Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants

Our signature 8-oz pure-cotton denim pants are styled with a soft knit waistband for the comfort of favorite sweats and the casual look of jeans. Easy-fitting, full stretch waist. Back darts for fit. Scoop pockets. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported. Regular and petite sizes XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20). 31" regular inseam; 29" petite inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
15
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 star
3
47 of 60(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Review 1 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love the concept!,
March 16, 2014
By: vemilion
from Minneapolis, MN
"I love the concept of comfortable waist jeans that look like regular jeans. The other reviewers were right on the fit though. The legs are wide and baggy so they are not very flattering with my short legs. They seem to run big as well."
Review 2 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
always ready to go,
February 24, 2014
By: FlaGirl
"most of all, they are comfortable..you bend, they bend, you squat, they do too...with no pilling, squeezing. Fabric is great: with a little softener in the rinse, they never need pressing. I love 'em.."
Review 3 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thank you orvis,
February 21, 2014
By: annmc
"i did what others suggested and ordered a size down (small instead of medium) and voila, they are perfect"
Review 4 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too Bad!,
February 10, 2014
By: PCLEO
from Park City, UT
"I really thought this would be a good alternative to jeans. The waist fits well-non-binding but not too loose either. The denim is a good weight. But the bottoms of the legs are much wider than pictured and really detract from overall style. Both pairs are going back. Such a disappointment."
Review 5 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 4, 2014
By: Lubelle
from Ohio
"I just had these pants shortened and have not worn them yet. I wanted something that looked like jeans but a bit lighter fabric wise. They may be a bit fuller than I would have liked. Hope I am satisfied."
Review 6 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
flexible waist, floral vest,
January 30, 2014
By: franee
from manchester, VT
"Pants. Too tight in the waist. Not comfortable.
Vest: Loved this vest. Works well with black pants and colored shirts.
Very Springlike.
"
Review 7 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable casual pants,
January 22, 2014
By: Diatom
from Charleston SC
"This is the second pair of these roomy, comfortable jeans I've purchased. They wash well and are a nice weight for cool weather. They seem to be cut generously and I've been ordering a size smaller than I do in other styles."
Review 8 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turned out to be an excellent buy,
January 13, 2014
By: Annaspal
from Collierville, TN
"I've never had much luck buying any clothing for my wife, but this purchase as a gift was an exception. As seniors, both of us are short and somewhat heavyset so we both have problems finding nice looking, yet comfortable denims. Problem solved in these very nice knit-waist pants for my wife. The petite length in large is perfect for her and she says the knit-waist is so comfortable. The denim is very soft and the weight is just right for anything but perhaps the hottest or coldest weather. These pants are so well made in every way, my wife was impressed and that's not been an easy achievement in our 50 yrs. of marriage."
Review 9 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knit-Waist Denims,
October 1, 2013
By: MoCatWoman
from Saint Louis, MO
"This is the second pair I've ordered -- the petite large fits perfectly, and feels great on. I have the black and dark denim colors, and plan to order the lighter color soon. I might just get another pair of black ones, too."
Review 10 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally able to wear BJ's,
September 21, 2013
By: SancyMo
from St Louis area
"I am a Liver Transplant recipient and haven't been able to wear anything on my stomach that is tight or binding. Blue Jeans were one of the items I had to give up. Now with this waist band I can wear them again! Thanks Orvis for having them in Petite too."
Review 11 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but too big.,
August 19, 2013
By: Mel48
"I like the material, style and quick delivery but the jeans were too big for me."
Review 12 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfy,
June 18, 2013
By: Maggie9
"The pants are comfortable. I would buy a size down because they run big. My biggest complaint about the pants is that I had to wash the black pair about twelve times to get the smell of the dye out of them before I could wear them. The dye is overpowering, and if you are sensitive, you may want to consider selecting a different color."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy and comfy,
June 18, 2013
By: sfbevster
"These are sturdy, well-made and well-fitting. Good length for me (I'm 5'7" with fairly long legs). The legs are wide, but just throw on some wedges and a striped top and rock it like you just came from the beach."
Review 14 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very Comfortable,
June 4, 2013
By: brightonruth
from Maryland
"The waist is comfortable but runs large and I need to figure out how to make it a little smaller because the pants droop. (There are no belt loops.) The length is perfect. The style and stone color are just what I wanted. To make them look their best requires ironing, however, which isn't fun."
Review 15 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
May 20, 2013
By: joan52
"these are so comfortable--so much better than regular elastic waist slacks- they stay in place and look better."
Review 16 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not for me,
May 14, 2013
By: khunt
"well made, but as others have complained, to wide in legs, would have keep if not for this. Wish you would have them remake these with smaller legs really liked the fit around the waist."
Review 17 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my pants,
May 13, 2013
By: heyjude45
from clearwater fla
"My name is Judy and I love my pants In fact I now have them in every color they make I guess I am addicted to Orvis but I do not want to be cured"
Review 18 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Petite sizes are awesome!,
May 7, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Bolton, Ontario
"So nice to have petite sizes although I'd like to see more. Comfy waistband. Stay neat looking."
Review 19 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please more Petite sizes!!,
May 2, 2013
By: Barbee
from Hillsborough, NC
"I flip thro' your catalog quickly 'cause there are so few petite sizes. More would improve my needs.....I think I have voiced this before, in a critique. If I'm WILD about something, I might order the L size, & hem it up.....but that's not often. But I did LOVE these jeans 'cause they have a tummy flattner, &, tho' a little long, are OK. That's why I ordered 2 pair."
Review 20 for Knit-Waist Vintage Denim™ Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jeans,
May 1, 2013
By: BHFISH
"These jeans are of highest quality and workmanship. The elastic waist band is comfortable and attractive."