Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Surfwashed-Twill Vest

Soft Surfwashed Twill offers the look and feel of a perfectly broken-in favorite. A versatile addition to summer styles, our pure-cotton waistcoat-style women's summer vest is highlighted by rows of decorative topstitching. V-neckline. Orvis-logo pewter buttons. Slightly shaped. Pure cotton . Washable. Imported.Sizes: XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 20" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.981 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
42 of 53(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Review 1 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surffwashed-Twill Vest,
August 31, 2014
By: MollyMomma
from Atlanta, GA
"Love it, love it, Love it. I ordered the light coral and now want to blue one as well. Love how it wears and love the very convenient pockets. This will be one of my favorites. It is a very versatile piece and I will enjoy it for a long time.
As an aside, I have already recommended it to my sister and she has ordered one as well!!
"
Review 2 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best-vest,
August 28, 2014
By: carabethzoom10
from Milwaukee
"The nicest surprise about this vest was the high quality of the fabric. It is sturdy, yet stylish. Sizing is also true to size. I ordered a medium (it's not a small medium). Seems as if this will be versatile."
Review 3 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet Little Vest,
August 27, 2014
By: DashPonyDriver
from California
"I found this casual style vest fit well for me, was well made and a very lovely shade of blue. I wear vests a lot, so Orvis is my go-to place to buy them. I like more dressy vests for work but I still opted to purchase this one."
Review 4 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hard to fit,
August 17, 2014
By: woodwoman
from Orono, ME
"Wonderful fabric -- beautiful finish. The blue is beautiful.
But -- the M was way too small, and the XL fits fine except for the armholes -- which are way too large! I'll wear it as is -- but wish I could find one the shape of ME.
Overall, a good-looking vest . . ."
Review 5 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
But not for me,
July 11, 2014
By: sherryberryboo
from Newcastle, Me.
"I am a avid vest wearer and can usually count on them fitting me.
Not this time. It is well made and roomy, but the armholes are large. The shoulder goes over the top of my arms. The oatmeal color is exactly like the picture, but I felt a little dumpy in it. I am returning it and will get one of the other vests on sale. I do love Orvis, and will continue to buy clothes here.
"
Review 6 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautifully Made!,
June 19, 2014
By: Tondeleo
"Size is too large as per the chart. I'm returning it for exchange. Love it, but want it to fit."
Review 7 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size,
June 18, 2014
By: sissy2356
from Hollywood,fl
"Love the color, but...this vest is so big for a medium size...I wrapped this around to my back....Pls stabilize your sizing...I am so disappointed....originally, I ordered the pants along with the vest, but I did not get the sale price as indicated. so I just got the vest......I am very disappointed (as I stated earlier) Pls refund"
Review 8 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Perfect Summer Vest,
June 13, 2014
By: Chuche
from Oakland, CA
"I loved this vest when I saw it so I ordered the blue and the tan. It will never work for me and I was so disappointed! I am 5'4" and busty. The vest is quite long and I wanted it to stop at the waist. The size I needed in order to fit in the chest made the rest of it way too big in every other way. I was sorry to not find a way to keep the vests. I would recommend them to someone taller and with a small chest."
Review 9 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Large,
June 11, 2014
By: Riva
from Rockies
"Altho this fit ( M) in the hips it would have fit a football payer in the chest and shoulders"
Review 10 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
classic vest,
June 7, 2014
By: mamere
from Studio City, CA
"I like the finished look that a vest can give to even the most casual attire. This vest serves that purpose very well. While it is a classic cut the quilting around the edges dresses it up nicely. It is a style and weight that can be worn year round. I highly recommend."
Review 11 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best purchases I've made all year!,
June 6, 2014
By: Hunnybunny
from Newark, DE
"The surf-washed vest fit so fine, I bought two: One in a beautiful coral color and one in the off-white. I've been wearing them a lot!"
Review 12 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great versatile vest,
June 3, 2014
By: mimisav
from North Carolina
"Vest is very comfortable fit and excellent durable construction."
Review 13 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
May 29, 2014
By: Bethishere
from Harrisburg Pa
"Got my vets one size large so incase it shrunk. The fit is great and very cool to wear on hot days. The pockets are generous as I drive many cars in a day and carry all my essentials phone, cigarettes and keys and don't leave them in cars. I will buy another one when I have the money. Thanks Orvis for another great and well made product."
Review 14 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice, but frumpy,
May 27, 2014
By: SillyMe
"A bit boxy and not very fitted. With the matching pants I looked really frumpy. Nice Material."
Review 15 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Terrible fit,
May 20, 2014
By: Abcd411
"Arm hole way too big shoulder sticks out too far instead of laying flat it sticks up"
Review 16 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vest fits nicely,
May 19, 2014
By: PortlandChris
from Portland, OR
"I'm 5 ft tall and not straight up and down, so most Orvis regular women's clothing doesn't fit me well (wish O. offered tops in petite sizes -- us short gals really need different tailoring on tops than someone who is 5 ft 8 in!). I had to return several other vests because of total lack of tailoring, but this vest fits so well that I ordered 2 more in other colors - but the coral is definitely my favorite. Flattering color. And like that there are pockets (why else to wear a vest?) but wish the pockets were a bit more spacious to fit my smart phone"
Review 17 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great After Re-designing It,
May 17, 2014
By: WoodsyWoman
"I purchased the Sandwashed Twill Vest in beige -- The front length was much too long, so I cut it off and re-stitched it to just under the bottom button -- Now, I love it -- It does fit a bit loose, but I like that for summer -- As with an earlier reviewer, so I can avoid a bra in the hot weather -- Am going back for the coral. Very well made."
Review 18 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too long for shorties,
May 14, 2014
By: EDRIS
from CT
"Enormously long, not as advertised.
Had to be returned.
"
Review 19 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for summer outings,
May 9, 2014
By: maebf
from Plattsburgh, NY
"Beautifully constructed, fits nicely, and is comfortable to wear."
Review 20 for Surfwashed-Twill Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bound for London!,
May 9, 2014
By: maebf
from Plattsburgh, NY
"This twill vest and matching capris are going with me to London for the Chelsea Flower Show! The outfit is beautifully constructed and fits very well!"