Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door

Keep your dog safely out of forbidden hallways with our easy-to-use, freestanding hallway gate. Simply stand it up and adjust it to the desired width—from 62" to 90" wide. Once in place, use the hinged, latching door to gain easy access to the gated-off area. The wide dog gate door stays open when opened past 90 degrees, and closes and latches automatically at any angle less than 90 degrees. Solid-wood construction with a durable lacquer finish. Polyester-coated steel spindles; polypropylene handles. Rubber feet keep the gate in position and prevent damage to floors. Wide dog gate in coffee. Expands from 62"-90"W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Review 1 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
April 8, 2013
By: TunaAlarm
from Grand Island, NY
"We needed a gate and this one did the trick. We even modified it a bit and made it a permanent gate secured to the wall! It would have been fine as a free standing gate - we just wanted the extra security of making it permanent! Love it and highly recommend it!"
Review 2 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
March 27, 2013
By: HalM
from Knoxville, TN
"It came in a larger box than I expected and it weighed a lot in that box, but when I got it out and figured out how to put it together it was not too difficult. Now that it is in place it does what I want, it keeps my two 80-90 pound labrador retrievers from going up my stairs. It seems to hold up well and it is easy enough to operate the door. All in all, an excellent purchase."
Review 3 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 13, 2013
By: LindaT
"Good quality, well designed, not too hard to assemble. Solves the problem of wide spaces with a lovely look"
Review 4 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect gate for wide entryways,
February 28, 2013
By: wagsandpaws
from Okemos, Michigan
"I have been looking for a wide gate to cover an entryway between the hallway and family room where the linoleum meets the carpet. This gate is perfect.
It is a lighter weight than other wide entryway pet gates but is still very sturdy. It was very easy to put together. It also looks nice and has become a part of the room.
I have two dogs (40 - 50 lbs each) and it's easy to keep them behind the barrier. The height is perfect for mid-sized dogs (Orvis does sell a taller version) and is sturdy enough that even if they bumped into it, it would not fall over.
The latching mechanism is as stated in other reviews - a bit flimsy. However, my dogs have yet to figure out that all they have to do is bump the gate up and they're free! I will probably do what another reviewer has done if it becomes an issue - use a velcro strap to keep it closed. As it is now, it's easy for a human to open and close but keeps the dogs contained.
I especially like that the gate will lock in place when it is open so you don't have a free swinging gate.
I have returned other wide entryway pet gates back to other high end catalog retailers because they were too heavy to move around, didn't have protective "feet" to prevent scratching of floors, and / or were not easy for humans to get through while containing pets. This gate meets all my criteria for a good weight, sturdy, floor protection, and a gate for human passageway. Well worth the money!"
Review 5 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome dog gate,
January 28, 2013
By: gschurch
"Having trouble finding a gate to fit a 72" opening. This one adjusts to fit, is attractive and the gate opening works perfectly."
Review 6 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product, GREAT service,
January 25, 2013
By: lastminuteshopper
from Cleveland, Ohio
"Our dog had knee surgery and we needed to confine her for 6 weeks (along with her sister) this gate worked beautifully. It is flexible on sizing and took care of our need perfectly.
What was really incredible about the entire transaction is the help I recieved from the Orvis staff. I spoke to a representative about an issue with my order and it was resolved and handled right then and there while I was on the phone with the rep. They called another department and checked things out and got the order to me in time for the day of surgery. Really impressed with the Orvis customer service.
"
Review 7 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pleased with gate,
November 13, 2012
By: Navy1960
from Newtown Square, PA
"Nice product have not had it long enought to see how it holds back four hungry labradors! Looks great, in newly renovated home, wood makes it seem like a piece of furniture. You have to be careful walking through not to trip on the lower bar on the floor.
gate lock a little flimsy but works Overall very pleased"
Review 8 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beautiful gate BUT .....,
October 18, 2012
By: SpringerLovers
from Michigan
"We purchased two gates for our motor home bunk beds. There were in there for one weekend and the screws were coming out of the door of one and we could not keep the other one closed. The latch is horrible! It is a beautiful gate but the latch quality is SO very poor. For the money spent for the gates the door does not hold up very well. It isn't like our dogs are hard on it, they are obedience trained dogs and know they have to leave things alone.
The gate is a perfect addition and is beautiful but like the other reviews said, the gate and the latch need help."
Review 9 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful gate!,
October 15, 2012
By: M3PQ
from Shaftsbury, VT
"This gate is well made, was easy for my husband to put together, fits our living room entry perfectly and looks really nice while it successfully keeps the dog and cats out of our living room! I like that I can easily enter by using the gate and when I have guests over, it can easily be removed and stored out of sight."
Review 10 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Huge disappointment,
September 6, 2012
By: Chele
from Wantagh, Ny
"After using this gate for less than six months the wood at the bottom of the gate by the door hinge completely split. The gate contained two miniature dachshunds who do not jump on it and there are two adults in the house. The gate was not abused.
The gate is now useless and we have had to tape it together until we can purchase a better gate.
Definitely too expensive for the quality and short time it was used.
I would have given no stars if I could."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart dog stopper!,
August 1, 2012
By: Lucky23
from Sussex
"Very pleased with the hallway gate. I thought the gate catch was a bit weak compared to the sturdiness of the rest of it, but so far it has kept 3 labradors and a 75kg English mastiff at bay! It does look very smart too."
Review 12 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what I expected,
June 7, 2012
By: Vegasbuyer
from Las Vegas
"The gate came with a broken slat. Since it was going to be bolted to another part of the gate in an overlapping fashion, I wood glued the slat, because I did not want the hassle of sending it back. The actual gate that opens is not as secure as I hoped it would be. It does not close very securely. Other than that It was adjustable enough to cover many different sized openings, and it is great for the area I wanted to block off."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis service excellent,
May 29, 2012
By: beaglesforever
"The product was exactly as stated--it met our requirements perfectly.
Importantly, before purchasing the product the Orvis chat people were very, very helpful and patient with my many queries.
And then, when the product arrived with the locking mechanism broken, the firm was quick to collect and replace--all within five days, and from the US at that. I certainly cannot fault the service."
Review 14 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fills the purpose..,
May 25, 2012
By: goldendane
from Middleburg, FL
"Overall this gate is just what we wanted, However, it's difficult to keep the door closed when moving it and even though the gate is of good quality, the plastic cover for the latch is not. We've had to secure the door with a velcro tie to keep the dogs from pushing it open."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
May 18, 2012
By: Msturner
from Naples FL
"I needed a wide gate to separate a strange size door opening between my sitting room area and my bedroom. I have several chihuahuas I wanted to keep off my carpet. But I wanted a gate that was attractive. Its part of my bedroom. Like a piece of furniture. This is perfect. The gate is easy to use. It's attractive and it doesn't require putting any holes in my doors or walls and sits still when my dogs jump up."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wide Hallway Dog Gate with Door
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1