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Wire-Cord Zinger

Our classic fly-fishing zinger. Keep all your vital fly fishing gear and equipment close at hand. Virtually unbreakable 15" nylon-covered woven wire cord.
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
5
24 of 33(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wire-Cord Zinger
Review 1 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
handy,
September 19, 2013
By: garrbear
from MD
"I have a few of various Orvis zingers on my fishing vest and thought they would be great for ID badge at work.I decided on the steel cable due to co workers breaking them (plastic) quite frequently.It worked great for over 3 years almost 4.before internal spring broke.These things are awesome and they look better too"
Review 2 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Orvis Zinger,
August 19, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I have purchased and use both the clip-on and pin-on versions of this zinger (I prefer the clip-on version). They both are good quality products that hold nips, forceps, amadou pads or other fly fishing tools at the ready. I have not experienced any of the problems that the other reviewers have noted. Be reasonable in terms of weight when loading these zingers; I recommend a single tool per."
Review 3 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 31, 2013
By: Mambo5
"Bouhgt the zinger for a friend. He liked the fact it was "Orvis". Much better than the one he had."
Review 4 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality Zinger,
May 20, 2013
By: snobird23
from Sandy ,Utah
"Use this zinger to hold my large fly book to my fly fishing vest.
It feels strong and handles the weight of the well.
Do not need to worry about losing my fly box any more."
Review 5 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wire Cord Zinger,
April 3, 2013
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"Just bough one of these after my last one (diffferent make) broke.
It does seem more robust than my previous zingers."
Review 6 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wire Cord Zinger,
April 2, 2013
By: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
from San Clemente, CA
"I have been using Orvis Wire Cord Zingers for a long time, they are strong and durable and work well over a long period of time. unfortuneately i left my Lanyiard with zingers at a rest room on the San Juan River and i had to restock and therefore I have just re-ordered some. Re-ordering is a good recomendation."
Review 7 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality Not There,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"The cord retractor wore out really fast and doesn't retract the wire all the way. The rotating pin lock always opens, sometimes resulting in the pin opening and the zinger falling off my pack. I think a redesign is needed on these."
Review 8 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy, good price.,
August 24, 2012
By: PhantomIIRIO
from Bethlehem, PA
"I bought two of these...one for the forceps and one for the snips. Both have the pin backings. They attached securely to the vest, the snap clips open and close easily for attaching the tools, and the wire extends and retracts very smoothly and evenly...exactly what I was looking for."
Review 9 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wire Cord Zinger,
August 17, 2012
By: troutfts
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"It broken immediately."
Review 10 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wire cord zinger,
July 14, 2012
By: Philip1958
from London
"Bought two, so far no problems. Easy to use and do what I wanted of them. Think about the magnetic type though for forceps as the cord gets in the way when handling fish."
Review 11 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not What it Used to Be,
July 6, 2012
By: simslax
from Avon CT
"I have used these zingers for nippers and forceps for years. I ran into bad batch of "pin on" ones this year-- the metal locking coupling that traps the end of the pin simply popped off on one and also on its replacement. The bottom clip opened too easily on the third one and I lost my nippers coming through some brush. I always liked this product but I fear that the quality may have gone down recently."
Review 12 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
can be improved,
June 13, 2012
By: lehich
from Upstate NY
"well, maybe I'm asking too much but at $10 it should a quality product. here are the problems: the metal piece which suppose to lock needle and prevent it from popping - broke off and got lost, the wire started curling up after about a month of usage so I ended up replacing wire with 65lb powerpro (good thing you can take it a part), the other problem with wire - coating comes off the wire itself... the screw which hold everything together needs some loctite to keep it from getting loose..."
Review 13 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than other makes,
June 8, 2012
By: regt
"bought Wire-Cord Zinger
to replace another which ad broken. much better and far better value.
"
Review 14 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality lacking,
May 9, 2012
By: Tomovet
from NSW, Australia
"Purchased several of these recently. Theylook great until you try to pin them to your jacket. On first try the locking mechanism for the pin fell off
2 of these Zingers. Now I am not sure whether to use them as without the locking mechanism, they may just fall off at any time. As I night fish this means you will lose the Zinger and whatever is attached to it, not good. Just a small thing but cheap components used, such a shame.
"
Review 15 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great zinger,
January 13, 2012
By: drdawg
"As all always this Orvis product is top quality. Thanks"
Review 16 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite zinger,
September 27, 2011
By: phdezra
from New York, NY
"This is my favorite zinger. The unit house itself feels solid, and the zinger wire works like a charm. Can hold nippers to forceps easily. Attaches quickly to vest, shirt, etc. A+"
Review 17 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
YES and YES,
July 15, 2011
By: TimMcFly
"Yes I would recommend this and yes it's works great (of course...it's got the Orvis name / Stamp of approval on it!)"
Review 18 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 30, 2011
By: Rockstar
"Purchased several of these that were "pin-ons" back about 12 years ago, and the quality was not as good as the latest ones that I just received. It looks like the cord is heaver, but the same bad snap is still there. One of the older ones the snap broke in two pieces with a loss of a tool. The cable broke on one that was hardly ever used. Hope the new ones prove to be better."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Broke in 2 days,
April 27, 2011
By: Askeaton
from Southern Tier, NY
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I used this pin on zinger for 2 days on New York rivers and it broke. The clasp just fell off. I did not even notice that it was just hanging on my vest. The only positive is that my hemostat did not fall in the Otsego River. The water has been high and I only spent a total of 7 hours fishing when it broke. I am very disappointed with the quality of this product. If this fell apart so quickly I am afraid to make any other purchases from Orvis."
Review 20 for Wire-Cord Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Spotty quality zinger,
April 8, 2011
By: tshall
from Missouri
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Orvis does so much so well that it can be puzzling when the small things don't work as they should. This zinger fell apart within just a few trips...completely unravelled and the case opened up.The only problem is, it held my clippers, one of the few absolutely indispensable tools you use all the time you're on the water. I always carry back-up clippers, but not usually a back-up zinger. A disappointment."