Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

TwiStep® Vehicle Step

Jumping in and out of a vehicle can cause injury to your dog, regardless of age. This innovative, rubber-coated dog car step fits into a standard 2" or 1¼" receiver, and provides easy, safe access into and out of your vehicle. When not in use, the step simply swivels 180 degrees and stores beneath the vehicle—there's no need to remove it. Able to support up to 400 lbs., it's also ideal for accessing roof racks on taller vehicles. Sturdy steel and glass-filled nylon composite construction. The lock doubles as a secure hitch pin and includes two keys. Dog car step in black. 19" x 22" step area, weighs 24 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Review 1 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did not fit,
April 21, 2015
By: 3dogsinlander
from Lander, WY
"Would not fit in my 2015 Ford Explorer Sport. Had to return it."
Review 2 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy on the joints,
April 16, 2015
By: ricoreina1
"I absolutely love this pet step.
I have 2 senior GSD and a senior Doberman. They love it! Comes in very handy when we are on the go.
To the park or the vet. Easy to use
just for a jeep ride.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic purchase!,
February 6, 2015
By: Miamour
from Lakewood, CA
"Much easier on the joints of our 70lb older dog. Easy to install and swings out with little effort. Added bonus is that's it's sturdy enough for the family to stand on when needing to reach the top of the Forrester! It's a must for anyone with a high profile vehicle even if you don't have a dog."
Review 4 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish I had purchased it sooner!,
February 4, 2015
By: SaraKH
"I had been looking at getting this step for years, but never did because of the cost. I had 2 large breed dogs that always jumped with ease into the back of my SUV, but when they became older and suffered from herniated discs they could not longer jump in and out. My husband and I would pick them up to get them in and out of the vehicle. I sure wish I had invested in this step sooner! We rescued another dog a few months ago and he was very hesitant to jump up into the vehicle. After having some back surgeries myself, it was very painful for me to lift him. So I finally broke down and spent the money on this step. He now gets in and out with ease and no more back pain for me. No more picking him up!! Plus I don't have to worry about him injuring himself jumping out of my SUV. I highly recommend buying this step. It's very pricey, but I'm still happy with my purchase."
Review 5 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Product!,
January 14, 2015
By: 2dogmom2and5
from Des Moines, Iowa area
"This is an awesome product. Due to the agility of our Border Collie, we were concerned about her jumping in and out of our SUV. The steps and ramps would have been such a nuisance to use daily or lug around, so we started to help lift her in and out of the car. This product is the perfect solution. Very easy to use and so nice to have it ready to use whenever needed. I never thought I could be so excited or thankful over a square piece of metal! Highly recommend."
Review 6 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy twistep,
December 23, 2014
By: Dave2230
from Seattle
"Our Rotti/Lab cross had re-constructive surgery on her elbow, and at 5 years old, developed arthritis and fell off a stair set we had for our Subaru Forester.
Twistep is a fantastic product and back saver.
It's more like playtime watching them load into the car with no fear of falling.
"
Review 7 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny,
October 8, 2014
By: jgully
from Chanhassen, MN
"Yes - this is a bit expensive but it is well-made, solid construction. Our 10 yr old lab with arthritis in her elbows learned how to use it in 5 mins. She could not jump in or out of the back of our SUV. She is 80lbs and lifting is not an option! So much easier than a ramp - swings in and out with very little effort."
Review 8 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TwiStep Vehicle Step,
September 26, 2014
By: Barbs1
from Lincoln, MT
"We had a ramp but it was cumbersome and very heavy not to mention it obstructed our back window view. This step is wonderful something I can maneuver. One does have to be cautious on dips in the road that make you bounce...other then that it is great."
Review 9 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome invention,
September 18, 2014
By: Nat730
from San Francisco, CA
"Saves our backs and the dogs' hips. Easy to install, dogs learn how to use it very quickly. Buy the lock associated with it so you can make sure it doesn't get stolen off your car!"
Review 10 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
COULD NOT LIVE WITHOUT IT,
July 2, 2014
By: articsnowpups
"Absolutely love it! It was easy to install it is sturdy and I have 2 large dogs one whom cannot jump well and neither will get in and out of the back of my Jeep without it. It is a little expensive but I am sure it will last a long time and do not regret buying it for one minute."
Review 11 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great solution!,
June 17, 2014
By: JTORCH
from Virginia
"This product is expensive but worth every penny. It is well made with high quality materials and easy to install. It is far superior to ramps or steps of any other kind. It is stable and my dog learned to use it in about 2 minutes. One thing: in the fine print of the installation instructions it lists 3 vehicles (I don't remember which ones, sorry) that require an additional adapter which must be ordered separately. You need to ask the ORVIS sales rep or call the manufacturer before you order."
Review 12 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeds Expectations,
June 9, 2014
By: BoerboelMom
from Cornwall, CT
"I have been thinking about purchasing the Twistep Vehicle Step for some time now. I was afraid it would not fit on my vehicle or that it would compromise my vehicle's ground clearance. I have an eight year old Boerboel who weighs 150 lbs. He is perfectly capable of getting in and out of my 2011 4Runner on his own, but as he's getting older I want to protect his joints so I finally decided to give the Twistep a try. As with everything from Orvis, the step arrived in a timely fashion. I was worried it was going to be difficult to install the step, but I was amazed at how simple it was! I also bought the lock and installation was a breeze. I have a 2" hitch on my '11 4Runner and the Twistep fit perfectly on the first try! It is sturdy, does not rattle around when I drive and my dog started using it instantly! Best of all it does not hit my spare tire when it is stored underneath the car and it doesn't affect the ground clearance of the vehicle in any appreciable way! I am so pleased with this purchase! My husband is actually jealous and now wants one for his vehicle! Thank you so much Orvis for yet another fantastic product!"
Review 13 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Idea,
May 2, 2014
By: MichaelB52
from Cypress, CA
"Works like a charm! Easy on our older dog (easier on me too!) and less cumbersome than his old ramp."
Review 14 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
April 25, 2014
By: UrbanDogMom
from Seattle, WA
"The TwiStep is wonderful: easy to install, convenient to use, very solid, looks great! Both dog and people totally comfortable and confident using it. Took our little girl (14 year old, 50 pound, Siberian Husky/Chocolate Lab mix), all of two seconds to figure out what to do. Very happy we chose this product."
Review 15 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back saver!,
March 19, 2014
By: Coopersgear1234
from Seattle, WA
"This works great and my 65lb. PWD loves it. He learned quickly to use it, and people stop me all the time and say, "Where did you get that, I need one!" I wish it was a little easier to twist, the pin is a little tight. It would be perfect if you could open and close it with your foot. But, i would recommend to anyone, especially if your cargo area is high like my Jeep."
Review 16 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for large dogs,
March 4, 2014
By: Hopenoel
from Solvang, CA
"This item is wonderful! i bought it for my new Traverse for my 130# Swissy and it took perhaps several viewings to register the different approach to loading up but then he was right on board! it's super easy to use, swings into storage and is just about the best alternative to a ramp that i have ever seen. Just love it and a great purchase!"
Review 17 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly what I needed,
November 8, 2013
By: Lunasmom
from Florida
"We had been using a tri-fold ramp for the first 2 years of my Bullmastiff's life. When she was with me- the ramp took up the entire back seat. It started scuffing my leather interior. The ramp was heavy and wasn't holding her weight well.
This step is a great replacement! SO much easier on me.
My dog is very sensitive to change, but is adapting well.
I highly recommend this for large dogs (of all ages) to protect their joints."
Review 18 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Invention Ever!,
March 14, 2013
By: Tobymom
from Virginia
"I have a 115 pounds German shepherd and he love to ride in the back of my SUV. I always had trouble getting him up but the step is wide enough to allow him to get up and down with no problem. I can leave the step on the car all the time so is easy for me to turn it in and out for Toby. Great product!"
Review 19 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
USE WITH EASE - both K-9 and Human!,
November 7, 2012
By: lovemygsmd
from Michigan
"I have an XL dog and this step is WONDERFUL!!! Regardless of the dog size, this allows your pet to get safely in and out of your vehicle. It takes the impact off their shoulders and hindquarters and gives them the enjoyment of "going for a ride". The price seems high but the balance is the elimination for the potential vet bills. Intallation is simple and the use is effortless! Stowing under the hitch is brilliant! Thanks again to Orvis for providing such a quality product as part of their dog line!"
Review 20 for TwiStep® Vehicle Step
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it!,
March 8, 2012
By: cutepuppies
"Easy to install; sturdy; and easy to use. One of the best purchases I've made (for both the dogs and myself). I probably use the step more than the dogs (makes a great seat while putting ski boots on!). Highly recommend the product."