Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Purple-Print Dress

Showcasing a scrolling vine print across a dappled purple-and-pink ground, our women's summer dress is handprinted in Bali, making each a unique work of art. Long and loose in cool, gauzy rayon, the easy button-front design is shaped by pintucks at the waist. Women's summer dress in purple. Rayon. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 28" long from waistline.
Average Customer Rating:
3.548 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
5
27 of 42(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Purple-Print Dress
Review 1 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pretty, but not on me,
May 19, 2014
By: Sarojani
from Canada
"I like the cut and colour, the fabric is a bit stiff, but would likely soften, and the design is pretty.
However, I am short and on the heavy side (curvy, 34DDD, 5 ft), and it looks like a sack on me. Back it goes, with regret.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
feel pretty wearing it,
March 11, 2014
By: MaryKaye
from Rochester NY
"This dress is light weight and lovely. I plan to wear it to a summer wedding with sandals.
I have a hard time finding dresses and consequently have only a few. I am happy to add this to my collection .
"
Review 3 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dressy for evening or social,
March 10, 2014
By: Matureyoungatheart
"This dress is so versatile. Can be worn for work, play and evening.
While the price is amazingly affordable, it is no way cheap looking. Bargain for the money.
"
Review 4 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 2, 2014
By: Andi11
from Texas
"Dress is beautifully made with flowing fabric. It runs a little big so am ordering a size smaller.
Can't wait to wear it!
"
Review 5 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sorry it didn't work out,
March 1, 2014
By: Grandmamamia
from Northern CA
"I had admired this dress for awhile, and finally ordered when the price went down. I ordered it, with some misgivings based on other reviews, in two different sizes, my regular and a size smaller. Unfortunately, the dress just looked very frumpy on me, in either size, and is being returned. The workmanship seemed fine; the fabric had quite a bit more brown in it than the photo shows; and the "feel" of the fabric was somewhat "crusty". Since it's "dry clean only" I don't know if it would soften up or not. Anyway, not a keeper!!"
Review 6 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost perfect,
February 12, 2014
By: Dale4
from Westport, CT
"Pretty dress, but the XS was still a bit too big and the color is darker than it appears in the catalog, so not so good for me. Love the details and the overall feminine look."
Review 7 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Keeper,
September 10, 2013
By: Camille74
from Lexington, KY
"A pretty, relatively simple dress. I like the fabric, and I think the color is lovely, true to the picture as far as I can tell. As others have commented, this dress runs large. I usually wear XL to 1X, but in this the L fits best. Some people have had issues with the hem, but the hem on mine is fine."
Review 8 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not as pictured,
September 5, 2013
By: Bouncydo
"I liked the material and how the dress was made. But it did not fit like it showed in the picture. It was very baggy and too long. I was disappointed."
Review 9 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty Good, but Pricey,
August 1, 2013
By: Allegretto
from Upstate NY
"This was my first ever Orvis purchase. I like the dress and will keep it and surely use it. But it's not, in my opinion worth the price. Fabric is comfortable and has a nice drape. I am not bothered by the darkness of the color - seems pretty true to the website view, and I wore it to a summer outdoor wedding. Given the hot humid weather, it was pretty comfortable. My main complaint is that the hem was REALLY uneven when I bought it, and not just because of my bulges! I would have had to shorten it anyway (WISH more styles offered in petite!), but even if I were the right height for it, I would have wanted to even up the hem. I was in a hurry and leaving town, so paid a dressmaker to alter it for me on top of the price of the dress - and the piece she cut off was incredibly uneven! For this price, the workmanship should be better."
Review 10 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice,
July 31, 2013
By: DeeDeeDee
from Brevard, FL
"Love the light, flirty material along with the color and print. Hem was very uneven and had to have it fixed. Dress is not true to size. It runs very, very large, so I suggest you get a smaller size then you usually do. Over all I am happy with the dress and think it's very pretty."
Review 11 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
July 7, 2013
By: Mary12
"I was looking forward to receiving this dress, but when I got it , it looked like a sack on me. I'm a petite, so it was way too long. I have decided to send it back even though I could've had some alterations On it to make it look better. At $129.00 I don't think so."
Review 12 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
perfect summer dress,
June 11, 2013
By: elizk
"Dress fits well, shaped but loose; nice fabric weight; lovely combination of colors -- magenta, purple, and pink; dress flows when I walk. The length is longer than pictured but I usually wear petite sizes."
Review 13 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing dress,
June 10, 2013
By: Petite3
from Southern California
"I liked the picture on your website, and I ordered this dress because I liked the shades of pink and purple. When I received the dress it was darker than the picture.
The fabric was disappointing. I thought it would be soft and flowy, but the fabric was stiffer than I wanted.
The dress was way too long. I'm a petite. I wish you sold more petite sizes in various items. I knew I would need to shorten the dress, but the dress did not look right on me."
Review 14 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed,
May 17, 2013
By: DavisLB
from Davis, California
"I was looking forward to receiving this dress. I knew the color would be becoming on me as I am a pale blonde. I had been forewarned that it might be large but was prepared to deal with that. What I didn't expect was that for $129 I would get sloppy workmanship. The bottom hem was sewn so poorly that the hem didn't lie flat. Maybe it was because of this that the left front half of the dress, below the last button, veered off at a 45° angle. Overall, I would have priced the dress at $45. Sent it back."
Review 15 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not like the photo,
May 14, 2013
By: DRC1
"Material not at all what I expected, very flimsy, and the size was huge, so I sent it back"
Review 16 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
too baggy,
May 1, 2013
By: Customer2013
"Color and fabric is very nice however the dress is very baggy in the waist area- unfortunately have to return the dress due to the poor fit"
Review 17 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Frumpy House Dress,
April 30, 2013
By: travelingal
from retired
"Online picture does not show the bottons down the front of the dress.
The fit was good, length was perfect, colors nice, thought material would be more like chiffon BUT on, it looks like a frumpy house dress. Going back.
"
Review 18 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
purple pint dress,
April 23, 2013
By: Bristlecone
from Boulder, CO
"I love the dress but it runs very large so I am exchanging the XL for a Medium."
Review 19 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice dress but dark color,
April 20, 2013
By: VTmom
"This dress fits comfortably and is typical for Orvis clothing - a little on the large end for the size. The color was darker than I expected with most of the fabric a deep purple and the scattered lighter areas an orange hue rather than the pink color I was expecting. I did not keep the dress because it seemed too dark for a summer dress."
Review 20 for Purple-Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Undecided,
April 17, 2013
By: irishfan
from Kansas City
"Haven't decided whether to keep this. The colors are more muted than I expected, almost more Fall than Spring. The feel of the dress is more casual than expected as well. Bought to wear to a wedding but won't. Fits well, though!"