Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise

A proven design for many years, and one that professional and amateur tiers alike rely upon, the HMH Spartan, in a review on flyfisherman.com, was “highly recommended” as a tremendous deal in a traditional, versatile vise. This adjustable fly-tying vise is a real workhorse made to last, the vise features draw collet jaws of chrome-moly tool steel, investment cast, precision machined, hand finished, and then hardened. The Orvis edition features a nickel-plated cam lever and green base. C-clamp version opens to a 2" gap. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.955 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Review 1 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best around,
March 4, 2014
By: fishingduck
from Eugene, Oregon
"Not my first vise but my last. Love the low profile, not a bunch of stuff to get in the way. Holds all sizes of hooks firm, easy to adjust tension and solid base to work from. One small complaint is the desktop base is a little short for my taste but I'm a pretty big guy."
Review 2 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise.........,
March 2, 2014
By: THE49ER
from Traverse City, MI
"This vise lives up to all the reviews that I read prior to purchasing.
They said quality for this mid priced tying vise through-out, and this vise lives up to that expectation.
"
Review 3 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fly Tying Vice,
February 24, 2014
By: HowieFlyfisher
from Sydney, Australia
"My first venture into a fly tying vice !
As a beginner, and after many global reviews and research, I wanted a simple, quaility, finely machined, aesthetically pleasing pedestal vice... whilst not requiring a mortgage broker at the same time !!
The HMH fits that bill. I'm still learning, but first attempts using the Spartan have been a dream. No issues with weight, grip, tension or slippage ... just issues with beginner's patience !! As I get better, I will invest in the OMNI Micro jaws ... purely for increased visibility around smaller hook sizes (20+)
I'm obviously not an expert, but I'd recommend this to any fly fishing mates wanting to venture into fly tying."
Review 4 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first vise,
February 10, 2014
By: avidangler21
from Westchester County, NY
"I bought this vise from Orvis after taking their FlyTying101 course. From my first tie I knew I was hooked, and that this was something I would pursue for the rest of my life. After reviewing vises online for about a week, I decided to purchase the HMH Spartan (pedestal). The vise is very well built from precise machined parts. Very solid and effortless action. The rotation, once tightened, is stable, and smooth. I can't image ever having to buy another vise."
Review 5 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise,
February 10, 2014
By: diversion1
from Bradenton, FL
"I have tied my first set of salt water flies and found this to be a wonderful travel vise. Easy to use and very effective. Better than a more expensive model I have been using."
Review 6 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent vise,
January 2, 2014
By: WombatFly47
from Charlotte, NC
"Impeccable fit and finish on this precision crafted vise. Not only does it perform it's required function of securely holding a range of hook sizes, but it's handsome looks adds to the tying experience!"
Review 7 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
December 26, 2013
By: Karess
from prince george canada
"I bought this for my hubby for Christmas after doing as much research as possible. He loves it! He's one for quality and for the price he said it was a good deal. He stated that it is very smooth."
Review 8 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Vise,
September 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"This no-frills vise is probably the best vise out there for the money. Bombproof construction, easy adjustability, smooth rotation, the fine-tuned jaws holds the hook uniformly, and doesn't have a clunky design so you don't have to maneuver around added "stuff" on the vise. Another smart feature is on the gold ring that controls the tension of the rotary function: there is a micro screw that locks the ring that will keep the rotary function constant to your preference. The vise comes with the "omni" jaws, which are designed for hooks 2/0 - 20. I tie many saltwater, bass, and trout patterns with these jaws and they do a fantastic job. HMH also sells their "micro" jaws for hooks 18-31 and "magnum" jaws for 6/0-10, all of which are very reasonably priced compared to most other vise manufacturers, and the jaws are removed and installed easily just by unscrewing them."
Review 9 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise,
March 6, 2013
By: xe2cift
from Altmar, NY
"It was everything I expected ! Nicely machined, smooth operating and really like the green finish. Who ever designed it knew what they were doing. Can't beat the quality !"
Review 10 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Vise,
February 23, 2013
By: ShoreWalker
from Maryland
"While I'm a novice fly tier, I found this vise to be of high quality and very pleasant to work with. It does everything I need it to. Hook adjustment is fast and easy; it really holds well. Rotation is smooth."
Review 11 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Built to last, built with pride,
February 20, 2013
By: bamboo
from Virginia
"I love this vise so much that when I had the opportunity to pick up a second one used for a great price - I jumped at it. On one hand I would say it is no frills simplicity, but the components and machining are the absolute best. It rotates smoothly, the jaws hold onto the hook like a pitbull on a t-bone steak. They open and close in a silky smooth manner and with three different accessory jaws to choose from you can tie the tiniest of flies down to size 32 (I have done it) right up to the largest bass bugs and saltwater flies. I am a vise junkie, but these midge jaws are hands down the best small jaws I have ever used out of dozens of other brands I have tried.
There are a lot of good vises out there, but this one is my vise of choice. This is is also the Goldilocks size. Not too big, not too small. It is the perfect travel vise while still being large enough to be user friendly."
Review 12 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good Vice,
April 23, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"I like the way Orvis has made this there own it looks good with the green base, it is very easy to use and holds the hook very tight , I should think this will last a life time"
Review 13 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise,
January 6, 2012
By: Mike2011
from Panama City, FL
"I received this vise as a Christmas gift and I love it. I have tied as small as size 20 up to spinning hair on size 2 with no problem. The jaws grip tight and the base is stable. Great vise."
Review 14 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gone Fishing,
January 4, 2012
By: OldColonel
from Maryland
"The HMH Spartan Vise is a superior quality tool. It is reminiscent of the "Binford" grade Kitchenaid appliances folks buy these days, and the old heavy steel Rollfast and Schwinn bikes that harken back to the days when things were actually built to last. In other words, your grandson or grandaughter will have this to enjoy many years from now - its that well built.
The base is quite heavy with cork pads underneath that serve to prevent table scratches while also keeping the vise from sliding on the table. The vertical post fits amazingly snug, with absolutely zero lateral play, yet rotates easily to a desirable angle and then holds fast thanks to the knurled brass knob.
Adjustability and position retention are superb. All parts are of exceptional quality with a nice polished finish. The base and clamp brackets are powdercoated "Orvis" green.
The box it arrived in looked a bit worn from handling, but otherwise what was inside turned out to be a real gem!
This is not a toy. Its the real deal. I can think of a thousand uses from tying flies to fine detail craftwork on models. Enjoy!"
Review 15 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vise,
June 15, 2011
By: Hammer6
"Very nice and simple vise with sturdy construction and quility workmanship. I tie mostly big flies and the jaws hold my hooks without slipping or moving. So many other vises have too many bells and whistles. This vise does just what a vise is suppose to do - hold the hook secure without moving with plenty of room to work."
Review 16 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Cam-Lever Vise,
July 4, 2010
By: Michael1
from Germany
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Many people of the fly fishing community know that HMH is around since 1979 when Bill Hunter introduced a new standard of workmanship in making a tying tool. Until today HMH offers outstanding quality in a cam operated vise. And here the only really weakness lies in: you have to practice to make it work properly: Once you get the hang out of how to adjust the cam (too much force overpowers; too little and the hook slips out) this vise is a perfect tool. I use all 3 jaws available and this little and handsome vise outperforms many of the other big names in respect of finger clearance, workmanship with narrower tolerances, good quality control of the final product and better materials used here. I bought this vise when it came out at ORVIS 5 years ago and I like the appearance of my earlier version better (nicer C-clamp and no painted chassis to artificially separate the Spartan from the Standard chassis). The nickel-plated cam of the ORVIS edition looks very stylish as well. Spartan and Standard differ little and hook-holding power is identical on both models. Anyway, the HMH Spartan is not only a perfect vise for tying out of home. For small flies the micro jaw is the best available. And the price to performance ratio of this handsome vise is very good as well."
Review 17 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Vise,
January 12, 2010
By: Quint
from NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I received this vise as a present from my wife. I wanted/needed an upgrade from my old kit vise. I also needed a pedestal base as I do not have any suitable area to clamp a vise, and my tying station moves from room to room as dictated by other "more important," family activities.
Well she surprised me with this vise, and went on her own to the Orvis store wher they advised her to buy me this vise after she explained that I fish for anything that swims whenever I have the time. The Orvis staff steered her in the right direction. This vise comes stock with a very solid base and solid parts. It can easily handle flies up to 3/0 and down to 20. The rotary feature is great too.
The great thing about this vise is not it's beautiful appearance, great brand name, status symbol or bells and whistles. It is a fly tying vise, a means to an end, a perfect tool that allows you to tie whatever fly you need to tie to catch whatever fish you are targeting. The company that manufactures this vise, HMH vise, stands behind this product one hundred percent and it is made in the USA. HMH vise also sells other jawas if you are dedicated to micro or macro flies. They also sell a set of jaws that is ONLY for tying tube style flies.
The bottom line is that the Orvis staff hit a home run when they advised my wife to buy me this vise. And the HMH Vise makes you forget there is a vise attached to your hook while you are tying, so you can concentrate on what your tying."
Review 18 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hmh sparton vice,
July 21, 2009
By: pikerboy
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"an excellent vice, i would recomend it to anyone, easy features, great finish. only propblems i have is getting hold of spare jaws -magnum and micro, no one seems to stock them, and i bought the vice from orvis, hoping to purchase the spare jaws at a later date, but to no avail, i was told they dont stock them, so where do i go from here"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best deal ever in flytying,
December 31, 2008
By: flyworks
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I must say that this vice is without a doubt the finest vice I have ever used. You can see the precision machining and detailed workmanship when you take it out of the box. You will appreciate the smoothness of the lever when you install and grip the hook in the tool steel jaws. I also like the fact that you can change the jaws without any tools whatsoever and in just seconds.This vice is built to last a lifetime . I would recommend this vice for anyone ."
Review 20 for Orvis Edition HMH Spartan Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple, elegant, functional,
October 11, 2007
By: Hugo
from Boston, Ma
"The title of this review says it all. The HMH Spartan vise has always appealed to me for its great machined looks. The feel of the vise reflects those looks. It is sturdy and with no miscellaneous levers or screws to get in the way. It is as simple to operate as possible, yet provides a steady, adjustable rotating capability. I have been extremely pleased with this vise. From the first fly I tied with it, my interest and enthusiasm for tying my own flies has been renewed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.