Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

TwiStep® Vehicle Step

Jumping in and out of a vehicle can cause injury to your dog, regardless of age. This innovative, rubber-coated dog car step fits into a standard 2" or 1¼" receiver, and provides easy, safe access into and out of your vehicle. When not in use, the step simply swivels 180 degrees and stores beneath the vehicle—there's no need to remove it. Able to support up to 400 lbs., it's also ideal for accessing roof racks on taller vehicles. Sturdy steel and glass-filled nylon composite construction. The lock doubles as a secure hitch pin and includes two keys. Dog car step in black. 19" x 22" step area, weighs 24 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Review 1 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
COULD NOT LIVE WITHOUT IT,
July 2, 2014
By: articsnowpups
"Absolutely love it! It was easy to install it is sturdy and I have 2 large dogs one whom cannot jump well and neither will get in and out of the back of my Jeep without it. It is a little expensive but I am sure it will last a long time and do not regret buying it for one minute."
Review 2 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great solution!,
June 17, 2014
By: JTORCH
from Virginia
"This product is expensive but worth every penny. It is well made with high quality materials and easy to install. It is far superior to ramps or steps of any other kind. It is stable and my dog learned to use it in about 2 minutes. One thing: in the fine print of the installation instructions it lists 3 vehicles (I don't remember which ones, sorry) that require an additional adapter which must be ordered separately. You need to ask the ORVIS sales rep or call the manufacturer before you order."
Review 3 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectations,
June 9, 2014
By: BoerboelMom
from Cornwall, CT
"I have been thinking about purchasing the Twistep Vehicle Step for some time now. I was afraid it would not fit on my vehicle or that it would compromise my vehicle's ground clearance. I have an eight year old Boerboel who weighs 150 lbs. He is perfectly capable of getting in and out of my 2011 4Runner on his own, but as he's getting older I want to protect his joints so I finally decided to give the Twistep a try. As with everything from Orvis, the step arrived in a timely fashion. I was worried it was going to be difficult to install the step, but I was amazed at how simple it was! I also bought the lock and installation was a breeze. I have a 2" hitch on my '11 4Runner and the Twistep fit perfectly on the first try! It is sturdy, does not rattle around when I drive and my dog started using it instantly! Best of all it does not hit my spare tire when it is stored underneath the car and it doesn't affect the ground clearance of the vehicle in any appreciable way! I am so pleased with this purchase! My husband is actually jealous and now wants one for his vehicle! Thank you so much Orvis for yet another fantastic product!"
Review 4 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Idea,
May 2, 2014
By: MichaelB52
from Cypress, CA
"Works like a charm! Easy on our older dog (easier on me too!) and less cumbersome than his old ramp."
Review 5 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
April 25, 2014
By: UrbanDogMom
from Seattle, WA
"The TwiStep is wonderful: easy to install, convenient to use, very solid, looks great! Both dog and people totally comfortable and confident using it. Took our little girl (14 year old, 50 pound, Siberian Husky/Chocolate Lab mix), all of two seconds to figure out what to do. Very happy we chose this product."
Review 6 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back saver!,
March 19, 2014
By: Coopersgear1234
from Seattle, WA
"This works great and my 65lb. PWD loves it. He learned quickly to use it, and people stop me all the time and say, "Where did you get that, I need one!" I wish it was a little easier to twist, the pin is a little tight. It would be perfect if you could open and close it with your foot. But, i would recommend to anyone, especially if your cargo area is high like my Jeep."
Review 7 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for large dogs,
March 4, 2014
By: Hopenoel
from Solvang, CA
"This item is wonderful! i bought it for my new Traverse for my 130# Swissy and it took perhaps several viewings to register the different approach to loading up but then he was right on board! it's super easy to use, swings into storage and is just about the best alternative to a ramp that i have ever seen. Just love it and a great purchase!"
Review 8 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly what I needed,
November 8, 2013
By: Lunasmom
from Florida
"We had been using a tri-fold ramp for the first 2 years of my Bullmastiff's life. When she was with me- the ramp took up the entire back seat. It started scuffing my leather interior. The ramp was heavy and wasn't holding her weight well.
This step is a great replacement! SO much easier on me.
My dog is very sensitive to change, but is adapting well.
I highly recommend this for large dogs (of all ages) to protect their joints."
Review 9 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Invention Ever!,
March 14, 2013
By: Tobymom
from Virginia
"I have a 115 pounds German shepherd and he love to ride in the back of my SUV. I always had trouble getting him up but the step is wide enough to allow him to get up and down with no problem. I can leave the step on the car all the time so is easy for me to turn it in and out for Toby. Great product!"
Review 10 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
USE WITH EASE - both K-9 and Human!,
November 7, 2012
By: lovemygsmd
from Michigan
"I have an XL dog and this step is WONDERFUL!!! Regardless of the dog size, this allows your pet to get safely in and out of your vehicle. It takes the impact off their shoulders and hindquarters and gives them the enjoyment of "going for a ride". The price seems high but the balance is the elimination for the potential vet bills. Intallation is simple and the use is effortless! Stowing under the hitch is brilliant! Thanks again to Orvis for providing such a quality product as part of their dog line!"
Review 11 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it!,
March 8, 2012
By: cutepuppies
"Easy to install; sturdy; and easy to use. One of the best purchases I've made (for both the dogs and myself). I probably use the step more than the dogs (makes a great seat while putting ski boots on!). Highly recommend the product."