Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Perfect Drift Float Indicators

Yarn strike indicators track easier and float higher and longer, so you sense more strikes. Bright colors stand out. 12 indicators per pack. Assorted sizes. Fluorescent assortment. Natural assortment (not shown). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Review 1 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drift float indicators,
June 17, 2014
By: Quimby
from South Dakota
"Good stuff. I like them better than the "Thing a am bobbers" as they don't fowl in my back cast."
Review 2 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use, suspend nymphs and wet flies....,
January 7, 2014
By: KLCE
"Great indicators, easy to use, very sensitive. Move up and down you leader as needed depending on depth. Easy to remove and reuse. The come in several sizes depending on nymph or wet fly weight you are using. I highly recommend this product."
Review 3 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,
August 26, 2013
By: gretahal
"Excellent indicators, don't move or change position"
Review 4 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly Perfect Indicators,
August 17, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"As other reviewers have noted, these yarn indicators are five star products. These are easy to attach using a loop knot through the rubber ring. They stay in place, yet are easy to adjust, and they will not damage leaders. Most importantly they float high, are easy to see and detect the slightest of strikes. Tied directly to the end of a leader, they also simulate a fly for practice casting. Well done Orvis."
Review 5 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Little Package,
July 11, 2013
By: MechEngGuy
from Upper Manistee, MI
"Came across these little babies while looking for strike indicators. Nice variety and exactly what I was looking for! Different sizes and colors so you can choose what will best work for a given situation. They also work great as practice flies!"
Review 6 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work Well,
June 6, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"I like this type of float indicator - floats well and puts less of a crimp in the leader than other indicators. And they are easy to adjust.
I use the fluorescent colors in rough water as it's easier for me to see.
One other thing. As another reviewer noted, these work great for lawn casting."
Review 7 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strike Indicators,
February 6, 2013
By: LtCol
from Midwest
"I retired in June of 2013, for my retirement trip I took 3 of my eldest Grandsons to West Virginia for a trout fishing trip. My wife stayed at home. It surpised me she did stay home as she has always gone when our children and Grandchildren fished strolling by the stream or reading a book streamside as we fished. In December 2012 and after a return fly fishing trip to Yellowstonw she ask me to teach her to fly fish. I was delighted. So these strike indicators are part of her first fly fishing trip as we will return to fish in West Virginia this May. They are perfect for what I had in mind. I use strike putty these will hopefully suceed when we are using nymphs and streamers. I have always been well satisified with the products I have received from Orvis."
Review 8 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best indicators,
December 31, 2012
By: BBsq
from Brewster NY
"I don't know why I never tried these before. They are great and will be in my vest from now on."
Review 9 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use Strike Indicators,
December 28, 2012
By: JerryC
from Chalfont PA
"I have used these types of Indicators in the past and the colors will be easy to spot on the water"
Review 10 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best-ever strike indicators,
November 26, 2012
By: CGA96
from Providence, RI
"I have tried using a variety of strike indicators, and these light weight indicators are by far my favorite. They float well, are sensitive to a strike, are easy put on and take off, and can be easily adjusted on the leader. Get these!"
Review 11 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
September 18, 2012
By: jlsflafido
from Merritt Island, FL
"These are just perfect for casting nymphs. They are highly visible and stay afloat."
Review 12 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
February 20, 2012
By: FishPA
"These indicators are highly visible, float well, and can be easily rigged and adjusted. Good assortment of sizes, and the larger ones can be trimmed down if desired."
Review 13 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice variety,
January 3, 2012
By: Arkauer
from Auburn Hills, MI
"Worked well on the river like almost everything Orvis sells. I purchased the natural colors with a nice variety of colors. (Olive, white, black/white, brown, gray) highly visible with a subtle presentation."
Review 14 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good indicators and for practice casting too!,
September 27, 2011
By: phdezra
from New York, NY
"I like these indicators--simple and functional. Prefer the small ones (you can always trim the larger.)
Note that if you need to practice your casting on the lawn (a good thing to do from time-to-time while away from the distraction of the river or stream), these are excellent for tying on at end of leader instead of a fly with a hook. You can easily see where your leader/cast is headed and enables you to identify and correct errors."
Review 15 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well,
November 21, 2009
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I use the natural color of these - which I prefer on calm water. The natural colors look more like a leaf on the water, and seem to spook the fish less. Only downside is that the hook of the fly will occassionally snag in the material."
Review 16 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another use,
September 14, 2008
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
"Everything the first reviewer says is true, smaller sizes are best and less likely to go astray. Another use is as a fly when practising on land, or when teaching someone how to cast. You no longer have to worry about the hook catching on the grass or the pavement. Give it a try!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great strike indicators,
November 5, 2007
By: DeShane
from Grand Rapids, MI.
"Though not as easy to use as a twist on indicator, these work better thatn any other indicator I have ever used. With float applicant they ride high and true with the current. They are easy to see but somewhat cumbersome to cast. Stick with the smaller sizes in slower current."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Perfect Drift Float Indicators
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2