Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam

An oversized design that incorporates many of the best features of all of our dog beds. It starts with the polyester-filled bolsters, a double-bolster design that provides cozy support while maintaining the shape and structural integrity of the bed. Underneath, your dog will enjoy the cushioning and support of a 4"-thick cushion of memory foam designed specifically for dogs. Finally, we topped it with a faux-shearling surface that's low shedding and cleans up easily. Water-resistant liner. Cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
37 of 42(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Review 1 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent bed!,
November 15, 2014
By: Shyann
"It's always difficult to find a good looking bed that is large enough to allow my very tall dogs to stretch out on the one hand and curl up against the bolster on the other. This bed is perfect for that. And it's easy to keep clean!"
Review 2 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ratchet Gives His Bed 5 Paws Up,
November 14, 2014
By: BudMansMom
from Idyllwild, CA
"I adopted a 10 year old chocolate lab this year. Ratchet moans and groans when he lays down and likes soft surfaces. This bed was the perfect choice as it keeps him at least 6 inches above the cold floor and encircles him in warmth and comfort. It's also brown, which gives it good looks and doesn't show dog hair easily."
Review 3 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy dogs,,
November 13, 2014
By: getafix
from Buckingham
"Bought for our German Shepherd with a knee problem. She loves it as it is big enough for her to stretch out full length and provides support for her back. The side is the right height to rest her head comfortably. The only drawback is her comfort snoring as she sleeps in our bedroom. She limps less, which I put down to good exercise, targeted medication and the fact she has proper support for her whole body thanks to her new bed."
Review 4 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome bed,
November 13, 2014
By: Smurzynski
from Bethesda, MD
"I bought this for my older dog who has weak back legs. It is perfect. She and our other dog both love it. The foam is sturdy, especially the bolster around the edges so our dogs can rest their heads on the bolster. I am ordering another one today!"
Review 5 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth it's money.,
November 11, 2014
By: Olegundog
"We've bought this bed for our Labrador. He's had joint problems so we opted for memory foam option. He loves it ! He's so comfy he sometimes stays in the bed when we come home wagging his tail.
Very happy with purchase.
"
Review 6 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If she could smile, she would be!,
November 11, 2014
By: Callie99999999
from CHAMBERSBURG, PA
"Our dog, Callie, used to go round and round to make a comfortable nest on her bed, on which to sleep. Not since the new bed arrived. Now she usually circles once and is down pretty much for the night with very little movement. She looks comfortable and content on her new bed. It is pricey but our faithful and elderly Brittany deserved to be able to sleep comfortably in her remaining years."
Review 7 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality,
November 5, 2014
By: SirDallasD
from Los Angeles, CA
"I've been counting the days to receive my dog's new bed only to be very disappointed. The memory foam wasn't measured correctly to fit the size of the bed. Overall missing 9-10 inches of memory foam making the bed look poorly made with the material bunching up in both the back and front of the bed. Returning this item in hopes to receive a replacement of better quality for the price i paid."
Review 8 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the cost,
October 28, 2014
By: BeverlyMom
"This bed is a little pricey but in the eight years we have had our dog, this is the second Orvis bed we have purchased. The beds are truly water resistant which helps keep odors away. The cover is also easy to remove and wash. My dog has a spinal condition that has greatly improved using Orvis orthopedic beds. Only bed we would ever buy."
Review 9 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog bed,
October 28, 2014
By: Labmomx2
from Arizona
"I have 2 Black labs- a 2 year old and a 7 year old. I have bought many beds through the years always disappointed on how little my dogs lay in them. As soon as I pulled these beautiful beds out of the boxes, my dogs laid in them for the rest of the day! As the weeks pass, I'm thrilled to see how much my dogs love these!! They are not only well made and beautiful, they are clearly a hit by those who use them!"
Review 10 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed!,
October 3, 2014
By: mlein
from Larchmont, NY
"Perfect size and shape for my 135 lb newfoundland. This is the only place I ever buy dog beds from - the quality is excellent, and the bed makes my puppy really comfy. I highly recommend it."
Review 11 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Bed Heaven,
September 30, 2014
By: LadysMomma
"Lady, who loves, loves to cuddle on the couch now chooses to sleep in her horseshoe bolster bed. So glad she's find her safe spot. Thanks, Orvis!"
Review 12 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dog Bed,
August 25, 2014
By: imteej
from Scottsdale, AZ
"This bed was bought for my oldest Golden Retriever, Morgan (8 y/o). She loved it immediately!! Got in, layed down and didn't move. I bought the medium in Sage. It is beautiful. There is even room for my other Golden. It provides so much support and the bolster is a perfect pillow for her. Well worth the money. WE ARE TOTALLY SATISFIED!!!"
Review 13 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cozy Daybed,
July 25, 2014
By: 05272014
"This will be a great addition particularly for any older dog or one that you are trying to keep off the "people" couches which is what I intended my purchase for as soon as I throw out my old couch. Well made. Only item I would change is the big logo sewn into back top."
Review 14 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointed...,
March 26, 2014
By: PRTMom
"We own 2 other memory foam beds (other brands) for our 7-year-old Parsons Russell Terrier and he loves them. So we decided to go with another memory foam bed (this one from Orvis) for another home and the little guy thinks it's great. However, it LOOKS terrible! There's too much fabric; it's all bunched up in the bottom of the bed, whereas the fabric on his other beds is smooth and taut. I called Orvis Customer Service who said the memory foam pad must have been cut too small. They were great and immediately sent me a replacement bed but it was exactly like the first one! Loose fabric, all bunched up, very unattractive. I can only deduce this is a characteristic of this bed??"
Review 15 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful and snuggly,
March 8, 2014
By: MegandMolly
from Swindon, UK
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this for my 2 rescue Westies in medium. It looks large when they are snuggled and just right when they spread out. Now we have one dog we have lent the bed to my as sister who's lurcher always sleeps in her bed - not any more! Since borrowing this Orvis bed her aging dog enjoys the memory foam rather than her bed. I as also love how easy it is to wash and it is well made and the fabrics are wonderful"
Review 16 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very neat with small issues,
February 10, 2014
By: Hirugohan
from Atlanta, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I will state the good things first. This bed is very gorgeous to look at. I put it right by the side of my couch in the living room and not just my dog loves it but all visitors love it too. I hear compliments all the time. Also, it's comfortable for my dog to use and the design is very good. Now two bad things (things need improvement probably): 1. the inner side of the cushion is made of memory foam and it's wrapped by another layer of water-proof linen. But it's stiff and makes noises when my dog gets on it. The first few days my dog would not get on it because of that noise (my dog hiru is a bit sensitive about new things). And I removed that linen then he liked the bed and started using it. I really think that layer of linen could have been made of better materials. 2. About the size. my dog weighs 24lbs so I chose the small size bed. It turned out that it barely fit him. I am glad that this website changed the picture. Before my purchase the picture showed a small dog laying on a I guess would be large size so it makes me think the bed is extra large for my dog (it lists for up to 50 lbs). But you can see from my picture, my dog (24lbs) can barely fit in. And I really wanted a bed with extra room so he could stretch out entirely. So if your dog is about 50lbs or close to that, I strongly suggest you go for a larger (medium at least).
Overall I am happy about the purchase (could have made a better choice of picking a larger bed for my dog though) . Thanks for reading"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beds don't get better than this!,
January 10, 2014
By: whiskey110
from Hertfordshire
"The service was excellent from Orvis. I am a first time buyer and was very impressed with all of the items I bought and the delivery.
I have just rescued a Tibetan Terrier to keep our current TT company and therefore needed to buy new beds in which they could snuggle up. My rescue TT has had a hard lfie living outside in a kennel and I wanted to give her a taste of luxury. This bed certainly fits that description. It appears very well made and very comfortable, more like a miniature sofa than a dog bed. There has been no sagging as described in the reviews of some of other models. You pull it out of the box and it is good to go. Rum, my current TT, has a full coat and was less keen to lie in a warm bed but Noodle my new TT took about 5 minutes of scouting her new surroundings to suss out that, with her completely sheared coat, this bed looked good. She has made it her own, and Rum joins her whenever she needs to keep warm. I purchased the medium size and I have to say it is HUGE. I think I could definitely have gone for the small size to fit both of the girls happily. As it is they can sprawl out next to each other with lots of spare room. Oh and the other person who I have to pry out of it constantly is my 4 year old son....he thinks it is great to sit on, lie in or jump on. This bed is not cheap but when you see your dogs stretched out with a blissful look on their face (as Noodle does) it is certainly worth ithe price.
"
Review 18 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product; pup loves it,
December 11, 2013
By: UpstateNYDogmom
from Glenmont, NY
"I bought this bed 5 months ago for our Golden Retriever puppy, Crispin. He was 7 months then, and probably 50 pounds or so (he's about 75 lbs. now). I'm lucky to live close enough to the Orvis outlet in Manchester, VT for regular raids on their dog (and other) products, and purchased it there. We'd also bought Orvis beds for our prior dog during his lifetime, and the foam ones were always favorites.
I purchased a large, anticipating that Crispin would grow into it; I think when he reaches his full-grown, filled-out weight, it will be perfect. The bed is big, but he loves all of the extra room. He can play with a toy on his bed, he can assume different positions, either curled or stretched out, and he can welcome guests to his bed (my husband or me). If you like to sit on a big, comfortable cushion and snuggle with your dog, this is the dog bed for you.
Crispin took to his bed immediately, and unlike less well-made beds he had as a very young puppy, he doesn't even try to abuse it. He hasn't chewed, raked, or damaged this bed in any way--pretty amazing for a Golden puppy/young dog, and says something about the quality and sheer mass of the bed.
He lies against the bolster and sometimes props his head or muzzle on it, and since the bolster slopes down on both sides toward the front, he has a choice of what height he prefers.
Removing the cover and washing it is not difficult. Putting it back on gets easier with practice; there are actually two bolster pieces to stuff back in, but unlike a prior bed with the same type of construction, the zippers are almost as long as the bolster pieces, so re-stuffing them is not hard. I'm a 61-year-old lady with arthritis, and I can do it. I also think that having two pieces to the bolster is the reason it stands up so well--it has not sagged or flattened.
I like going to Manchester, so may purchase another for the family room (this one is in our bedroom). All in all, we couldn't be happier with this purchase, and expect Crispin will be using it for years to come."
Review 19 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Soooo disappointed!,
November 25, 2013
By: Doggirl2005
from Cedarburg, WI
"I just received this bed via UPS...and I cannot believe I received a properly made bed. There are no poly filled bolsters surrounding this bed and the part where dogs rest their heads on is completely flat. Not only that...the memory foam part is deformed. I am thinking that would work itself out once it warms up (it's really hard from the cold I'm sure)...but who knows. I am returning this bed tomorrow!! I am very very disappointed!! :-("
Review 20 for Oversized Horseshoe Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed,
November 21, 2013
By: Ringo0809
"So, like many others I researched other beds before deciding on this purchase. The price was the main deterrent. We have a 15 week old Great Dane that is quickly outgrowing our couch! We wanted something similar to the couch so thought the bolsters would be the way to go. We were very happy when we opened the box with the bed and so was our Dane! He hasn't gotten off it since it came out of the box! I could sleep on it, it's that comfy! Our pup is about 50+ lbs right now and we bought the large. He has plenty of room to grow into it. My only tiny complaint is with the embroidery. It's on the flat front of the bed and not centered. As This is purely aesthetic and has nothing to do with my dogs comfort I still gave it a 5. But for the price the embroidery could be in a better spot...and centered."