Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Summer Ranger Jacket

We've given our classic Ranger jacket—a military-inspired best seller for years—a summertime update. Lightweight polyamide keeps the breeze at bay, whilst the special water-resistant fabric coating causes rain to bead up and roll off. Double stitched at stress points, this summer jacket for men features a bi-swing back and articulated elbows and underarms for unimpeded range of motion. Two-way front zip closure with button-secured storm flap. Adjustable waist cinch. Concealed hood. Ten pockets, including five with expandable bellows construction, two handwarmers, a sleeve pocket, and two secure interior pockets. Washable genuine leather accents. In dark olive. 100% nylon body; 100% cotton lining with 50% nylon/50% acetate sleeve lining. Washable. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
10 of 14(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Summer Ranger Jacket
Review 1 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality but pricey.,
August 21, 2013
By: IxisAfixis
from Glasgow
"The quality and finish are excellent. The fit is very good. There are no inside breast pockets; it has lower pockets. The zip fastener runs on the right - is this an "Americanism"? Would highly recommend this coat. Should last for years."
Review 2 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer Ranger Jacket,
August 16, 2013
By: nogrunch
"It is what it is, a lightweight jacket; & therefore not up to the rigours of heavy duty wear & tear. As yet I cannot vouch for it being rain or even showerproof (I may find that bit out tomorrow)? Generally speaking, it is a good fit, & although the sleeves aren't too short, they somehow feel as if they are too short - one of life's little conundrums that. It looks good, but whether it makes me look good is another matter? I would not have paid the full asking price, but the sale price tipped the scales, & I'm very pleased with my purchase up to now."
Review 3 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just right 3 season coat,
June 27, 2013
By: EnglishProf
from Bellingham,WA
"This jacket has a lot of character and certainly doesn't look like something off the rack at a mall. Like so many Orvis products, the jacket gets a lot of positive comments from strangers (where did you get it, how much did you have to spend?) It's really more of coat length, and it has served me in winter, spring, and fall - giving just the right combination of raincoat and wind breaker for Western Washington. The jacket is light weight enough for sun breaks and shed water during sudden rainstorms. What I like best is that the jacket isn't stiff or plastic like a true raincoat but rides like a summer jacket. But much too warm for summer. Has been good down to 30 degrees but a bit warm for 60 degrees.
A medium was a perfect fit for me, despite my 44 inch chest."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Conflicted In Name and Function,
June 24, 2013
By: jpaul773
from Victoria, MN
"The name Ranger connotes a tough product for tough conditions. This is a light weight jacket with light weight leather. It might look nice but exactly what function does it serve? Water and leather is not a good combination. Where exactly should I wear this?"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Heartbreaker,
June 11, 2013
By: harjo
from Austin, TX
"This is a beautiful jacket and everything about it was perfect - except the sleeve length. I am 6'2" tall and size 42 and the body length was perfect but the sleeves about 2 inches too short. It would have been my all-time favorite jacket if it had fit."
Review 6 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Absolute Rubbish, gave it away.,
May 5, 2013
By: Ishamiyal
from Greenville, SC
"I bought this coat while in Iraq because from the pictures it looks like a well made military issue coat- and the price would certainly suggest the same. What I received was not what I expected. The material is not a heavy canvas, but a light cotton material that does virtually nothing to stop wind or cold and it certainly doesn't repel water of any kind. The pathetic liner that comes in it adds no warmth, and makes putting the jacket on, or taking it off, a pain. Your arms get caught in between it and the coat sleeves continually- presenting a ridiculous tangle. I don't understand the great reviews this coat has received. If you want a good coat, find a supplier that deals in Mil-Spec merchandise or a reputable outfitter in the business of keeping it's customers alive in harsh environments. I found this jacket to be expensive and cheaply made."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ranger Jacket,
May 3, 2013
By: TXRGR
from Texas
"One of the best jackets I have owned. Great look, warm,lots of pockets for use, outstanding fit, and sheds water well. Quality is second to none."
Review 8 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect light jacket,
February 1, 2013
By: Gostryter
from Ithaca, NY
"I'm thrilled with the fit of the jacket. I agree with others who noted that with sufficient layers this could easily serve in mild winter conditions, but it's definitely more of a spring/fall garment. Feels and looks much more substantial than a hiking style rain jacket. Perfectly suited for travel wear as well."
Review 9 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ranger Jacket,
June 18, 2012
By: minicooper
from oakland, CA
"The photo is misleading. The jacket looks "meatier" in it. In reality it looks more like a nylon jacket with very thin leather trim, which does look good.
The interior pockets would be better placed as breast pockets."
Review 10 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Third Ranger Jacket,
June 12, 2012
By: JamesJet
from Long Island N.Y.
"As it says my Third ranger jacket because i love it.I am still unsure of its quality . My first cotton Ranger is in tatters but is still serving me well i wear it all year long in winter with a wooly pully under neath and its perfect .My second i bought off an auction site because Orvis discontinued the ranger for a while.I have not worn it yet until this new model proves its worth.
The new Model
First impression , Not too impressed. The material is very noisey its a swishy jacket not fit for quiet hunting , cotton was the best.The fit (Im a Large) is slightly shorter in the sleeves and a bit wider in the shoulders , the length is same as original cotton Ranger my finger tips touch the bottom hem.
Overall time will tell but it feels like a windbreaker with leather patches.
I will update my review after i have worn it for a while.
"
Review 11 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Stylish and Functional with Great Customer Se,
April 19, 2012
By: DillonD
from Great Britain
"I first purchased a M size of this jacket as my other jackets are all M as well. However, I found that the M was much, much larger than anticipated so I exchanged for a S. This is where Orvis customer service is second to none. I logged onto the live chat and explained my problems, all of which were fixed within minutes. I now have S size jacket, which has a more baggier fit, but I will keep it because this jacket looks simply amazing. It protects me from the rain, and I am able to wear it in the sun."
Review 12 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Jacket, Runs Small,
March 29, 2012
By: edwusa
from New Jersey
"Nice lightweight jacket, but it runs a little small and has a tighter sleeve and skirt than the older Ranger Jackets, which were Perfect. The new nylon fabric is a lot better than the plain cotton of the older version of this particular Ranger, but I prefer the Waxed Cotton of the other models of the older Ranger. Returned the Large, waiting for the XL. Hopeful ..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Summer Ranger Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Great Jacket,
February 26, 2012
By: WishingIwasinMexico
from Marquette MI
"This may just be the best jacket I've ever owned. It's called a Summer jacket, but I live in the far north, and have been wearing it already. With a layer or 2 under it, it's a perfect shell. The fit is amazing with the bi-swing back. In addition to how functional it is, the look is tremendous. The combination of the olive green with the tan leather is perfect. I'm glad Orvis brought the Ranger jacket back, and really glad it turned out the way it has."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Summer Ranger Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1