Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Surfwashed-Twill Vest

Soft Surfwashed Twill offers the look and feel of a perfectly broken-in favorite. A versatile addition to summer styles, our pure-cotton waistcoat-style women's summer vest is highlighted by rows of decorative topstitching. V-neckline. Orvis-logo pewter buttons. Slightly shaped. Pure cotton . Washable. Imported.Sizes: XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 20" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.16 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
22 of 25(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Review 1 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Looking!,
April 10, 2014
By: PJParsons
from Grapevine, TX
"This vest was light weight and very pretty; however, I had to return it because of the fit. This was to be a gift for a friend."
Review 2 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I liked this vest,
April 3, 2014
By: Eileeno
from Lancaster, PA
"It is well made and fit perfectly. I had purchased the cropped pants but they were tight around the waist and had to return them. Kept the vest because it was comfortable and smart looking."
Review 3 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 20, 2014
By: jiso
"Service was great. Item was good quality but was not as taylored as it appeared in the picture"
Review 4 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Quality,
March 20, 2014
By: Lingle
"I liked it very much, but it was too large. I have reordered"
Review 5 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this vest,
March 19, 2014
By: temple
"I have always loved vests since I feel they can finish off an outfit. They can also hides some body parts you are less thrilled about (e.g. my hip). I have purchased many vests from Orvis & been very pleased w/ all of them.)"
Review 6 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, Best Purchase I ever made.,
March 13, 2014
By: Peggi
from Lakevillle, MA
"The vest and cropped pants fit perfectly and I love the material and the style. They are so comfortable, I purchased the blue set and the tan set. They are cut to fit a real person..they are perfect. The elastic on the waist make for a perfect fit. I like the double buttons on the pants for a neater look.
These are not criticisms, only suggestions. An extra button for each vest would be a plus in case one is lost. Also, I love cargo pants and would love to see this set with cargo pockets in the future, if possible.
Thank you for the wonderful products that I will enjoy and wear frequently. They are my kind of style !! Thank you."
Review 7 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not disappointed,
February 17, 2014
By: Barns79
from Middleboro, MA
"Bought this vest for my daughter-in-law, birthday gift. She loved it! Says she will wear it with short sleeve jersey or long sleeved one. She liked the cut of it too. She is a medium size, petite but this vest, regular size, was okay for her petite height."
Review 8 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better style and comfort for a well made vest.,
August 1, 2013
By: Rachel46
from Florida
"I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this vest and how comfortable it is. Nicely made and more stylish then the everyday vests you see."
Review 9 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great all purpose vest,
June 27, 2013
By: zeldashopper
from east coast
"lovely shade of blue, looks great over a t-shirt and great over a blouse, both long and short sleeve!
recvd lots of compliments....
"
Review 10 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice vest,
June 11, 2013
By: Marysol
from Chicago
"Nice fit, true to size. I took a star off only because of two things...it is a bit stiffer than I expected but I'm sure will soften with washings and the color "pale coral" is really bright. I wish it was pale."
Review 11 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well constructed,
June 7, 2013
By: AZ1010reviewer
"Front is very nice, back is a bit short, buttons nice but very difficult to unbutton. Nice seams. Stone color s/b called vanilla cream....good color but not stone color. Material is heavy cotton."
Review 12 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product,
May 18, 2013
By: Christiner101
from Baltimore
"I bought this vest in all three colors. It runs big but I decided to keep as is as I am big chested and this vest does a great job of minimizing that. Buttons are a little difficult to manage but I almost always wear unbuttoned. I love, love, love the styling, the structure and the quality. I just wish it had come in more colors!"
Review 13 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
soft cotton for summer,
May 9, 2013
By: afrequentflyer
from DC
"Ordered the vest and matching pants in light blue. Both fit beautifully, but it's the softness of the cotton that I love."
Review 14 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
April 25, 2013
By: Vintage34
from California
"First disappointment is the tan color. it has way too much yellow in it to be called tan. It doesn't look like the color shown in the picture. Second disappointment is the sizing. It seems to be way off. The small is too big for me across the shoulders and bust line, and yet it's too short?
Third disappointment is the buttons! It was extremely painful and ultimately impossible for me to unbutton the vest in order to try it on! I finally had my husband unbutton it, and it was hard for him too!
Obviously, I'm sending this vest back, (unbuttoned).
"
Review 15 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Coral vest,
April 16, 2013
By: trellis
"This vest is nice but I returned it as size 12 was too large. I haven't heard that you received it."
Review 16 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shoulders,
April 4, 2013
By: ranch77
"Shoulders are too square for this otherwise comfy vest. :( I am returning it."
Review 17 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice colour and design,
March 26, 2013
By: jabi
from London UK
"nice colour
nice design
nice feel of material
XS still too big so had to have it taken in
"
Review 18 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
invest in a vest!,
March 20, 2013
By: teekee
from Lansing, MI
"I have 3 of these vests in different colors. love the look. good fit, could be an inch longer. washes well, no shrinking. looks great with jeans, skirts and shorts."
Review 19 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't beat for casual,
January 21, 2013
By: okshopper
from Blackwell, OK
"I have this vest in denim, so I was pretty sure I was also going to like it in the washed version. Bought all three colors in a Medium. I am usually between a Med and a Large--and I like my clothes loose--but the medium fit better, nevertheless (I am 5' 4" 130 lbs). The skyblue is exactly that. The stone color has very little gray in it; it is, instead, more yellow with a cream color. I really couldn't match it with any of my khaki items, but will keep it anyway, as it fits great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
September 18, 2012
By: BusCas
"I waited for this product to be off back order & was excited to receive it. Unfortunately, rather than a stone washed appearance, it had a vanilla / pink sheen that was not at all what I wanted. Everything else was great but couldn't overcome the awful color."