Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Ultimate Upland Briar Pants

We faced our tough, flexible, briar-beating Hawthorne Cloth—an 8-oz. pure cotton canvas—with our field-proven Tailwaters™ wader fabric to keep you dry and comfortable in the wettest, toughest cover. A gusseted crotch gives you a greater range of motion. Easy-access J-style pockets. Right-hand rear zip security pocket. Suspender buttons. In olive/tan. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 30-46. Plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge. For finished inseams, we recommend the reinforced washable faux leather trim.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultimate Upland Briar Pants
Review 1 for Ultimate Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing,
March 5, 2013
By: idlewild
from NY
"I am 6"2 , 210lbs, and wear 34x34 in Levi's. In these upland briar pants Size 36 waist x 331/2 leg (bit shorter to keep it above the mud) fits perfectly.
Great product and really great customer service
"
Review 2 for Ultimate Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disapointed,
March 4, 2013
By: Dansr
from Cincinnati OH
"Orvis supplyer did not cuff pants as requested. Legs are not articulated as I expected. Ho-Hum Pants in that price range."
Review 3 for Ultimate Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough As Nails,
February 20, 2013
By: curtis44520
from Cleveland, Ohio
"Light on top and heavy where you need it to be. These pants are the best Ive worn. The waxed material on the knees it bullet proof and yet washes quite well. I love them!"
Review 4 for Ultimate Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
They kept the briars out,
November 22, 2012
By: terryv
"I purchased the upland briar pants because I really needed the protection during a recent pheasant hunt. They fulfilled their role. However, each time I put the pants on I noticed that the button at the waist seemed a bit cheap for the price. Or perhaps I was expecting an interior button with a clasp on the waist fastener."
Review 5 for Ultimate Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durable,
January 2, 2012
By: Texas1987
"Expect these pants will perform in the field. Can't wait to get them dirty!"
Review 6 for Ultimate Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hunting Pants,
August 19, 2011
By: Toblinsky
from Asheville, NC
"I plan to return these pants. Although they looked good there are a couple of issues that personally I was disappointed in.
1. The rise is a little too shallow. Check with the mfg. re: the markers used. I would guess they are made with a short rise. I'm a regular. Hunting in these pants will be uncomfortable for me.
2. The fabric used as the facing is too heavy. I think it will create too much heat after a day in the field. Facing fabric should be a coated version of the same fabric. Coating or layered with water proof application.
The pocket design is good but the pocket is too shallow for a hunting pant. Hunting clothing need not look good although these pants have some eye appeal. "Form follows Function" The details matter when you pay $170.00 for hunting pants. I think I would enjoy the Ventile Cloth pants but I not going to pay the price. I know Ventile fabric but I can't imagine it costs $300 for a pair of hunting pants. I will try to get another season from my old Orvis pants.
Thank you
"
Review 7 for Ultimate Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
February 1, 2011
By: networth
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Hunted quail and pheasant all day, and they held up extremely well. Walked through several briar patches, with no problem except the one time a briar snagged my finger.
My only suggestiong to improve the pants would if they left enough fabric in the seat to let them out a little for guys with big rear ends like mine."
Review 8 for Ultimate Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved them!,
January 7, 2011
By: dchjr
from Jax, FL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Perfect pants for Quail hunting. They are a great pair of pants and I would suggest to any who were looking for a comfortable durable pair of briar britches.
Orvis Rocks again!"
Review 9 for Ultimate Upland Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not very tough,
February 27, 2009
By: FarmDog
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Bought these for a bird hunt and they made it a day. The regular fabric is really thin and ripped on the side of my thigh just walking though some brush. Thought that orvis pants would have been a little tougher than that. They looked good though."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 25, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that these pants ripped on the very first day of being worn. Orvis thanked the customer for providing this useful feedback and, of course, offered an exchange or a refund. Orvis will cheerfully exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Furthermore, this feedback has been submitted to the Product Developer for consideration.