Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Short-Sleeved Shirtdress

This women's shirtdress design is an Orvis customer-favorite style, updated in a fresh blue floral print for warm weather. Features include a point collar, button-front placket, and short sleeves. Full elastic waist with tie belt. Paneled skirt with graceful sweep. On-seam pockets. Women's shirtdress in blue floral. Rayon. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: 8, 14; about 32" long from waistline.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Review 1 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Short waist,
August 11, 2013
By: mostlyonlineshopper
from West Chester, PA
"I liked the fabric and style of this dress but it was very short waisted. The elastic waist was about 4 inches above my natural waist. I am 5'9". I purchased two different sizes and had the same problem with both. Had to return them."
Review 2 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go anywhere dress!,
August 5, 2013
By: sewcrazy
from Shelby Twp. MI
"A real basic that can be dressed up or down making it appropriate for any occasion. I like the pattern, it's easy to accessorize and the colors compliment everyone."
Review 3 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
pretty dress,
July 31, 2013
By: ValleyNana
from Central Valley CA
"I'm 5'9, 162 lbs, 40-34-39 and the dress did fit really well, except as others have noted the dress is extremely short-waisted. I am normal proportions, so there was a
blunder in the tailoring of this dress.
I do believe it would even be short waisted on a petite sized person.
I have sewn for myself, and know
when a dress is incorrectly tailored.
Also, the sleeves are unattractively short, not having the lovely length shown online.
I believe the length could be longer as well, then you may just have the perfect dress!
"
Review 4 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gotta Have It,
July 17, 2013
By: dannb
from Jefferson City, MO
"I'm very pleased with this dress. It's comfortable and can be worn to work or for drinks and dinner afterward."
Review 5 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
perfect all-occasion dress!,
July 16, 2013
By: theatrebuff
from Baltimore, MD
"I ordered a size 8 but exchanged it for a size 10 because the dress is rather short-waisted. I'm 5'4" and average build, so a size 8 would have been fine otherwise.
This is such a lovely dress! The light feel of the fabric makes it perfect for spring-summer-fall. The drape of the fabric is very slimming, so that the gathered skirt doesn't look bulky over the hips. It's the perfect all-occasion dress - so difficult to find nowadays!
"
Review 6 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Waist too high,
July 8, 2013
By: violinist
from Salt Lake City, UT
"Beautiful print on light weight fabric. I like the full sleeves (instead of tiny cap sleeves) and pockets. I should have paid more attention to other reviews. I am near 6 feet tall and the waist is so high, it was like and empire waist on me. I expected the rayon to be silkier and prettier at the price. Had to return the dress."
Review 7 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for mature body typed,
June 28, 2013
By: Youarekidding
from Bellevue, WA
"Nice print and fabric. While dress has a full skirt and elastic which is forgiving of no perfect bodies, sleeves are narrow and good for those with heavy upper arms."
Review 8 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful dress,
June 6, 2013
By: Englishcocker
from Idaho
"Soft drape, no wrinkles. So comfortable. This is the second dress of this style I purchased. Its so hard to find a feminine modest dress. Great length on short sleeves. Perfect for office, church or social. PLEASE HAVE MORE DRESSES OF THIS QUALITY AND STYLE."
Review 9 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable,
June 4, 2013
By: howdy
from Burleson TX
"Casually dressy, comfortable to wear, looks nice, and I received compliments when I wore it."
Review 10 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer Floral Dress,
June 3, 2013
By: Koala2
from Bethesda, MD
"Love the dress that I am wearing with a navy jacket and a pair of navy high heel sandals. Got many compliments and the dress not only looks fabulous but also travels well."
Review 11 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice - short in the bodice,
June 4, 2012
By: Albert2
from Ontario, Canada
"The fabric is a gorgeous rayon - really lovely. If you are a tall woman (I am 5'10") it is just a little short in the bodice section. An individual of 5'8" or less it would probably be fine. I usually wear 8 and the skirt is very full. I love the pockets."
Review 12 for Short-Sleeved Shirtdress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not perfect but close,
June 4, 2012
By: Babs2
from Ontario, Canada
"I realy love this dress but I find the elastic waist is a bit to high and it feels uncomfortable when I lift my arms. I have altered it and lowered the waist to suit me. Over all I'm pleased as I am with most everthing I've ordered from Orvis over the years. The fabric and print are wonderfull."