Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School

Situated in Pennsylvania's Laurel Highlands, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort's Orvis Fly Fishing School has everything the beginner and experienced angler desires. Part of Nemacolin's Field Club (which also features a 140-acre Shooting Academy, Archery, and seasonal guided hunts), the Orvis Fly Fishing School has easy access to the state's best fly fishing—the Youghiogheny River, Beaver Creek, and Meadow Run. The expert instructors at Nemacolin's fly fishing school will help you master everything from setting up the rod, to fly selection and knots, to how to safely release your catch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly-fishing Anniversary,
July 7, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Allentown, PA
"Booked the fly-fishing class at Nemacolin as a 30th anniversary present. My wife has never fly fished and I have fished and tied on and off (mostly off) for about 40 years. We both had a tremendous time and took away a great deal from the class. Mike and Jared are the best, entertaining educators who put you immediately at ease and offer plenty of individual instruction. And the time spent on the river was fantastic. My wife still talks about the trout she caught. Thanks for sharing the secret fly, guys. As agreed I promise not to use it west of the Susquehanna, or unless I'm with you...or if I'm fishing for trout (sorry, it's too good)."
Review 2 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended,
May 14, 2012
By: gjsteinke
from Farmington, PA
"This 2-Day flies by and is packed full of information that translates directly into fishing. Don't be fooled. This is not an info-mercial for Orvis. The classroom portion is laid out to deliver examples of gear from the rod and reel down to flies and how to keep them floating and techniques for casting and fishing. Both of which I will be able to spend the rest of My life mastering. The practical portions of the class focuses on casting and presentation of various flies and I found the instruction extremely helpful. My confidence level is soaring. The last thing I received from this class is quality time with an experienced Pennsylvanian Guide. After I spend some time just fishing and practicing the things I've learned, my next step will be to schedule a Day Trip and go fishing with Mike, our instructor for the class and accomplished guide. Book your class now and find a passion for a lifetime."
Review 3 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quickest path from novice to know-how,
September 6, 2011
By: AuFish
from Arlington, VA
"This class is likely the easiest way to develop a curiosity of fly fishing into hands-on, know-how experience and confidence to hit the water. You get exactly what you pay for: two full days with professionals who love the sport and are patient with explaining even the most elementary points, multiple times if necessary.
The casting practice each morning broke up the seated classroom portions, and the fishing trip at the end of the second day brought a lot of the lessons into play. The guides were great about giving everyone some one-on-one time with individualized feedback. There is a lot to learn, and even two full days will not be enough to make a seasoned angler out of anyone just starting.
The two areas that I wish could have been covered more thoroughly in preparing for the class fishing trip (or future trips) would have been selecting an initial fly to use and step-by-step how to hook, net, and release (or save) a fish.
It was a great experience and I am glad I took the class. I'd recommend it to anyone with a desire to give this sport a try."
Review 4 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outdoors Adventure,
September 5, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Arlington, VA
"I can't recommend this school enough. My wife and I took this class because we thought fly fishing would give us more options on camping trips. In other words, we were total beginners. I was a little afraid that the classroom learning would be a downside to the course, but Mike's obvious enthusiasm for what he was teaching was awesome and the class is very interactive. You tie knots in the classroom, Mike passes around a real example of every fly, rod, and reel he talks about in the class, etc. Plus, we went out the casting pond at the end of each half-day of class, so it broke up the classroom portion very nicely. And the river trip on the second day was at a nearby, well-stocked stream and Mike and Jon were both awesome guides. Being guides, they really give you a flavor of what a guided trip would be like, and I can say for near certain that I will be doing that as my next trip.
The only criticism I can think of is that there was no handout or PowerPoint slide on the example day of fishing that Mike covered in class. He goes over what a "typical" day of fishing might be like for him during the flies component of the course, but it was covered rather quickly and with no additional information. It would have been nice to have more info, so I could have an idea of what I might expect on a guided trip or on my own day of fishing. But that is my only criticism and it's a very minor one at that.
All I can say is that for the price you pay, you get every penny's worth. As a beginner, I highly recommend if you want to learn more about fly fishing, as much as you can in two days! Mike and Jon are extremely professional and make this trip a ton of fun."
Review 5 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Experience, couldn't have been better,
September 5, 2011
By: GRLancaster
"Having never held a fly rod before, my wife and I signed up for the class at Nemacolin hoping to find out if we would enjoy fly fishing. Mike and John were superbly knowledgeable and organized. We learned casting techniques, knots and more than we imagined possible about entomology. More importantly, we learned that we enjoyed fly fishing. It is very evident these guys love to fish, and know how to relate to students of all experience levels. They were able to get us going well enough that by the end of the second day we both caught several beautiful fish."
Review 6 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
July 26, 2011
By: Barth
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"When I signed up for the class I was concerned that it would not be advanced enough for me as I am an experienced fly fisherman of 40 years. Mike and Jared however quickly and easily focused on the information and technique changes that I needed and the results were dramatic. They are both very good teachers, professional and extremely knowledgeable. Not only did I come away from the two days with more solid casting technique and a wealth of useful information but I really had a good time."
Review 7 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Fly Fishing School,
June 22, 2011
By: Ruwa
from Pittsbugh, PA
"Outstanding program all around. The two day fly fishing school at Nemacolin in Farmingon, PA exceeded my expectations. The content is all useful, and presented in a clear, understandable and memorable fashion. Yet the program is flexible enough to be tailored to any experience level. Mike and his team are all terrific and you will come out of the program a better fly caster and fisher. And you will catch fish! Mike is an excellent coach, teacher and guide. He is a great guy who is committed to his students, is passionate about the sport and is very knowledgeable about the local rivers and streams. He is a terrific resource. When I attended recently, I had about a year of fly fishing experience, including a guide trip with Mike last year. Having gone through the school, I am much more confident in my casting ability and fly fishing knowledge. Incredibly, due to some last minute cancellations, I was able to receive a full two days of one on one instruction for this incredible price. Mike allowed me to ask questions all along the way and I was able to pick his brain on virtually every fly fishing topic. While I brought my own equipment, I also was able to try out various Orvis rods. Overall, I could not imagine a better experience personnally."
Review 8 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nemacolin was great,
June 18, 2010
By: RED14
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have never fly fished and for my 60th birthday I decided to take the plunge. Fly fishing always seemed a little daunting so the two day Orvis school was appealing. I was not disappointed. The school at Nemacolin lived up to everything I hoped for as a beginner. Larry S. and Mike S. were very knowledgeable and patient and they provided a wealth of material. The class size was small when I attended in mid-June and there was lots of one-on-one casting instruction. There was plenty of time for casting practice and some actual on-stream fishing on one of Pennsylvania's fine trout streams. By the end of the second day I felt confident in knowing the basics of fly fishing and casting and I feel ready to venture out on my own. It was a great experience."
Review 9 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2010
By: SMNC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have wanted to learn to fly fish for years. This weekend I did. My husband, daughter and I had the best experience at Orvis' fly fishing school at Nemacolin. We were all three complete beginners, but Mike, Larry and Jared could not have been more patient, enthusiastic or knowledgeable. Despite the fact that others in our group were far more experienced, we all learned a tremendous amount and got a great deal of one on one instruction on our casting. We learned about entomology, gear and knots. We have valuable hand outs just in case some of that information about caddis flies doesn't stay with us! And best of all, we can't wait to get back out there. Thank you Mike, Larry and Jared. You were tremendous."
Review 10 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great class - great instructors,
April 12, 2010
By: RichPhillySuburbs
from Philadelphia Suburbs, PA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would highly recommend this class. John & Mike made the class easy to follow & not boring.
As someone who had a "moderate" amount of past flyfishing experience, I was concerned that the class might not be for me... however there were people with MORE and LESS experience in the class, and we ALL learned something.
The class is geared toward intelligent people who don't want to get bored, and want to learn more about the sport.
The class flew by and we had lots of both in-classroom, and hands-on sessions too. I even ended up catching 4 fish (2 foot plus brown & 2 -13 inch rainbows) during the "fishing" section of the class.
The location is nice, and the lunches were good. The instructors really love what they do, and are anxious to help you out.
While I brought my own equipment, (which was nice to use for part of the class). However, you don't need to bring a thing. Some showed up with nothing - they provided rods, waders, lures, etc. I ended up using one of their rods & reels for part of the class, and fell in love with it - needless to say I bought it on the spot - (they give class discounts on Orvis products).
You cannot help but have a great experience if you attend the Nemacolin school!
PS. I just went fishing this past Sunday, and caught my first ever PA Brook trout (14 inch) on a wet nymph on the hard to fish Valley Creek - I learned this technique at the class last week!"
Review 11 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good experience!,
July 20, 2009
By: Mics
"Jon, Justin, Mike and Jared were wonderful instructors!! My son was only eight and couldn't sit through the 2 day sessions so we had to quit early but all the staff were friendly and good teachers. Especially Mike, he was very patient with us. Thanks a lot guys! Hope to see you all again when my son is a little older."
Review 12 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Beginner/Intermediate Alike,
June 1, 2008
By: REHIKER
"Wonderful experience!!! Jon, Justin and Mike work hard to make this a meaningful and yet fun experience for all. In just 30 minutes they had corrected a casting issue I had. They are interested in what each want from the experience and then work hard to make that happen.
The casting clinics, entomology and fly fishing basics give you the tools you need to go out on your on and have an enjoyable day on the water.
I enjoyed it so much, that I would go again as a refresher. The facilities are great, the curriculum matches the facilities and the staff are world-class. If you want to learn how to fly fish or just improve your skills, don't miss this wonderful program.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Expectations,
May 2, 2008
By: BillC
from Bethesda, MD
"A great experience. Staff were professional, friendly and engaging and worked diligently to understand and exceed my expectations. Jonathan, Justin, Mike and Mike are truly passionate about their profession and take great pride in passing on their love of flyfishing.
The facilities were top notch -- the school was held during two days of heavy rain, and they had an indoor casting facility available. The video analysis was valuable.
The entomology class was superb, containing the right balance of general introduction and local application.
The best part of the school was the second afternoon spent in the stream, where the guides introduced the different techniques, including streamers, nymphs, and dry flies. The two beatiful rainbows I caught made it that much better!
Kudos to Jon, Justin, Mike and Mike. This is a great team and I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to experience the art and science of fly fishing.
"
Review 14 for Farmington, Pennsylvania 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Introduction,
September 19, 2007
By: Carson
"I have wanted to try flyfishing for years, and this was my first time out. The personal coaching for casting techniques was excellent, as was the attention while we were out on the river. Class instruction on insect types and lifecyles was very well done. Knots were explained clearly. Handouts of the powerpoint presentations would be helpful. Great interaction with other students and instructors. Nemacolin Woodlands is worth the relatively high cost. I'll come back again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.