Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Silk Hopsack Blazer

We've given our famous hopsack blazer—a longtime customer favourite, cut for comfort, versatility, and good looks at home or abroad—a summertime upgrade. Woven from pure silk, this blazer's fabric breathes to keep you cool when temperatures climb; plus, silk offers depth of colour and a distinctive hand unavailable in other fabrics. Three exterior pockets. Four interior pockets: two with secure closure, two sized for smartphone or music player. Three-button cuffs. Single-vented rear hem. Men's silk blazer in navy. Pure silk body. 52% polyester/48% viscose lining. Dry clean. Regular even sizes 38-48Long even sizes 40-48
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
25 of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Review 1 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for Summer,
April 8, 2014
By: JPCyclist
from Sacramento, CA
"This is a great looking jacket that makes one look dressed when the temperature rises. It hangs great even after sitting."
Review 2 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rather disappointed,
March 25, 2014
By: TailorQuigley
from Herefordshire
"The jacket I received had been incorrectly tagged as a 40L when it was a 40R. I didn't feel the overall quality was at the level I expected so I did not request a correct replacement.
That said the service, delivery and refund were first class.
"
Review 3 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very attractive jacket,
March 13, 2014
By: Bubbles21
from Akron, OH
"Very nice looking jacket but the catalog did not show it as a long so returned."
Review 4 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Blazer,
March 2, 2014
By: Rusty36
from Pittsburgh,PA
"Navy Hopsack blazer is in very good taste. Excellent addition to any wardrobe. Should provide many years of good wear."
Review 5 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neat and Understated,
February 10, 2014
By: WVMTR
from Northern West Virginia
"This jacket is way better than I thought it would be, It can be used in a formal or an informal event. I like the quality and the amazing fit. I knew it would be nice, because I expect that from Orvis, but I didn't thing it would be as nice as it is !"
Review 6 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk blazer,
January 9, 2014
By: minnesotamark
from northern Minnesota
"Great feel, nicely tailored, size seems right on as described.
Should be able to wear it on the few warm nights we have in late July/early August.
"
Review 7 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time on Orvis,
December 4, 2013
By: JaydeeSAL
"A friend recommended Orvis and after a bit of searching I bought the Silk Hopsack Blazer. The size was just right and it has a great touch to it.
Looks fabulous and would try out other products in the future.
"
Review 8 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
October 31, 2013
By: Nickname2013
from Charleston, SC
"Silk fabric just doesn't work for a "blue hopsack blazer." I have purchased MANY items from Orvis, and other than sizing, all have been great. But this was a dud and the sales rep was of little help....quite disappointed in both."
Review 9 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fabric and weight,
September 28, 2013
By: Gilgalad
from Kansas City
"This jacket is a great weight for moderate to warm weather. The fabric has a pleasant texture and drape. Very versatile color and styling. Thumbs-up."
Review 10 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tight across the back,
September 16, 2013
By: noblisse
from yorkshire
"Great Jacket but tight across the back / shoulders so ok for slim build only."
Review 11 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very european style,
September 4, 2013
By: gerhardt
from concord, ma
"good quality i can't wait to wear this in south africa going to a safari"
Review 12 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful coat,
August 20, 2013
By: JPK1
from Miami, FL
"I live in Miami and am a 42-Long. The photos do not do justice to the true beauty of this coat. The silk weave and the color are beautiful - there is no other word. I had reservations about the brown buttons but they go great with brown loafers. It is truly a tropical weight (comfy in hot / humid weather). I think it's crazy how difficult it was to locate such a coat - particularly given the tens of millions of men who live in Florida, Georgia, Texas, Arizona, etc. Next time I will begin my search with Orvis. I can usually wear coats of the rack with zero tailoring, and this coat is no exception. Shoulders are barely padded but mine are naturally wide (plus I've been swimming a lot) so that is fine."
Review 13 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sportcoat,
August 19, 2013
By: maxamillion
from Wauwatosa, WI
"The ssportcoat is light as a feather, has a good feel to it and fits nicely allowing for good movement. Great materials."
Review 14 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sport jacket,
August 5, 2013
By: Ruralguy
from Oklahoma City, OK
"This is just an outstanding sports jacket that if comfortable, light and very good looking. This is the perfect jacket for those business events that require you to be a little bit more dressy. It goes with slacks or even with blue jeans. Great for summer, spring and fall wear."
Review 15 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
cool but not for a funeral,
August 5, 2013
By: jackyredz25
"casual comfortable, great color, just not for a funeral or job interview"
Review 16 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Hopsack Bazer,
July 2, 2013
By: WCGATL
"Light, airy, perfect blazer for steamy southern evenings. Wears great, easy to care for. It's silk, so just hang close to a warm steam shower and wrinkles drop out."
Review 17 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very useful blazer,
June 18, 2013
By: MikeinKenner
from New Orleans metro area, LA
"The navy blue silk hopsack blazer should be very useful. It has the light weight and breathable weave good for hot summer weather. The weave looks somewhat like linen, but the silk should wrinkle less, and wrinkles that do occur will steam out easily. (A few wrinkles from shipping steamed out easily.) So far I've found it comfortable in the hot and humid weather of southeastern Louisiana. The color looks great and goes with many outfit choices. I like that it has simpler brown buttons instead of brass buttons--it makes it more versatile, being able to dress up or down without looking like it's out of place. The fit is great. My size is borderline between regular and long lengths (my height indicates regular, but my arms are a little longer than average), so I e-mailed Orvis customer service and got the actual garment dimensions, which helped me make the correct choice for the size. I got the regular length. The sleeves are about an inch longer than sport coats I have from other clothiers, which makes the Orvis coat perfect for me. I'm looking forward to being able to get a lot of use out of the navy blue silk hopsack blazer. It's perfect for my workplace jacket and tie dress code, while not being unbearably hot in the summer. I'm very pleased with it."
Review 18 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blazer long,
May 29, 2013
By: realistpainter
from new york new york
"i'll no doubt replace the buttons and the sleeves could be about 1/4 in longer. but other than that i like the jacket"
Review 19 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casual Sports jacket,
May 27, 2013
By: Alberto1
from Wisconsin
"Soft finish. Nicely dark navy. I like that it does not have shiny metal buttons. I plan on using it traveling overseas and like that inside buttoned pockets. As with most off-the-rack coats, tailoring around the shoulders is poor."
Review 20 for Silk Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent fabric,
May 14, 2013
By: rumford
from Berkeley, CA
"Lovely silk, especially the texture, and how it combines with the deep color. Would be better with black buttons"