Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Keough Hen Necks

Often very hard to find, these quality hen necks are most useful for tying tiny nymphs and soft hackles, spinner wings, upright dry-fly wings, and burnt wings. Fly tying hackle feathers in brown, ginger, black, medium dun, white. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Keough Hen Necks
Review 1 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Soft Hackle Hen Neck; Good Value,
December 2, 2014
By: FlyFisherMann
from Midwest City, OK
"I wanted to try this for the Charlie Craven soft hackle emerger pattern after getting his book: Charlie's Fly Box. The color is good and it will tie a lot of size 16 flies and even some smaller flies. The alternative is a $21.00 neck, so try this out.
Thanks- Ken"
Review 2 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was OK,
June 11, 2014
By: NYCxJACK
"Expected more hackle on there for size 14-18 hooks. Will not pay for Dr. Whiting products, too much money. The search continues."
Review 3 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for dry's,
March 25, 2014
By: wtforward
from northern,Il
"These necks are great for dry fly wings.I can only use the bottom inch and 1/2 of the neck but that still accounts for alot of fly's.
I just wish they would offer them in grizzly.
Make that a good grizzly.
"
Review 4 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
February 17, 2014
By: tobey73
from Maine
"I got this to use primary for small dry fly wings. the quality is good and seems to be plenty of usable material."
Review 5 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great colors,
February 10, 2014
By: fredfish
from Branson, MO
"These feathers add new color options to my soft hackles. It always seems that if your fly is a little bit different from the others, that fish pay more attention. In any case, they make good looking flies that catch fish."
Review 6 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good practical product,
September 22, 2012
By: Andy51
from East Yorkshire
"I've just bought one from the delightful Pickering, UK Orvis shop and was surprised by the reasonable cost and quality of the neck. Whiting hen necks are superb but three times the cost and when you don't need that level of quality and just want a good feather for everyday tying then these fit the purpose perfectly."
Review 7 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what i was looking for,
April 7, 2012
By: GoneFishingToo
from PA
"For some reason brown hen hackle is hard to find. This was exactly what I was looking for and my local Orvis store (Downingtown, PA) had it shipped directly to my home."
Review 8 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good dry wings,
August 16, 2011
By: wtforward
from northern,Il
"Ordered these in ginger, dun and several in white so I could dye some to my own version's of dun, or another color I wanted to try just for grin's.
They make GREAT dry wing's that hold up very well.
Also, I've had very little waste on the neck's I've gotten.
"
Review 9 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Happy,
June 3, 2011
By: TroutKid
"I'm only a teenager, so my money supply for fly fishing is limited. I wanted to start tying soft hackle wet flies for the brook brout in Virginia, but didn't think I could afford a saddle or body. So when I saw this, I snatched it up. I was expecting it to be crummy, but the flies turned out pretty nice, although I havn't gotten to see how the fish like them yet. These hackles are very easy to use, and make very quick flies. If you're on a budget, the price is hard to beat."
Review 10 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice little necks,
May 31, 2011
By: culhanetyl
"though they may not be as large as some other hen necks that i have they have great size spectrum and make for some great wet flies i will buy more when i run out wish they had grizzly but you cannot have everything"
Review 11 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good, but flawed,
February 3, 2010
By: HuckFinn
from CT
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought these in three colors; brown, grey, and olive. They have a great shape and make Matukas that trout literally leap out of the water to catch; like the videos you see of great whites attacking seals. They also spin very well to make soft hackles.
I did, however, forget to put the brown neck back in the bag for a week. When I went to put it away the whole thing had started to disintegrate. Feathers would fall off (in small pieces, not whole) in mass quantities. I have left out many other types of necks and saddles without this happening, so I know it's this product and not the act itself.
So, don't leave them out and this is a great product to buy! I do recommend it, just don't be careless like me.
"
Review 12 for Keough Hen Necks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st time buyer of a hen cape I will get more,
November 21, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from I LIVE IN FLORIDA RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I HAD KNOW IDEA HOW MANY USES A HEN CAPE HAS. I HAVE BOUGHT PACKAGES OF HEN FEATHERS OF VARIOUS TYPES BUT THOSE ARE SO MUCH DIFFERENT THAN GETTING THE ENTIRE CAPE.AND LIKE I SAID THE USES FOR ONE IS LIMITLESS I HAVE MADE SOME REALLY NICE MATUKAS WITH THIS CAPE WHICH I HAD NEVER THOUGHT OF DOING BEFORE AND IM SURE I WILL THINKOF A DOZEN MORE USES FOR THEM,AND THE NICE THING IS YOU GET A LEFT AND RIGHT SIDE (MATCHING FEATHERS) VS. GETTING PACKAGES OR STRUNG HEN HACKLE AND YOU DEFINATELY CANT BEAT THE PRICE FOR SUCH A NICE FULL CAPE WITH NICE EVENLY SIZED FEATHERS,100'S IF NOT 1000'S OF USES WITH THESE TYPE OF CAPES, AS I SAID IT IS MY FIRST ONE AND I WILL BE GETTING SEVERAL MORE IN DIFFERENT COLORS, I HAVE NUMEROUS IDEAS FOR FLIES IN THE DIFFERENT COLORS OFFERED AND I AM A DIEHARD WHITING ONLY HACKLE,HOWEVER MY WIFE MISTAKELY BOUGHT ME A MASTER TIERS GRADE CAPE BY KEOUGH AND I WAS VERY IMPRESSED SO NOW I AM A WHITING AND KEOUGH HACKLE GUY,YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH EITHER COMPANY AND LUCKY FOR ME AND THOUSANDS OF OTHERS ORVIS BRINGS YOU THE BEST OF BOTH COMPANIES IN ONE PLACE FOR ORDERING THE BEST FROM THE BEST."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Keough Hen Necks
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1