Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam

An oversized design that incorporates many of the best features of all of our dog beds. It starts with the polyester-filled bolsters, a double-bolster design that provides cozy support while maintaining the shape and structural integrity of the bed. Underneath, your dog will enjoy the cushioning and support of a 4"-thick cushion of memory foam designed specifically for dogs. Finally, we topped it with a faux-shearling surface that's low shedding and cleans up easily. Water-resistant liner. Cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.464 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
25 of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Review 1 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cozy Daybed,
July 25, 2014
By: 05272014
"This will be a great addition particularly for any older dog or one that you are trying to keep off the "people" couches which is what I intended my purchase for as soon as I throw out my old couch. Well made. Only item I would change is the big logo sewn into back top."
Review 2 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointed...,
March 26, 2014
By: PRTMom
"We own 2 other memory foam beds (other brands) for our 7-year-old Parsons Russell Terrier and he loves them. So we decided to go with another memory foam bed (this one from Orvis) for another home and the little guy thinks it's great. However, it LOOKS terrible! There's too much fabric; it's all bunched up in the bottom of the bed, whereas the fabric on his other beds is smooth and taut. I called Orvis Customer Service who said the memory foam pad must have been cut too small. They were great and immediately sent me a replacement bed but it was exactly like the first one! Loose fabric, all bunched up, very unattractive. I can only deduce this is a characteristic of this bed??"
Review 3 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful and snuggly,
March 8, 2014
By: MegandMolly
from Swindon, UK
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this for my 2 rescue Westies in medium. It looks large when they are snuggled and just right when they spread out. Now we have one dog we have lent the bed to my as sister who's lurcher always sleeps in her bed - not any more! Since borrowing this Orvis bed her aging dog enjoys the memory foam rather than her bed. I as also love how easy it is to wash and it is well made and the fabrics are wonderful"
Review 4 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very neat with small issues,
February 10, 2014
By: Hirugohan
from Atlanta, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I will state the good things first. This bed is very gorgeous to look at. I put it right by the side of my couch in the living room and not just my dog loves it but all visitors love it too. I hear compliments all the time. Also, it's comfortable for my dog to use and the design is very good. Now two bad things (things need improvement probably): 1. the inner side of the cushion is made of memory foam and it's wrapped by another layer of water-proof linen. But it's stiff and makes noises when my dog gets on it. The first few days my dog would not get on it because of that noise (my dog hiru is a bit sensitive about new things). And I removed that linen then he liked the bed and started using it. I really think that layer of linen could have been made of better materials. 2. About the size. my dog weighs 24lbs so I chose the small size bed. It turned out that it barely fit him. I am glad that this website changed the picture. Before my purchase the picture showed a small dog laying on a I guess would be large size so it makes me think the bed is extra large for my dog (it lists for up to 50 lbs). But you can see from my picture, my dog (24lbs) can barely fit in. And I really wanted a bed with extra room so he could stretch out entirely. So if your dog is about 50lbs or close to that, I strongly suggest you go for a larger (medium at least).
Overall I am happy about the purchase (could have made a better choice of picking a larger bed for my dog though) . Thanks for reading"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beds don't get better than this!,
January 10, 2014
By: whiskey110
from Hertfordshire
"The service was excellent from Orvis. I am a first time buyer and was very impressed with all of the items I bought and the delivery.
I have just rescued a Tibetan Terrier to keep our current TT company and therefore needed to buy new beds in which they could snuggle up. My rescue TT has had a hard lfie living outside in a kennel and I wanted to give her a taste of luxury. This bed certainly fits that description. It appears very well made and very comfortable, more like a miniature sofa than a dog bed. There has been no sagging as described in the reviews of some of other models. You pull it out of the box and it is good to go. Rum, my current TT, has a full coat and was less keen to lie in a warm bed but Noodle my new TT took about 5 minutes of scouting her new surroundings to suss out that, with her completely sheared coat, this bed looked good. She has made it her own, and Rum joins her whenever she needs to keep warm. I purchased the medium size and I have to say it is HUGE. I think I could definitely have gone for the small size to fit both of the girls happily. As it is they can sprawl out next to each other with lots of spare room. Oh and the other person who I have to pry out of it constantly is my 4 year old son....he thinks it is great to sit on, lie in or jump on. This bed is not cheap but when you see your dogs stretched out with a blissful look on their face (as Noodle does) it is certainly worth ithe price.
"
Review 6 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product; pup loves it,
December 11, 2013
By: UpstateNYDogmom
from Glenmont, NY
"I bought this bed 5 months ago for our Golden Retriever puppy, Crispin. He was 7 months then, and probably 50 pounds or so (he's about 75 lbs. now). I'm lucky to live close enough to the Orvis outlet in Manchester, VT for regular raids on their dog (and other) products, and purchased it there. We'd also bought Orvis beds for our prior dog during his lifetime, and the foam ones were always favorites.
I purchased a large, anticipating that Crispin would grow into it; I think when he reaches his full-grown, filled-out weight, it will be perfect. The bed is big, but he loves all of the extra room. He can play with a toy on his bed, he can assume different positions, either curled or stretched out, and he can welcome guests to his bed (my husband or me). If you like to sit on a big, comfortable cushion and snuggle with your dog, this is the dog bed for you.
Crispin took to his bed immediately, and unlike less well-made beds he had as a very young puppy, he doesn't even try to abuse it. He hasn't chewed, raked, or damaged this bed in any way--pretty amazing for a Golden puppy/young dog, and says something about the quality and sheer mass of the bed.
He lies against the bolster and sometimes props his head or muzzle on it, and since the bolster slopes down on both sides toward the front, he has a choice of what height he prefers.
Removing the cover and washing it is not difficult. Putting it back on gets easier with practice; there are actually two bolster pieces to stuff back in, but unlike a prior bed with the same type of construction, the zippers are almost as long as the bolster pieces, so re-stuffing them is not hard. I'm a 61-year-old lady with arthritis, and I can do it. I also think that having two pieces to the bolster is the reason it stands up so well--it has not sagged or flattened.
I like going to Manchester, so may purchase another for the family room (this one is in our bedroom). All in all, we couldn't be happier with this purchase, and expect Crispin will be using it for years to come."
Review 7 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Soooo disappointed!,
November 25, 2013
By: Doggirl2005
from Cedarburg, WI
"I just received this bed via UPS...and I cannot believe I received a properly made bed. There are no poly filled bolsters surrounding this bed and the part where dogs rest their heads on is completely flat. Not only that...the memory foam part is deformed. I am thinking that would work itself out once it warms up (it's really hard from the cold I'm sure)...but who knows. I am returning this bed tomorrow!! I am very very disappointed!! :-("
Review 8 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed,
November 21, 2013
By: Ringo0809
"So, like many others I researched other beds before deciding on this purchase. The price was the main deterrent. We have a 15 week old Great Dane that is quickly outgrowing our couch! We wanted something similar to the couch so thought the bolsters would be the way to go. We were very happy when we opened the box with the bed and so was our Dane! He hasn't gotten off it since it came out of the box! I could sleep on it, it's that comfy! Our pup is about 50+ lbs right now and we bought the large. He has plenty of room to grow into it. My only tiny complaint is with the embroidery. It's on the flat front of the bed and not centered. As This is purely aesthetic and has nothing to do with my dogs comfort I still gave it a 5. But for the price the embroidery could be in a better spot...and centered."
Review 9 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not used as much as the Deep Dish,
November 20, 2013
By: Going2theDogs
from Dallas, TX
"I had such high hopes after the success of the Deep Dish Dog Bed with Memory foam, but my dogs just don't use this one as much. In fact, hardly at all (see my Deep Dish memory Foam review!). One of my dogs loves to stretch out his chin on raised surfaces and the deep dish bolsters sag quite a bit. This looked like it has potential, but he just can't seem to get comfortable on the bolster.
I'm also a little disappointed in the monogramming, which is in the front along the bottom, but the way the front has already collapsed, the clever (if I do say so myself) monogram, "Rest Your Bones" cannot be read unless the bed has been freshly "plumped". This isn't a bad bed, but I would not buy another, and I may end up purchasing another deep dish dog bed instead.
"
Review 10 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best spot in the entire house!,
October 20, 2013
By: StayAtHomeDoggieMummy
from Viborg, Denmark
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We got this after considering it for quite some time, the price being what made us hesitate but we are all happy we took the plunge now! Our 10 year old Lab was at first suspicious and we had to put his snuggle pillow in the bed in order to get him to lie in it but now he loves it! After we had an addition to the family we had to get another one, purely for the sake of our conscience, if nothing else. How could we not get a fab bed for our little puppy when our old boy had such a throne for a bed? Out of the question! She prefers to snuggle up with the old man but at least they have their own space should they want it. Quite often you will find all four of us snuggled up in the dog beds, which are facing each other, with plenty of room for everyone but then both are in X-Large. All our friends are green with envy and want one too. Some don't even have dogs..! We couldn't be happier with them."
Review 11 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
October 9, 2013
By: tmliddle
from South Glens Falls, NY
"While this is a big dog bed, it is simply stunning, very comfortable and easy to vacuum and wipe up if there is anything on it. I haven't tried to wash it yet but I don't see where it will be an issue. I'm so glad I bit the bullet and bought it as I honestly think it's worth every cent I paid and, as always, Orvis customer service is fantastic."
Review 12 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
August 31, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"My kids commandeered this from the dogs for their playroom as a hangout zone. Yes it really is that good...poor dogs!"
Review 13 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heaven for Dogs~!,
June 18, 2013
By: Remy2013
from Toronto Canada
"My dog is 10 years old and quite happy to snooze her days away. She now not only snoozes in the her dog bed but spends hours at as time sitting on the mattress watching the world from her bedroom window. I declare this dog bed the best in the world, not only for comfort but the design of the bolster itself, which allows her to wrap her entire body against a strong support as well as rest her chin on the lip to share her smile as she relaxes in the comfort of the horseshoe."
Review 14 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
April 24, 2013
By: Kipp777
from Stockton, CA
"In 28 years of marriage and dog ownership, we have been through some dogs beds. Our aging girls (13 year old Shepherd and 9 year old Field Springer) needed a more supportive bed for their favorite window area on a stone floor. The large bed did the trick....they love it! I love it because I just had to take it apart to launder the cover. It cleaned up beautifully and went back together very easily. I'm ordering another for our living room. Thanks for the excellent product!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Impressed!!!,
April 24, 2013
By: KandMia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am so thrilled with this purchase. I have been shopping around for dog beds online for a few months now an came across the Orvis dog bed selection about a month ago. I was a little hesitant about the price so I kept looking. I finally decided that I would make the purchase and I am sooo thrilled I did! The quality of this bed is superb. The memory foam is fantastic and bounces back after my dog and myself (i had to try it out) get up. The only reason it did not get 5 stars is because of the price. Overall I am very happy and my dog is too!"
Review 16 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The picture says it all,
January 17, 2013
By: Nyrene
from San Francisco, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My 85 lbs Lab LOVES this bed. First day out of the box and he took it over completely. He has another memory foam bed without the bolster and he comes downstairs at night to sleep on this one. The picture says it all!"
Review 17 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
January 16, 2013
By: Myorphans
from Mpls MN
"I'm very pleased. The fabric quality is great and very attractive. The memory foam although new yet, seems very sturdy, firm & very good quality. Therefore, my lab who has a bad hip doesn't 'sink' so far into it, that it makes him struggle when getting up. I think its size is accurately described. I wouldn't account for it being larger than it says, as other reviews stated. Fortunately I have 2 dogs and I expect to order another one in the size I would have if I hadn't read that it is bigger than described. And my dog seems pleased as well."
Review 18 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Our pups are HAPPY!,
November 30, 2012
By: ShannonJ
"After much research and comparisons, we went with this bed. We were looking for something good for our 12 year old golden to spend her golden nights and day naps on comfortably. She is a hot sleeper so the Orvis rep said the memory foam would be better than the themperpedic. I would have given 5 stars, but I feel the cost is a bit high. We ended up getting the Large bed for our 65 lbs golden. I know it says the medium is the right size, but she likes to stretch out and lay on her back with all legs all over the place. :) There is enough room for our smaller 25 lbs dog to fit in with her as well and they both like to sprawl out. This would be a great size for 2 goldens her size, easily. I put this bed down and our golden laid right down and did not get up for 4-5 hours. She normally moves around a lot from couch, to old pillow, to chair, etc., but not with this bed. She LOVES it!"
Review 19 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy Bed,
November 22, 2012
By: Greytmom12
from Springfield, IL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Like many of us on this website, I spent plenty of time researching the pros and cons of various dog beds. I eventually chose this bed for my 11 year old retired greyhound because he loves to stretch out and it contains enough solid memory foam. As you can see from the pictures, he has made himself comfortable. I give it 5 stars, but I haven't tried to wash it yet. I hope it is as easy as the other reviewers report. This is our second Orvis bed, but first memory foam bed. I'm glad I measured the area at the foot of my bed ahead of time, or I would have been surprised by the sheer size of the bed. It supports my senior guy very well, and I'm happy with this purchase."
Review 20 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For Our Sweet Girls,
November 13, 2012
By: RJSkansas
from Hutchinson KS
"As our two "girls" inevitably age, we have looked to change their existing Orvis bead-filled bed with a memory foam bed to provide a greater degree of comfort. Since their existing Orvis bed refused to wear out after many years of use, we decided to re-task it from its location in front of our fireplace to accomodate the bolster bed with memory foam. Both they and we are absolutely delighted with our decision. The quality is exactly as we have come to expect from Orvis. We opted for the large size. And though the room on the bed is ample, the oversized structure, in addition to the bolster provides the flexibility to stretch out or cuddle along the side depending on our dogs' desire. The quality of the materials, and the sturdy construction will allow for many years of comfortable slumber. Orvis never surprises me with inferior products or service. Do your dog(s) a favor, reward their love with a good bed."