Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Down Shirt

Stave off the cold without the bulk. Men's goose down jacket insulated with 80/20 goose down to keep you warm, this shirt sports a quilted, polyester fabric for a classic, vintage look. Plus, it sheds moisture to help keep you dry. A zipper closure with snap-front storm flaps keeps out the wind. Zip chest pocket stores wallet or keys. Two handwarmer pockets. Shirttail hem style. Shirt collar. Packs down into internal pocket. In pine. 100% polyester. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48).
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Down Shirt
Review 1 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hunting attire,
June 7, 2013
By: unboomer
from biddeford maine
"Hope to stay warm while duck hunting. This look like it will work great"
Review 2 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Down Side to this Shirt,
April 5, 2013
By: RKP444
from Lovells, Michigan
"I have an earlier model of this shirt and really like it so I got the newer version. Even bettger. larger pockets, longer tail. The shirts work as a jacket or can be used as a layer. Last winter the down jacket under a waxed cotton parka shell was very comfortable, and all I needed for uip north michigan."
Review 3 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You Will Use It Often!,
March 23, 2013
By: 1Chief
from Mississippi
"This is a handy item for early morning walks down the driveway to get the paper. It is light and not bulky making it perfect to layer under other garments, such as rain gear, on cold rainy days. It has deep warm pockets, including a large one inside."
Review 4 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
too big in the belly,
February 13, 2013
By: birddog8
from Billings, MT
"I returned this item. It was perfectly sized (L) in the arms and shoulders but was too generous (XL to XXL) in the belly. It looked and felt like it would be durable."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding this product. The satisfaction of our customers and the quality of our products are two things we hold in great importance. Based on the comments regarding a potential sizing issue for the Goose Down Shirt, our quality team reviewed our inventory of this product and confirmed that each item measured within our published sizing specifications. We are sorry to hear that the fit wasn't as expected, but Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item. As always, all of our products have a 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 5 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great midseason coat,
September 30, 2012
By: Odeer
from Surrey, UK
"I have worn this shirt as a lightweight wind stopper over my suit in town and as an intermediate layer when out on a high seat and it is brilliant in both situations."
Review 6 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The right weight,
August 7, 2012
By: Gus2818
from Stockport, England.
"Not a jacket or a shirt, this garment fills its own niche and does it well. A sleeveless version would be great. How about it Orvis?"
Review 7 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy and warm,
February 11, 2011
By: Cazador
from Slidell , LA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought one over 6 yrs ago . Worn under camo wool jacket while hunting for deer in Idaho and under Barbour jacket shell in Alaska during cruise trip . Warm and comfortable , easy to pack . Highly recommend it . Get 2 , your wife will take it away !"
Review 8 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Idea!,
February 5, 2011
By: Judson
from Jacksonville, FL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This down shirt is perfect for trips requiring air travel, when a jacket might be needed at destination, but you don't want to tote one enroute. Packs easily in itself and then in a suitcase. Also, it's not too tight in the upper arms as many down jackets are."
Review 9 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 8, 2010
By: haventhadonein20years
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very comfortable, great cut. One drawback is how thin the shell is. As expected it does not have rip-stop."
Review 10 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
October 12, 2009
By: Peterm
"This shirt is great. It's cut on the large size so I use it as a coat. Very comfortable to wear with nice deep pockets. I would like to see this in some other colours maybe a Black or Blue."
Review 11 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
functional to the max,
June 6, 2009
By: vernon
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is the most used jacket in my closet in both fall and spring. So light, you forget you're wearing it, and yet warm enough to take off that early morning chill. The price is reasonable, the functionality is outstanding. In colder weather, it layers under other slightly over-sized coats."
Review 12 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought one 16 years ago...,
December 15, 2008
By: SusieSharp
from Cleveland, Ohio
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"for my dad who was cold inside the house. He hated sweaters. I have worn it since he passed away in 99. Packs into its own pocket for travel and makes a good travel pillow to boot - excellent for winter travel to FL! Washable, durable - instant warmth that breaths. While perfect for indoors, it's great for fall or spring. Breathable warmth, never too hot. Now when are they coming out with matching pants???"
Review 13 for Down Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
20 years later,
January 27, 2008
By: WISHOPPER
"I bought one of these almost 20 years ago for my husband to wear on car trips. He still wears it on trips and at home. I looked on line to see if I could replace it should the need arise. Happy to see you still carry the insulated shirt and I may be ordering one in the next few years. Still looks good, launders well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Down Shirt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1