Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress

A slightly bohemian influence lends carefree ease to this hand-batiked blue-print dress. Rows of smocking at the rounded neckline and waist enhance the graceful shape. On-seam pockets. Rayon dress for women in blue multi. Rayon. Dry clean/hand wash. Imported.Sizes: XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 28" long from waistline.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
6
10 of 24(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Review 1 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort Plus,
March 25, 2014
By: AKronym
"A dress that is comfortable, light weight, and carries the colors of the ocean will be my summer staple."
Review 2 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Only good for women with tiny bottoms,
March 14, 2014
By: Fifi1614
"I can't believe this dress would look good on any woman who did not look like an inverted pyramid. The top is very roomy but the skirt is tiny in comparison. Not flattering at all."
Review 3 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfactory,
March 10, 2014
By: Lena1925
from Issaquah, WA.
"This is the best fitting, looking and well made dress! the fabric feels wonderful! And while it indicated that my waistline needs improvement, I will purposely keep the dress and go on a diet!
Carolyn Carson
"
Review 4 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful, Delicate Dress,
February 19, 2014
By: grannyof17
from Huntington, UT
"This is another item I bought for my friend's daughter who is 19 years old, 5'10" and quite slim (we got her a size S). It was a perfect fit for this girl and looked absolutely Beautiful on her. I could find no fault with the dress construction. The fabric is a lovely draping rayon and the dress will be very easy to clean. Minimal ironing."
Review 5 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad Construction!,
January 15, 2014
By: pocketlady
"It looks cute in the picture, but I had to return it. The sleeves were not the same leghth and the skirt was also crooked in the sewing. Orvis stood behind it and refunded my money. Too bad."
Review 6 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Fondness for Batik,
January 15, 2014
By: shorebird2
from South Carolina
"If you like Batik and you want an exceptionally cool dress, this is for you. The fabric is light weight and will be so-o-o cool on hot humid days. The print is lovely in muted shades of blue. You will need to wear a slip. I have one question: the dress is advertised as being a rayon dress. The label in mine says "100% cotton." Which is it?"
Review 7 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovely summer dress,
December 16, 2013
By: pissarro
from NY, NY
"Another Orvis winner! As usual, well-made with nice detailing. The fabric is very soft and light and the pattern pretty. My only complaint is true of all Orvis dresses on me - my waist is a little lower than that on the dress, but fortunately the elastic banding means that it isn't very noticeable."
Review 8 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty Dress,
November 15, 2013
By: Lassie2
from SF Bay Area, CA
"I order my dress size which is an XS and it fits more or less as pictured. The color is gorgeous and the pattern intricate. You need to wear a slip underneath. Each one is hand-made so workmanship may differ slightly."
Review 9 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casual dressy dess,
August 8, 2013
By: Whereisit
from Evansville, Indiana
"I was pleased with the dress. I was looking for one that would not be too dressy and was suitable for an older lady. This one fit the bill perfectly"
Review 10 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Disappointed,
July 9, 2013
By: Dubya203
from Chelmsford, Essex
"The workmanship, fit & general appearance of this dress was dismal.for the price. The smocking was very untidy & I felt it should at least have been lined. This was my first order with Orvis & it was very disappointing. Fortunately, the telephone person was most helpful & I would recommend her to all."
Review 11 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect for the older woman,
July 1, 2013
By: wiggins
"As I am on dialysis, I look for clothes with three quarter sleeves to cover the fistula. I am very pleased with the dress, it hangs nicely and is a good design for some one of my age, 77."
Review 12 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poorly Constructed,
June 13, 2013
By: zome
"the dress is made of flimsy material ;has no lining which makes it hang poorly. The shirring on one shoulder does not match the stitching on the other. The hem is not level."
Review 13 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Batik print blue dress,
June 11, 2013
By: Mayree
from Tallahassee, FL
"I ordered this because I loved the length of the sleeves, the order arrived promptly, the material of the dress is thin, not great quality, and the skirt gathers are most skimpy, the color and print are nice. I normally like Orvis products, but this one is not up to standard."
Review 14 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
May 20, 2013
By: Paynter
from North Carolina
"The dress looks so "flow-y", slimming, and pretty in the picture. In reality, it makes one look somewhat dumpy and seems too short for the style. Also, the sleeves don't stay up (elastic not tight enough), and, although it irons easily, It appears that significant wrinkling would occur when packed or worn."
Review 15 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Big Disappointment,
May 1, 2013
By: 2Dogs4Me
from Adirondacks in New York
"The dress did not look on me anything like the one pictured on line or in the catalogue. Granted I am only 5'2" and perhaps that was the problem. The waist was much too long and the top did not blouse at the waist at it should have. The medium was also quite large but I doubt a small would have fit. I had to return it."
Review 16 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tissue thin,
April 5, 2013
By: KleehAtl
from Atl
"The fabric in this dress in see through. I couldn't wear it without going out an shopping for a full slip.
Sent it back
"
Review 17 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
April 4, 2013
By: NCMike
"I found the dress had an exceptionally long waist. It made me look like I had a pouch in front. I returned the dress."
Review 18 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sent it back,
October 8, 2012
By: unhappy2
from alpharetta, ga
"Fabric was pretty, but if fit terribly. I purchased a large and have never seen a dress where my body looked this bad. Someone who is very thin and size small might like this dress."
Review 19 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
June 26, 2012
By: raingirl
from Vancouver, BC,
"Love the color and print and style of dress.
Problem is that it is too slim or skimpy. I think it is more a size 10 than a size 12. It stretches too tight across my body.
All the other products I ordered were excellent and fit well so I am very happy with them. Just disappounted that this dress did not fit well because I like it very much.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smocked Batik-Printed Rayon Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as fluid as photo,
June 25, 2012
By: Midnight24
from Buffalo, NY
"This is a beautiful dress in the photo. But in size large, the skirt did not fall as vertically and did not seem as long, as pictured. I looked very wide in the dress, and the bloused top contributed to this impression as well. The fabric seemed fluid, but I'm not sure there was enough in the skirt for it to fall gracefully--at least in my size. Ordered through the mail; unfortunately will have to be returned."