Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

African Print Shirt

One of summer's coolest fabrics, pure cotton Raj madras, creates a distinctively handsome men's short-sleeved shirt. An Orvis-exclusive African-themed block print in muted colors lends a casual summertime feel to our spread-collar, single-pocket men's shirt. Back box pleat. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
35 of 38(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for African Print Shirt
Review 1 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Real Winner,
April 14, 2014
By: Gene316
from Sarasota, FL
"The African print shirt was all that I expected. The distinctively
"different" pattern is a real attention getter and gets frequent compliments. I really like the summertime cotton coolness of the shirt which will make it a real favorite for the months ahead. Also, it goes with a variety of colored shorts.
"
Review 2 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ONE COLORFUL SHIRT,
April 4, 2014
By: BROOKWOODONE
from HOUSTON,TX
"MATERIAL NOT HEAVY BUT LIGHT AND COOL.
STILL HAS BODY AND FITS AND LOOKS BEAUTIFUL.
"
Review 3 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fullfilled expectations,
December 21, 2013
By: Bullet37
from Toronto Canada
"I purchased this African Print S/S
on the day Mandela died as a memento. I am visiting South Africa next September and will wear it with pride.
Thank you for excellent service!"
Review 4 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Confident shopping,
November 27, 2013
By: Wubadubdub
from Spain
"Product is as described and excellent quality.
I have bought these shirts for my husband in the past and they wash and wear exceedingly well. Always confident when buying from Orvis from the store and now that we live abroad I am delighted at the customer service when buying on line.
"
Review 5 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely shirt,
August 20, 2013
By: Brandyb
from London, UK
"This is a high-quality, beautiful shift (I got the black version) that made an excellent 60th birthday present for a relative. He wore it to his party and it was much admired! What's more, it can be machine washed so it is practical as well. Very pleased with this purchase - as was the recipient."
Review 6 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pretty shirt,
August 1, 2013
By: putter
from Glen Ellyn, Ill
"My wife insisted I buy this shirt because it is a piece of art and I need it for our next cruise"
Review 7 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 30, 2013
By: ntatemoholo
from Leeds
"I have had three of these shirts.
For: unique designs, quality construction, comfortable cut.
Against: colours fade with washing and sun; my oldest has barely a ghost of the original print.
However, I shall still buy another.
"
Review 8 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uniquely attractive,
July 22, 2013
By: Dennison
from North Yorkshire
"My friend saw this in the London store and she insisted I buy it. The sizes are a little generous by British standards but the slightly loose fit means it's cool in the heat and the cut means it hangs well. The bold print and colours stand out without trying too hard. The photo here doesn't do it justice."
Review 9 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like the shirt,
June 3, 2013
By: jettex
from Denver, CO
"Good quality, good price and even my wife likes it on me."
Review 10 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, stylish shirt,
May 16, 2013
By: 271Saxman
from Iowa
"Comfortable fit. Nicely tailored. Unique pattern. It's sure to become an "old favorite"."
Review 11 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 13, 2013
By: kraktar
"comfortable, different ant fairly unique, as always."
Review 12 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
watch the sizes,
August 13, 2012
By: PhDig
"I'm 5'10, 180 lbs, 42" chest - and large swallowed me. Had it replaced with medium, chest and shoulders ok, but neck tight. Since I don't plan to button the collar, I kept it. It is a beautiful and high quality shirt, but the sizes are off."
Review 13 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great shirt but...,
July 15, 2012
By: NCaroliner
"I got LOTS of compliments on this shirt. The problem is that I found the color runs with perspiration. This happened with my first version of this shirt. The smeared colors would not wash out, and the Orvis folks cheerfully replaced it. I was happy to try again, figuring the first shirt might have been a fluke. I've just returned from a business trip to Florence where the weather was warm, and once again I have a smeared swath down the back of the shirt. I'm sure customer service will be glad to replace, but I won't go for a third."
Review 14 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
July 2, 2012
By: dodiedog
from Saskatchewan, Canada
"This is a beautiful shirt - the only problem is that it runs a bit large.
Had to return for a size smaller.
"
Review 15 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Favourite shirt BUT,
June 27, 2012
By: Anonymous
"This is my favourite shirt but it lost its colour after washing ,we did follow laundering instructions.Also my other African print shirt went from black to brown.They still look good but this should not happen to Orvis shirts.Anyone else had the same problem?,one other reviewer did."
Review 16 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly pleased,
June 8, 2012
By: vcmjr
from Washington, DC
"Very nice, comfortable shirt for warm weather. My normal size is roomy enough to wear out or tucked in. Shirt seems well-made, and the fabric is not too light. I believe I will wear this shirt happily for many years."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Received positive attention,
May 18, 2012
By: DLDev
from WA
"The shirt was noticed, comfortable, and looked good for evening casual after traveling all day."
Review 18 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 30, 2012
By: Redhatlady
"Great design. Fit very well.
Good summer weight shirt.
"
Review 19 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
April 19, 2012
By: BearHunter
from Arkansas
"Simple pattern (in "black"), but skillfully executed. Great fit, and it came out of the dryer ready to wear right away. Good with khakis or shorts."
Review 20 for African Print Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing,
April 10, 2012
By: Qatar
"I bought this striking shirt for my partner and he loved it. However, it lost its colour in the wash and is now brown instead of black, despite laundering at 30 degrees."