Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Tailwaters XT

The most comfortable high-performance boot foot fishing waders made. With five-layer fabric reinforcements in key areas, and a four-way waterproof, highly breathable stretch upper so comfortable you'll forget it's there, the Tailwaters XT Bootfoot Wader is the ideal combination of comfort and performance. Available with an exclusive integrated wading boot attached or with Hypalon stockingfeet.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
5
30 of 42(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tailwaters XT
Review 1 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Wader,
November 2, 2010
By: ShutUpNFish
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Although Orvis quit making these, they are excellent for me. I'm on my 4th season with these waders and they have been great. I fish on a regular basis too. I'd buy another pair - only in stockingfoot. I love the fit, durability and warmth in winter. I would, however, suggest a design change on the inside pocket which you cannot access because of it's poor placement. It is obsolete and I cannot use it period.
I'm quite surprised at some of the other reviews...I hope these issues have been addressed by Orvis."
Review 2 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Soles coming off,
September 8, 2010
By: areno
from idaho
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"After only using these waders 2 times the soles are coming off and I am getting moisture below the knee. They were what I was looking for after another pair of bootfoot Orvis waders failed after 1.5 seasons. I appreciate the fact that Orvis gave me a little credit towards this pair, but its a pain sending them back and being without."
Review 3 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Leaked after 1st use!,
August 11, 2010
By: EP11
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Received these waders as a present. They were exactly what I wanted in a wader (until I used them). Had them about a year and used them for the first time on a 2 week trip to Alaska from 7/23-8/6/10.
They leaked near the top of boot and where the built in gators meet. I love the fit (they were very comfortable and look very nice) but what good is it if you get wet when you use them? I have had a pair of Orvis Silver Label Waist Waders (stocking foot) that worked great so I thought the Tailwaters XT would be even better. I guess I was wrong. I contacted Orvis and am waiting for a return to my call."
Review 4 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Didnt last,
July 3, 2010
By: AKDave
from Anchorage, AK
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Like other reviewers here, I was very happy with these waders at first. They were comfortable and were very easy to take on and off--But they only lasted one year. The first time I used them during the second season, my left foot became soaked. I have lived and fished Alaska for twenty years and I have never had a pair of waders wear out so quickly. Even cheaper pairs of waders have lasted me four to five seasons, so the fact that these failed so quickly shocked me. All other Orvis products I have owned over the years have made me expect excellent quality. These waders dont deserve the Orvis name, and Im not surprised to find that they have been discontinued. I think I'll try a pair of Pro Guide's next."
Review 5 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Waders - Poor durability,
April 8, 2010
By: Andywoke
from Derbyshire, UK
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought the stockingfoot Tailwater XT waders a couple of years ago and initially I was thrilled they seemed rugged, comfortable and faultless. I enjoyed the wader envy I was getting from my fishing mates.
That was until the seams wore out at the end of season two. The inside leg seams now leak like a sieve. I had hoped that the expensive and apparently hardwearing XTs would prove to be a sound investment - I was wrong. The five layer fabric reinforcements are all very well, but a wader is only as good as it weakest point. Poor value for money.
Dissappointing from a company whose products are normally excellent. My 9ft Zero-Gravity with CFO reel fish a dream - shame the waders don't compliment the team."
Review 6 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No recomendable,
March 10, 2010
By: marioalmonacid
from Chile
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"In July 2009 I bought a Tailwaters. I live in Chile and the fishing season began in November so I used it the first time in February 2010. Unfortunately for the second time I used it and got wet all over. Truly a great disappointment. In these days try to use the warranty, so expensive and complicated is the process from Chile. For 20 years I've been using Orvis items and always has been quality assurance. Unfortunately in this case I can not recommend anyone buy the wader Tailwaters"
Review 7 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really happy with them,
February 25, 2010
By: evol13
from madison, WI
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i have had my XT's for 4 or 5 years, and have used them alot. sliding down rocky banks to the madison river, or crashing thru brush on the pere marquette. Not a single leak. the boots look like they should be leaking, but they don't. I should mention that my brothers brought them too, and had to return them 2 or 3 times. i love that they fold down too."
Review 8 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Followup to May 26, 2009 Review,
January 22, 2010
By: JoeinHopewell
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I entered this site today to look at buying a new pair of waders. The reason is that this past season they spprung a leak in the crotch.... may have been there since day 1 because I don't usually wade as deep as I was that day. My boots are also starting to look like they are seperating in different areas. So, for the price, I doubt I will by another pair of Tailwater XT's .
See my review on May 26, 2009. I am disappointed in Orvis. They indicated below that they had contacted me but I know I never saw any form of communication from them on this topic. I guess it's always possible they used a wrong email address."
Review 9 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
They Seemed Great,
November 30, 2009
By: Pteronarcys
from Idaho
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I was in love with these waders when I first received them as a gift. They are comfortable, practical, and good looking. However, durability is a problem.
I am not a frequent fisherman, and I only use the waders a few times each year. Recently I noticed that one of the boots is separating from the wader, and last week, while on my first wading fishing trip of the year, the crotch seam blew out.
Suffice it to say, I am very disappointed. I have taken excellent care of these waders, and, for the price, expected much better durability and quality."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer CareJanuary 5, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the boots were separating. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback and has passed these comments along to our wader developer, so that he may further investigate these durability issues. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 10 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Leaking Orvis Tailwater XT,
November 29, 2009
By: cuxam
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Tailwater XT wader is an expensive, but quality is not good compare with the other brands. Got leak after the second flounder season. Orvis has 100% satisfaction gurantee refund at anytime for any reason, but when I call them, they told me that I have to send it in with $35 repair fee.
Would not recommend this product to anyone. With this price you can buy three good pairs of other brands"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer CareJanuary 5, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that his waders began leaking prematurely. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback and has passed these comments along to our wader developer, so that he may further investigate these durability issues. Orvis offers a 100% guarantee of satisfaction.
Review 11 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional all year,
October 11, 2009
By: dentalboy
from Fort Collins, CO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am on my third pair of Tailwaters XT. I use the boot foot for ease of getting on and off and warmth for winter fishing. I like the stability of the lace up boot and find the built in boot affords extra warmth because of an open toe box. Initially, the waders had trouble with pulling the grommets off with careless lace ups, but that problem has been corrected. And of course, Orvis stands behind their products and sent me a new pair when this initally happened. I have now also purchased the sock foot for summer wear, because the fold down stretch top is so comfortable and easy to do. Just make sure you have a back support/ belt when you fall in. Don't ask me how I come to recommend this!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wish They Would Have Held Up!,
October 1, 2009
By: insureu
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased the XT boot foot studded waders 06/2009. These boots definately run a solid one side too small. I wear an 11 in everything and these boots are both too narrow and too short. I wore thin socks through the Summer and lived with that issue as I felt these were a great deal. I only used the waders 3-4 times over the Summer and had no issues with them. Unfortunately I took a highly anticipated trip to Catskills rivers with plans of hitting Beaver Kill, East and West as well as Esopus. Unfortunately on my first day I had a tremendous amount of water in both the groin and boot areas (both boots). This river system is much colder than the rivers I enjoyed this Summer, so the water was very noticeable (especially around the groin!). Unfortunately Orvis does not have a company store in this area and the local Orvis authorized retailers could not help me out with an exchange or credit, so I ended up taking the recommendation of an Orvis/Simms retailer and purchased a $600 set of Simms waders/boots. I bought a size 11 in the Simms without any fit issues. Quite frankly if I had gotten one good full season out the XT's @ the current sale price I would have been somewhat ok with the premature failure. I still love all my other Orvis products such as all the BLA reels I have and my coveted Helios, however I think this is just a poor product for Orvis."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer CareOctober 11, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized for the fit and premature leaking problems that were experienced with these waders. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback and has passed these comments along to our wader developer, so that he may further investigate these issues.
Review 13 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Waders,
September 12, 2009
By: Miflyfisher
from Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Only had these out a couple times, but there great.
Very comfortable and fit me perfectly. They seem very durable look good and I got them on sale, so the price was excellent. My only complaint as small is it might be, is that they have no outer front pocket, other than that I highly recommend these waders!
"
Review 14 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading boot very tight,
September 6, 2009
By: DaveS
from Jersey Shore NJ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought these on recommendation from a friend who has a pair. I must say they are nice looking waders, well made and all but man is that built in wading shoe tight and hard to get on. I wear a size 12 shoe no matter what shoe or boot I own, so when I saw
"Order your normal shoe size. These waders are designed to accommodate a pair of heavy wading socks. If you wear a half size shoe, go to the next larger size (boot foot waders are not made in half sizes)."
on the product description I fell for it. DO yourself a favor and get the next size up and avoid the hassle of sending em back. My foot started to fall asleep with these on. Other than that, well made waders worth the money."
Review 15 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
buy a size larger,
August 26, 2009
By: troutgk
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Purchased these on sale and a great wader for the price. Have worn them 10x and no leaks yet. Do not buy your normal size but a full size larger!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Review 16 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No Quality Control,
August 10, 2009
By: ffisher27
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I purchased these waders based on the stellar reviews of "the most comfortable high-performance boot foot fishing waders made" and great sale price ($179).
On the first day out my legs were wet. Running a flashlight over the seams revealed a steady line of holes, especially where different materials were stitched together. MOST of the stitching leaked. I marked the spots with a pen and headed to the Denver store.
I spoke with Kerry (fishing mgr) and Dave. Kerry said that the line was being discontinued following similar complaints from customers. They will be redesigned. Dave was unable to locate a similar pair at the warehouse, so they offered me a new pair of Silver Label waders. Hopefully, they won't leak too...
I am extremely disappointed that Orvis' top-of-the-line waders would suffer from such poor quality control and that it would place it on sale to clear inventory prior to redesign.
The Orvis staff were extremely professional and kind in helping me out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Technical TeamSeptember 21, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that he received a pair of defective waders. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback.
Review 17 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfortable and Durable,
July 22, 2009
By: MEflyfish
from Bangor, Maine
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought these waders December 2009 and have fished with them 30+ times since and couldn't be more happy. They are the most comfortable boot foot waders I have ever owned and seem to be very rugged with the double stiched knees and rear. The boot is very padded especially along the toes, which was a problem with other waders, as they would compress onto my toes in swift current. The waders are very comfortable to hike and wade all day in. Also like the ability to change to waist high waders. In all great product"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Comfort but Disappointed,
May 26, 2009
By: HDGWJOE
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had bought my son pair of the Tailwater XT's in 2005 and he raved about them... so much so my wife bought me a pair for Christmas in 2006. Initially I had problems with the boot fit... they were extremely tight... especially the left boot... even with thin dress socks on. So I went up a full size and could now wear a mid-weight sock. These waders are extremely comfortable to wear. What a difference wading in these with the integrated boot over previous pairs. Unfortunately this past weekend they sprung a leak somewhere in the seat. At the time I was in up to my waist so there was a good amount of water pressure pushing up. I think the leak is somewhere around the point where a couple of seams come together with a round seam patch over the junction point. The seam tape still looks new so I don't know if I will be able to find the leak. Plus I had been in the water for almost an hour before I noticed it. This is my third season wearing them. I wouldn't mind too much if I fished them 30 or 40 times a year but I only get to go maybe 6 times a year. This pair has less than 20 days of fishing on them. By the way... my sons are still going strong and he has a lot more time on his than I do. His boots look like they are starting to break down but so far no leaks. If my waders didn't leak I would have given them 5 stars overall."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that his waders started leaking prematurely. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback and has passed these comments along to our wader developer, so that he may further investigate these durability issues.
Review 19 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very Comfortable Wader,
April 23, 2009
By: Miramichier
from Moncton, NB
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased these waders about 3 years ago, and have used them every summer since in New Brunswick, mostly on the Miramichi. They are by far the most comfortable and versatile wader I have ever owned, and I love the waist-high option. I do have a problem with them though, the boot part is all falling apart, ripping where your foot bends, chafing very bad, and the felt came off 1 of them as well. I think the only thing that could save these waders is a whole new boot.Seeing how they are the most expensive wader Orvis makes, I thought they would last longer than that. By the sounds of some of these reviews, I'm scared to send them back now, because the salmon fishing is going to be starting the first of June and I am afraid I won't have them back in time, plus I don't even know if they can fix them, and it isn't cheap to send them from Canada. I would recommend these waders to a friend, but I think I would tell him to go for the stockingfoot version so he doesn't have the same problem as me."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the boots on his waders have failed prematurely. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback and has passed these comments along to our wader developer, so that he may further investigate these durability issues.
Review 20 for Tailwaters XT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waders, but....,
December 29, 2008
By: jgflyfish
from Pasadena, California
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased my Tailwaters XT Bootfoot waders in November 2008, and I have been very pleased with my purchase. The waders fit me like a good pair of jeans! I can climb over boulders, rock faces, hike miles with no problem. Sometimes I don't even realize that I am wearing waders! I fish almost every weekend, and I have hiked so much in a year that the felt soles needed replacement. The only problem or regret that I have is that I had purchased bootfoot waders instead of stocking foot waders. With the repairs that were needed to the felt soles, the entire outfit has been rendered out of service until Orvis can repair and resole the bootfoot, which is now going on it's fourth week, and is frustrating me quite terribly, because I have not been able to be on the water in four weeks, and being winter time, I can't just wet wade. I would gladly buy another set, but next time, I will go with a pair of stocking foot Tailwaters XT."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.