Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net

Weighs less and protects fish better than any other competitive net. Easy to use, durable, and snag-free, our new fly-fishing nets weigh about one-third the weight of competing nets for less hassle. Perfect for making travel weight limits. Exclusive molded rubber protects the fish's important slime layer. Plus, it won't snag flies or tangle dropper rigs. Handle and bow crafted of genuine teak. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
37 of 38(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Review 1 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for a lady fisher!,
March 17, 2014
By: AmberleeS
from Hot Springs, AR
"As a woman fisherman, I found this particular net to be perfect for my smaller physique and build. Being of smaller physique, I need a lightweight net that I can get into the water, around my fish, and back out again with out having too much trouble, or running the risk of losing my fish/grip. I've lost a few nets to the river because I can't hold onto a heavy net. Now I don't have to worry about it (unless I catch the monster fish, in which case I'll just have to man up and get it in the boat). The Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net weighs less than most, and therefore is all that easier for me to use when I catch my really big fish! Along with being lightweight, the Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net is also very durable. I've caught some really big fish, and this thing can keep up with me. That's exactly what I need! I don't have to work at keeping it from snagging on crud, flies, or rings either. Plus, I love the fact that I can have it engraved with my initials! I will definitely be getting more of these as presents for my fellow-fisher friends and family! If you enjoy having great equipment that will last forever, and never fail you, then this is the net for you."
Review 2 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appears good.......,
January 16, 2014
By: Drew1136
from Northbrook. IL
"Have not had a chance to use the net yet but wish it came with a cord to attach to my vest or chest pack. Was larget than I expected and can't wait to land the big trout."
Review 3 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fishing gift,
January 3, 2014
By: Ribid
from Asheville, NC
"I gave this net as a Christmas gift and it was loved! The initial engraving was perfect and the net looks incredible and does its job too. Just as expected orvis processed the net with the engraving very fast and the customer service was orvis quality. Great net that will last forever and look good too."
Review 4 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
December 21, 2013
By: Red16
from Pennsylvania
"Bought this for my old man. Had it engraved. Its a sweet personalized gift that he'll have for the rest of his life. Can't wait until he gets to scoop up a PA trout!! And, hopefully ill get this as a gift in the future!"
Review 5 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
November 13, 2013
By: FlyTech
"I am very please with the Brodin 24" Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net. The fit and finish is perfect."
Review 6 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
30" net,
September 15, 2013
By: 101Fisher
from Worcester, MA
"I bought this net at the recommendation of the salesman in the Orvis store -- rubber being better for fish and less likely to catch your hooks.
I bought the 30" net, and it has worked exactly as advertised. The long handle makes it easy to get the fish into the net and I have not yet had a problem with hooks getting caught in the net (in 6 months of frequent fishing).
My only complaint is the metal peg in the base of the handle that attaches to a gear keeper ring has pulled out from the wood. It appears to be held in place only by friction. I was able to tap it back in, but I no longer rely on it and instead tuck the handle of the net into the belt of my waders. With the 30" net, the handle is long enough that it stays in place and in easy reach for when I need it."
Review 7 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Wooden Net,
August 31, 2013
By: Sandyman
from Taos, NM
"It would be easy to say this net is beautiful and I love it, but there is more to consider. I have lost a net previously that simply became disengaged from it's magnet. No matter how great the net, if it goes floating down the river you may not catch it. However, this is a classically designed wooden net and the magnet system sold by Orvis will do a good job of securing the net. Don't let the securing system be to cause of loosing this classic net."
Review 8 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for the fish,
July 7, 2013
By: foxgnome
from Toronto, ON
"Simple and to the point. It's great for the fish and never gets tangled."
Review 9 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect net,
July 1, 2013
By: TNangler1
from Athens, TN
"This net is an excellent buy, not only for its durability, but also its fish friendly construction"
Review 10 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing net,
May 29, 2013
By: Mushman
"I recently purchased this net and loved it. Prior to this I had a net with mesh netting and both the fly and the fish would get tangled. The rubber net is tangle free and is much healthier for the fish.
I purchased the bow net which is a great size to hike with.
"
Review 11 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
May 3, 2013
By: EHBow
from Charlotte, NC
"Love the quality! The monogram on the handle makes it extra special! Perfect birthday gift for 16 year old son who has fallen in love with fly fishing."
Review 12 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Net!,
January 11, 2013
By: EllenCO
from Western Slope, Colorado
"This is a beautiful net! It is perfect for fishing on the western slope of Colorado. I went with the 22" and it is a great size, just what we need. The net is the best out there. The rubber is easy on flies and the wood is great. Also, the monogramming option makes a new net look like a classic piece."
Review 13 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great look,
December 19, 2012
By: TMAC1
"Very attractive net but it's a little heavy for long term carrying. Find a lighter netting with similar characteristics."
Review 14 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have,
November 12, 2012
By: Chans1972
from Findlay, OH
"I bought the Brodin Ghost Net as a Father's Day present to myself. Having put it to use, I could not be happier with my selection. Apart from not having to deal fly snags in the netting, this product allows for a seamless release (the fish can often swim out unassisted). Sure the price might dissuade some, but for those of us that have had to cut flies out of a cloth net, it's well worth the spend to switch to a Ghost. And hey, this gift sure beats another tie on Father's Day!"
Review 15 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
October 18, 2012
By: DevonTX
from Dallas, TX
"I have the 24' and it is the perfect size and shape for trout. The rubber netting works so much better than the standard threaded nets. No more wasting time with snagged flies!"
Review 16 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect net for C&R and Photos,
October 14, 2012
By: mcflyfishing
from NE PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have used this net for two seasons. Fish do not 'see it coming' and landing is easier. Hooks do not get caught it the net bag. I fish barbless, often the hook comes out in the net.
The rubber mesh is very easy on the fish, I put the handle between my knees and the fish can stay submerged while I get my camera ready. Then I can take a picture of the fish without subjecting it to extra handling. I recently ordered the magnetic release cord to go with it, I'll review that once I try it. The one drawback with this net is the shallow bag, I have had active fish jump out of the bag. Since I release all my fish that's not a big issue.
"
Review 17 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply an amazing net,
May 28, 2012
By: JBrownAlaska
from Anchorage, Ak.
"Before I used this net I used to assume that all nets were basically the same. Catch and Release without harming the fish is a priority to me, and this net gets it done with ease. The design and craftsmanship of the Brodin Ghost rubber net make it stand above all others."
Review 18 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Net!,
April 30, 2012
By: y0ukn0wit
"Very lightweight, looks classy, and the ghost netting seems to keep the slime on the trout. Worth the extra dollars for sure. I have the short 22" and its plenty of net for every river trout fisherman who wades. I would probably go with the longer handle for boat use."
Review 19 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Net,
March 4, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I have the 24" net and it has both quality and technology that justifies the price. Besides the gorgeous frame, the net material is extremely soft, allowing for significantly reduced hassles getting flies un-stuck from the netting and being much easier on fish. This means more healthy fish are released back into the water for all to enjoy."
Review 20 for Brodin Catch & Release Ghost Rubber Net
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Workmanship,
February 17, 2012
By: redoctober
from Boston
"A few years ago my wife gave me the 24" net and I've always thought is was a beautiful piece of craftmanship that I never would have treated myself to. When a colleague who spends part ot the summer fishing in Montana retired, we were trying to think of an appropriate gift, I suggested the same net, which everyone agreed was a great gift for him. We had it personalized with his initials and presented it at his retirement party. He was delighted as were we. Not only is it beautiful, its very functional too. If you get it personalized, make sure you allow extra time from when you order it to when you need it."