Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Fly-Tying Work Center

Organize your work surface and make your tying time more productive. Stained red oak base and arms with a laminate, 12" x 15" work surface that makes spotting materials and cleaning easier. Ten holes on the arm for tools. Cement jar hole and seven pegs for thread, wire, etc. C-clamp adjusts for left- or right-hand tiers. Card holder for tying recipes. Magnetic strip for flies and hooks. Rubber feet protect work surfaces. 12" x 21". Made in USA. Fly tying vise and materials not included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fly-Tying Work Center
Review 1 for Fly-Tying Work Center
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great additon to the fyl-tying kit,
February 26, 2014
By: cvcc
from Lynchburg, VA
"What a great workstation for fly tying. This is the perfect 'add on' to the fly-tying kit. Both the kit and station provide many happy, creative hours of quiet focus."
Review 2 for Fly-Tying Work Center
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever!,
January 5, 2014
By: ALflyfish1
from Stoughton MA
"I bought this for my husband for Christmas because he is always tying flies and makes a mess with the fly tying material. It would get all over the rug and he would have to vacuum it up after tying a fly. With the fly tying work center the material is contained on the center and there is less mess. My husband is an an avid fly fisherman it likes it is because it organizes all of his fly tying material and tools and its portable too! Great purchase!"
Review 3 for Fly-Tying Work Center
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cheap quality,
May 1, 2013
By: plammens
from Ontario, Canada
"I purchased this as a gift - good thing I opened it before I gave it to him - the corners were all smashed in and it was just a thin piece of particle board with cheap wooden pegs. Sent it back and couldn't give it as a gift. My boyfriend loves your products but this was my first purchase and was not impressed. Hopefully my next one will be better."
Review 4 for Fly-Tying Work Center
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Getting started,
March 2, 2013
By: DrRich
from Los Angeles, CA
"I'm just getting started in fly tying, so I need somed organization. This seems like a good start. It's well made, has plenty of room without being overwhelming and my experienced friends recommend it. As with all my Orvis products, from waders to boots, it's well thought out and should last."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fly-Tying Work Center
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great mobile workstation,
December 29, 2012
By: Ellsch
"This product is great for organizing materials and keeping things neat. I like that I can move everything in the middle of a fly and start again with everything intact. This was a great purchase and will get a lot of use."
Review 6 for Fly-Tying Work Center
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect set up!,
July 30, 2012
By: pswens
"The fly tying work center is a great investment if you don't want to designate one spot for tying. You can set this thing up anywhere and get to tying flies!"
Review 7 for Fly-Tying Work Center
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent concept,
April 14, 2012
By: msds
from Laconia, NH
"I bought the beginner fly kit along with this work center. It kept everything nicely organized. I could stop in the middle, move the whole set to another location without any hassle. My wife is happy that my mess doesn't spread. After I used mine for a few months, I bought another one for my son. Very happy with the purchase."
Review 8 for Fly-Tying Work Center
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Little Fly Tying Organizer,
January 3, 2012
By: makrebs
from Dover, NH
"I appreciate the size and the small storage areas for my tools and spools. I also use the little compartments for hooks and miscellaneous parts. A great little fly bench that I can move to other areas to work in."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fly-Tying Work Center
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb fly tying organizer,
September 27, 2011
By: phdezra
from New York, NY
"I got this a little while ago as I was just getting into fly tying; this Orvis organizer is indeed excellent.
The wood construction is solid and feels like it will last for half a century or more. The trays off to the side hold hooks, beads, eyes, finished flies, loose chenille... whatever you put there. I use those 'trays' for reserve spots while I'm working on a dozen or so flies of the same pattern
The white surface area is clean and simple. I've seen other fly tying organizers, but oddly enough none have a simple clean layout like this.
The tool slots are placed efficiently ensuring smooth tying speed and organization. Plus, the tapered entrances on smaller holes help in putting tools away. Multiple thread storage spools are nice as well.
The little 'cardholder' is handy as well since I have some cards and pages I printed out with pictures of flies or the basic recipe needed, so it's nice to have it right in front of you.
All in all, A+!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Fly-Tying Work Center
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1