Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Snowshoe Nets

Handmade by the Wallace brothers in the shadow of Maine's Mount Katahdin, these elegant landing fishing nets resemble the shape of a showshoe and feature an ingenious upturned bow, which makes it easier to scoop trout from the water, and a catch-and-release bag. The long handle, for greater reach, is made of highly figured bird's-eye maple, while the bow features walnut and ash. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snowshoe Nets
Review 1 for Snowshoe Nets
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sharp net,
January 18, 2013
By: Chuch
from Somerset, Pa.
"To tell you the truth I bought this net primarily because I like the looks of it. The bird's eye maple handle with ash and walnut makes it more than attractive. Also, it's smooth as silk. The beautiful woodwork makes it worth having just to hang in your den or office, where it has been placed in mine. It ceertainly would do the trick to land a nice trout but I prefer rubber over the mesh used here."
Review 2 for Snowshoe Nets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking net,
January 18, 2013
By: furance
from milton ny
"The net is very nice looking , it's looks to be well built . I am going to use this net while flyfishing in a float tube. The longer handle will come in nicely ."
Review 3 for Snowshoe Nets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Landing Net Replacement,
January 16, 2013
By: warsawwizard
from The Villages, FL
"A good looking net with an outstanding finish and well balanced. The middle size gave me a larger hoop size as well as a longer handle. When hung off the back of my vest it was easily accessible."
Review 4 for Snowshoe Nets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great net,
January 10, 2013
By: SLTrout
from Kansas City, MO
"A great net that really extends your reach. Very helpful when it's difficult to bend down. This net will be with me on all my fly fishing adventures this year, wading or in the boat. Thanks for a great product."
Review 5 for Snowshoe Nets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 7, 2013
By: GoRammies
from Bend OR
"Great product for the price. Got the large for a a gift and its a great weight and looks like well made."
Review 6 for Snowshoe Nets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful gift for a fly fisherman,
December 28, 2012
By: AAMommy
from PA
"Got this as a holiday gift for my husband who is newly into fly fishing. The quality is good & it looks pretty to me. His friend who is an avid fisherman helped me pick it out & I trust his judgement."
Review 7 for Snowshoe Nets
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice design, only fair execution,
November 30, 2012
By: mnguy
from Twin Cities, MN
"I debated returning the net I recently purchased...the finish application, most notably to the hoop, is quite poor. The joinery, while better than the finish, is not terrific either. I have to admit I was surprised to see Orvis putting their name on something like this.
However, I love the design and the long handle,, and the net is remarkably lightweight. I ended up getting it for about $50 shipped, so all things considered, I will likely keep it."
Review 8 for Snowshoe Nets
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It looks good!,
November 29, 2012
By: candoer
from Minneapolis, MN
"Unfortunately, I won't be able to use it until spring, until then, it is really nice looking."
Review 9 for Snowshoe Nets
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality Control needs some attention,
October 19, 2012
By: hooverbound
from Columbus, OH
"The net is a reasonable value, however the quality control of the net frame is poor. There are very very heavy varnish runs. Something you might expect in a low quality inexpensive product. It's certainly not up to the usual Orvis standards."
Review 10 for Snowshoe Nets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Birthday Present Win,
August 3, 2012
By: Fillmore
"I recently bought this net for my dad for his birthday. He has been fly-fishing for his entire life and was recently in need of a new net. He has tried other nets before, but when he received this one, he said that it was by far more comfortable to use. The Snowshoe nets seem to have topped the 50 years worth of nets he has used before. On top of that, it has a beautiful shape and style."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Snowshoe Nets
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1