Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Surfwashed-Twill Vest

Soft Surfwashed Twill offers the look and feel of a perfectly broken-in favorite. A versatile addition to summer styles, our pure-cotton waistcoat-style women's summer vest is highlighted by rows of decorative topstitching. V-neckline. Orvis-logo pewter buttons. Slightly shaped. Pure cotton . Washable. Imported.Sizes: XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 20" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.918 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
38 of 49(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Review 1 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
But not for me,
July 11, 2014
By: sherryberryboo
from Newcastle, Me.
"I am a avid vest wearer and can usually count on them fitting me.
Not this time. It is well made and roomy, but the armholes are large. The shoulder goes over the top of my arms. The oatmeal color is exactly like the picture, but I felt a little dumpy in it. I am returning it and will get one of the other vests on sale. I do love Orvis, and will continue to buy clothes here.
"
Review 2 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautifully Made!,
June 19, 2014
By: Tondeleo
"Size is too large as per the chart. I'm returning it for exchange. Love it, but want it to fit."
Review 3 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size,
June 18, 2014
By: sissy2356
from Hollywood,fl
"Love the color, but...this vest is so big for a medium size...I wrapped this around to my back....Pls stabilize your sizing...I am so disappointed....originally, I ordered the pants along with the vest, but I did not get the sale price as indicated. so I just got the vest......I am very disappointed (as I stated earlier) Pls refund"
Review 4 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Perfect Summer Vest,
June 13, 2014
By: Chuche
from Oakland, CA
"I loved this vest when I saw it so I ordered the blue and the tan. It will never work for me and I was so disappointed! I am 5'4" and busty. The vest is quite long and I wanted it to stop at the waist. The size I needed in order to fit in the chest made the rest of it way too big in every other way. I was sorry to not find a way to keep the vests. I would recommend them to someone taller and with a small chest."
Review 5 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Large,
June 11, 2014
By: Riva
from Rockies
"Altho this fit ( M) in the hips it would have fit a football payer in the chest and shoulders"
Review 6 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
classic vest,
June 7, 2014
By: mamere
from Studio City, CA
"I like the finished look that a vest can give to even the most casual attire. This vest serves that purpose very well. While it is a classic cut the quilting around the edges dresses it up nicely. It is a style and weight that can be worn year round. I highly recommend."
Review 7 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best purchases I've made all year!,
June 6, 2014
By: Hunnybunny
from Newark, DE
"The surf-washed vest fit so fine, I bought two: One in a beautiful coral color and one in the off-white. I've been wearing them a lot!"
Review 8 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great versatile vest,
June 3, 2014
By: mimisav
from North Carolina
"Vest is very comfortable fit and excellent durable construction."
Review 9 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
May 29, 2014
By: Bethishere
from Harrisburg Pa
"Got my vets one size large so incase it shrunk. The fit is great and very cool to wear on hot days. The pockets are generous as I drive many cars in a day and carry all my essentials phone, cigarettes and keys and don't leave them in cars. I will buy another one when I have the money. Thanks Orvis for another great and well made product."
Review 10 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice, but frumpy,
May 27, 2014
By: SillyMe
"A bit boxy and not very fitted. With the matching pants I looked really frumpy. Nice Material."
Review 11 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Terrible fit,
May 20, 2014
By: Abcd411
"Arm hole way too big shoulder sticks out too far instead of laying flat it sticks up"
Review 12 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vest fits nicely,
May 19, 2014
By: PortlandChris
from Portland, OR
"I'm 5 ft tall and not straight up and down, so most Orvis regular women's clothing doesn't fit me well (wish O. offered tops in petite sizes -- us short gals really need different tailoring on tops than someone who is 5 ft 8 in!). I had to return several other vests because of total lack of tailoring, but this vest fits so well that I ordered 2 more in other colors - but the coral is definitely my favorite. Flattering color. And like that there are pockets (why else to wear a vest?) but wish the pockets were a bit more spacious to fit my smart phone"
Review 13 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great After Re-designing It,
May 17, 2014
By: WoodsyWoman
"I purchased the Sandwashed Twill Vest in beige -- The front length was much too long, so I cut it off and re-stitched it to just under the bottom button -- Now, I love it -- It does fit a bit loose, but I like that for summer -- As with an earlier reviewer, so I can avoid a bra in the hot weather -- Am going back for the coral. Very well made."
Review 14 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too long for shorties,
May 14, 2014
By: EDRIS
from CT
"Enormously long, not as advertised.
Had to be returned.
"
Review 15 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for summer outings,
May 9, 2014
By: maebf
from Plattsburgh, NY
"Beautifully constructed, fits nicely, and is comfortable to wear."
Review 16 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bound for London!,
May 9, 2014
By: maebf
from Plattsburgh, NY
"This twill vest and matching capris are going with me to London for the Chelsea Flower Show! The outfit is beautifully constructed and fits very well!"
Review 17 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Strange sizing,
May 6, 2014
By: CtSue
from Southbury, Ct.
"I have the surfwashed Twill Vest, which looks great in the photo, but has the strangest shaped shoulders I've ever seen. It reminds me of the aprons my mother used to wear. The shoulders overlap my shoulders. I ordered in L & M. M was way too small & L was too big. I washed the large, thinking it would shrink. It did a touch, but the shoulders still look strange. I'm stuck with it, but am returning the others."
Review 18 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too boxy,
April 30, 2014
By: nanajudi
"While this vest was well made, it's fit was too boxy. I returned it."
Review 19 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
summer vest,
April 29, 2014
By: coastalpoy
from Richmond, VA
"This is a nice and light vest affording the comfort of pockets during hot weather but not the weight of fleece or down vests."
Review 20 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size issues,
April 29, 2014
By: Racecar
from Billings, MT
"Usually I am on-target guessing sizes with Orvis. This coral vest was too bulky and I will be returning. It's my guess that a medium would be a bit snug. The fabric was more dense ---not as soft as I would have anticipated. My hope was to find a lightweight vest to wear over T's and tanks to avoid wearing a bra."