Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves

Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves are made of legendary English Pittards® leather, with a hexagonal notch pattern cut into the palm for a secure grip. Unlined for a nearly bare-handed "feel" and sureness of grip to boost your confidence and scores. Leather shooting gloves in black. Imported.Sizes: S(8½), M(8½-9), L(9-9½), XL(9½-10).
Average Customer Rating:
4.146 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
3
32 of 41(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Review 1 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A disappointing purchase,
December 6, 2014
By: JimPreisig
from Kansas City
"I love Orvis stuff, as the quality is stellar and the guarantee superb.
These gloves simply don’t measure up to the Orvis standard.
Although the leather palms have a nice grip pattern, the quality of the leather is far from what I expected. The leather is way too stiff for a quality shooting glove, lacking the supple feel of a good glove, and certainly not worth the price.
I have not had the time to return them yet, but I know that Orvis will handle the return and these comments well; which is why I will continue to shop Orvis first."
Review 2 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted.,
November 26, 2014
By: Mikie2015
"After 10 years my BA gloves finally wore out and I was looking for something new.
These gloves fill the bill. Good fit, good look and good function. Hoping they last."
Review 3 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Best-Sporting Clay Gloves,
July 15, 2014
By: Jakeca99
"Definitely not the Best Clay Sporting Gloves. The gloves are well made but when your hands sweat the black leather dye transfers to your skin leaving your hands looking like you have been handling charcoal."
Review 4 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice gloves,
May 29, 2014
By: goergo4jbgr34gv
from Montreal canada
"Good gloves I bought them after trying a friend's pair. I only was dismayed that they were Chinese made and quite expensive."
Review 5 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Gloves,
May 28, 2014
By: CLManno
from Chicago
"I gave the gloves as a gift. He tried them out already and said they made all the difference."
Review 6 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grateful for a gift,
April 29, 2014
By: westieman
from millwood, VA
"I was given these gloves as a gift for a favor. Wow ! It was a small favor for a great pair of gloves. I've owned them for 10 years and still no holes or ripped seams. The little "dits" are finally wearing off but I've shot many thousand rounds with these gloves. They're very thin, offer a firm grip, have good trigger feel and protect my hand from a hot barrel. I'd buy them again."
Review 7 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Gloves - Best I Have Ever Worn,
April 8, 2014
By: FlyFshrOfCT
from Norwalk, CT
"I have purchased these same gloves at least four times over the last 20 years and they are my main glove of choise. I don't use them for clays or shooting but for everyday use, driving, a night out, warmth, you name it. They are snug, fashionable and the pebbled palm is great for gripping all sorts of objects. I can't rave enough about them. I often get compliments on them and always recommend them to t hose who ask. I will always buy and continue to buy them."
Review 8 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
no negative reviews,
January 25, 2014
By: schmokinn
"will not post negative reviews just keep returning them"
Review 9 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trusty Gear,
December 8, 2013
By: cplines
from Atlanta, Ga.
"Simple & straightforward: Earns it merits at the range as well as driving to get there; although not quite as supple as an Orvis issue of essentially the same product a few years back."
Review 10 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hand in Glove,
December 5, 2013
By: RealRafe
from Ashland MA
"The quality is back, I purchase this glove every year and give as a gift to my two sons. They both love the product. Last year the quality was poor, I'm thrilled to say the quality this year is better than ever,
Thanks
"
Review 11 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine Gloves,
September 19, 2013
By: thunderwolf
from Wausau, WI
"Very comfortable, excellent fit. Good for warm day of shooting or hunting."
Review 12 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
July 22, 2013
By: hoosierboy
from Indiana
"Nice leather and the fit is perfect for my medium hands.They also make great driving gloves too."
Review 13 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Leather Die Issue,
March 31, 2013
By: RandyMcK
"The gloves are well made and fit perfectly. However the black leather die is coming off on my hands. I have other black shooting gloves that don't have this problem. This is the second item puchased recently from Orvis that has had quality problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Glove in Hand 1,
January 21, 2013
By: Jpuck
from Maine
"This seems to be a good product, but it was not what I wanted. It was a lined/insulated pair and all I want is a pair of leather shooting gloves."
Review 15 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice gloves,
December 31, 2012
By: Shenandoah
"Gloves appear well made. I ordered the XL size. The left glove fit perfectly but the right is tight. I just think it will take a little breaking in and possibly a wet / soak and stretch session."
Review 16 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality Not There Anymore,
November 11, 2012
By: Bugsy69
from Zionsville, IN
"Guess my previous attempt at writing a review was not quite PC enough...Just received my 2nd pair of these gloves and noticed that they do not fit quite as well, and the quality of leather & workmanship just isn't there anymore. These gloves certainly are not worth the $80 investment."
Review 17 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
different,
November 1, 2012
By: astrobird
from MD
"This is the 3rd pair I have purchased.These are noticeably different now.The EX large I get is smaller (I almost sent them back but I decided to stretch them to fit.The snaps used to be black glove snaps and that is what is shown,but they have shiny cheap snaps instead,and they look out of place.Not really happy about that."
Review 18 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice but too small,
February 21, 2012
By: BigPop
from Virginia
"I really REALLY wanted a pair of these gloves. I ordered an XL even though by Orvis' own measuring instructions I should have worn a L. When they arrived, they were uncomfortably tight on the fingers and I could barely snap the wrist closure. Buy two sizes larger than you measure. They don't make a XXL so I had to send my pair back."
Review 19 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gift from my honey,
December 30, 2011
By: setterhome
from Brookfield, Ct.
"I'm a hard fit on gloves, but these sporting clays gloves were on the money for size. I normally have to return gloves at least once for a proper fit, but not these.
Went skeet shooting this week and found that the feeling and grip were wonderful. Not sure how they will perform when it's really cold, but we'll see."Try em, you'll like um."
"
Review 20 for Orvis Best-Grade Sporting Clays Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Gloves,
December 29, 2011
By: oldbars01
from "Beautiful" Bear Lake, MI
"I like the gloves: look, fit, style, and "grippiness." I would buy again only complaint they shed some dye on my hands but it rinses off easily."