Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net

Weighs less and protects fish better than any other competitive net. Easy to use, durable, and snag-free, our new fly-fishing nets weigh about one-third the weight of competing nets for less hassle. Perfect for making travel weight limits. Exclusive molded rubber protects the fish's important slime layer. Plus, it won't snag flies or tangle dropper rigs. Handle and bow crafted of genuine teak. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.711 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
43 of 45(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Review 1 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
October 18, 2014
By: troutguy10
from Rio Rancho, NM
"Received my Brodin the day before heading to the famed San Juan River in NM...and sure glad I had it, the fish were big and plentiful and the Brodin worked flawlessly and never did my retrieved hooks get caught up, plus the shallowness of the net allowed for an easy release!!"
Review 2 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent craftmanship,
August 18, 2014
By: Kenjiconifer
from Conifer CO
"The grip is excellent. If it's a bit lighter weight, it would be the perfect."
Review 3 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
great handle terrible net,
June 20, 2014
By: mtnmanhunter
from Casper, WY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I received this net in advance of a trip to the big horn. It was long enough, had a great deep basket I though wow! However now after 4 trips to the river it has four breaks in the netting and a missing piece about .75 inches in diameter. This would be a great product if they put a beefier net. Or, maybe my net had some manufacturers’ defects."
Review 4 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A big step up...the new Brodin Catch & Release Net,
June 17, 2014
By: MBrucato123
from North Attleboro, MA
"I am happy to report that the new Brodin Catch & Release Ghost net is well made and it is designed especially to protect trout from undue damage to their layer of protective slime when they are in the net.
Thank you Orvis for a great new innovative product designed to promote the catch and release fishing ethic!"
Review 5 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AWESOME!,
June 17, 2014
By: erew
"This is a great net for both boating and fly fishing. The handle is long enough for boat usage and is great for river fishing."
Review 6 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I have the 22" model. Its beautifully made and I hope that replacement parts/ nets are available from ORVIS for many years. Plastic net is an improvement when untangling a hook from the net. It´s not low-cost but well made."
Review 7 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Net,
April 18, 2014
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"After fighting with hooks stuck in the mesh of regular nets I finally broke down and purchased this one and it was welll worth it, well built and beautiful craftsmanship. Because I considered this a lifetime investment I had it monogrammed which was burned in resulting in a beautiful professional appearance. Just another quality product from Orvis of which I look forward to years of use and enjoyment."
Review 8 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for a lady fisher!,
March 17, 2014
By: AmberleeS
from Hot Springs, AR
"As a woman fisherman, I found this particular net to be perfect for my smaller physique and build. Being of smaller physique, I need a lightweight net that I can get into the water, around my fish, and back out again with out having too much trouble, or running the risk of losing my fish/grip. I've lost a few nets to the river because I can't hold onto a heavy net. Now I don't have to worry about it (unless I catch the monster fish, in which case I'll just have to man up and get it in the boat). The Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net weighs less than most, and therefore is all that easier for me to use when I catch my really big fish! Along with being lightweight, the Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net is also very durable. I've caught some really big fish, and this thing can keep up with me. That's exactly what I need! I don't have to work at keeping it from snagging on crud, flies, or rings either. Plus, I love the fact that I can have it engraved with my initials! I will definitely be getting more of these as presents for my fellow-fisher friends and family! If you enjoy having great equipment that will last forever, and never fail you, then this is the net for you."
Review 9 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appears good.......,
January 16, 2014
By: Drew1136
from Northbrook. IL
"Have not had a chance to use the net yet but wish it came with a cord to attach to my vest or chest pack. Was larget than I expected and can't wait to land the big trout."
Review 10 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fishing gift,
January 3, 2014
By: Ribid
from Asheville, NC
"I gave this net as a Christmas gift and it was loved! The initial engraving was perfect and the net looks incredible and does its job too. Just as expected orvis processed the net with the engraving very fast and the customer service was orvis quality. Great net that will last forever and look good too."
Review 11 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
December 21, 2013
By: Red16
from Pennsylvania
"Bought this for my old man. Had it engraved. Its a sweet personalized gift that he'll have for the rest of his life. Can't wait until he gets to scoop up a PA trout!! And, hopefully ill get this as a gift in the future!"
Review 12 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
November 13, 2013
By: FlyTech
"I am very please with the Brodin 24" Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net. The fit and finish is perfect."
Review 13 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
30" net,
September 15, 2013
By: 101Fisher
from Worcester, MA
"I bought this net at the recommendation of the salesman in the Orvis store -- rubber being better for fish and less likely to catch your hooks.
I bought the 30" net, and it has worked exactly as advertised. The long handle makes it easy to get the fish into the net and I have not yet had a problem with hooks getting caught in the net (in 6 months of frequent fishing).
My only complaint is the metal peg in the base of the handle that attaches to a gear keeper ring has pulled out from the wood. It appears to be held in place only by friction. I was able to tap it back in, but I no longer rely on it and instead tuck the handle of the net into the belt of my waders. With the 30" net, the handle is long enough that it stays in place and in easy reach for when I need it."
Review 14 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Wooden Net,
August 31, 2013
By: Sandyman
from Taos, NM
"It would be easy to say this net is beautiful and I love it, but there is more to consider. I have lost a net previously that simply became disengaged from it's magnet. No matter how great the net, if it goes floating down the river you may not catch it. However, this is a classically designed wooden net and the magnet system sold by Orvis will do a good job of securing the net. Don't let the securing system be to cause of loosing this classic net."
Review 15 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for the fish,
July 7, 2013
By: foxgnome
from Toronto, ON
"Simple and to the point. It's great for the fish and never gets tangled."
Review 16 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect net,
July 1, 2013
By: TNangler1
from Athens, TN
"This net is an excellent buy, not only for its durability, but also its fish friendly construction"
Review 17 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing net,
May 29, 2013
By: Mushman
"I recently purchased this net and loved it. Prior to this I had a net with mesh netting and both the fly and the fish would get tangled. The rubber net is tangle free and is much healthier for the fish.
I purchased the bow net which is a great size to hike with.
"
Review 18 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
May 3, 2013
By: EHBow
from Charlotte, NC
"Love the quality! The monogram on the handle makes it extra special! Perfect birthday gift for 16 year old son who has fallen in love with fly fishing."
Review 19 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Net!,
January 11, 2013
By: EllenCO
from Western Slope, Colorado
"This is a beautiful net! It is perfect for fishing on the western slope of Colorado. I went with the 22" and it is a great size, just what we need. The net is the best out there. The rubber is easy on flies and the wood is great. Also, the monogramming option makes a new net look like a classic piece."
Review 20 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great look,
December 19, 2012
By: TMAC1
"Very attractive net but it's a little heavy for long term carrying. Find a lighter netting with similar characteristics."