Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Deerskin Leather Mittens

Long before the advent of modern performance fabrics, Western outdoorsmen depended on the water-resistance and warmth provided by deerskin to get through the winter months. Handmade in Washington State by the Geier Glove Co., these deerskin leather mittens feature a 14 oz. polyester-and-polypropylene fleece lining for comfort and insulation. In brown. Deerskin leather. Made in USA.Sizes: S(7-7½), M(8-8½), L(9-9½), XL(10-10½).
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Review 1 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smitten with these mittens!,
February 19, 2014
By: Hopp
from Virginia
"These mittens were the answer to keeping my hands warm finally. I also have leather lined gloves from Orvis which do alright but not as well as these when the temperatures really drop."
Review 2 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Mittens,
February 11, 2014
By: HookedMarlin
from New Jersey
"These are excellent mittens. I have had them for over a year now. They keep my hands warm, and due to their softness, you can feel objects through them. If I lost this pair, I would buy a new pair tomorrow."
Review 3 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
February 10, 2014
By: DenG
"Upon receiving the deerskin mittens, I was astonished by the fine quality of this product! The leather was of the softest and finest quality I have ever experienced. Shopping at Orvis always guarantees my receiving products of the highest quality."
Review 4 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite.mittens,
January 21, 2014
By: mickeycpa
from Fishers, IN
"I was looking for a great pair of mittens because of the increase in snow and lower temps in my area. My hands stay much warmer when I am shoveling snow with these mittens. I would recommend them to everyone."
Review 5 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mittens,
January 16, 2014
By: Lenny11
"It was 1 degree outside when I put my deerskin mittens on. My hands were so warm they were like putting three or more hand warmers in my gloves. I highly recommend these mittens!"
Review 6 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silky Soft Leather,
December 27, 2013
By: Hollybabba
from Wisconsin
"The leather is top quality and the stitching is as well. I would definitely recommend these for anyone looking for a great gift!"
Review 7 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
December 27, 2013
By: Hilbut
from Jonesboro, AR
"The deerskin mittens I purchased for my husband are wonderfully constructed, amazingly soft, and lovely to look at!
The perfect gift!
"
Review 8 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply awesome!,
December 26, 2013
By: Lindenstreet
from Rice Lake, Wisconsin
"Great product, prompt delivery. Cold, snowy winter so far...these mittens are perfect. Ordering another pair for my husband, three generations will be wearing them."
Review 9 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Trouble with Quality,
January 14, 2013
By: Gloveless
from Oregon City, OR
"These gloves arrived and were visibly two different shapes. The right glove was smaller fitting than the left one. I returned the purchase and ordered another set."
Review 10 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toaty Tips,
December 28, 2012
By: Anonymous
"I suffered frost-bite many years ago and this is the 1st pair of gloves that have managed to keep my finger-tips warm and free of pain."
Review 11 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He'll never take them off!,
December 26, 2012
By: decoy
from COLD midwest
"Orvis you really have it on these mittens. The fit is perfect. They are roomy inside and easy to get on and off. The deerskin is top quality,
The lining inside makes them super warm. Can't say enough.
You made Santa look good bringing these from the North Pole!
"
Review 12 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not bad.,
November 16, 2012
By: GTODT
from Texas
"Overall, they are great mittens/gloves. Wish the leather was thicker. Weather is not cold enough yet for a proper test yet."
Review 13 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The BEST I have seen!,
March 10, 2012
By: Papadean
from Palos Heights IL
"I have worked outdoors all my life, and of course come winter, it is time to buy gloves. I bought these last fall [2011] and this springtime I am putting them away ready for next winter. The warmth is there! But, better still is the softness of the deerskin. I can "feel" objects without fear of dropping them from my grip.
I used them horseback riding this winter and the reins were a good "feel".Highly recommend!
"
Review 14 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great mittens,
January 23, 2012
By: Kineo
"These mittens are great. They are warm, well made and the leather is very soft. I had a hard time finding leather mittens like these."
Review 15 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I wanted,
January 7, 2012
By: outlawgunner
"The Deerskin Mittens are perfect. I used the sizing chart, and they fit great. I duck hunt from Maine to Patagonia and seem to have cold hands for half the year. Not anymore."
Review 16 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frosty no more!,
December 30, 2011
By: KrisKringle
from Selinsgrove, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"When there's no snow at Christmas, Santa delivers toys on his Harley. It was 27 degrees and my hands were nice and warm! These mittens also have excellent dexterity for working the clutch, brake and other hand controls (..and passing out the presents!) The gauntlet cuff was great for preventing wind from entering my sleeves, and they are unbelievably soft!"
Review 17 for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas present,
December 27, 2011
By: Lakeviewer
from NE, Indiana
"Just got these for Christmas and they are the warmest mittens I have ever had. Took a hike in the afternoon and my hands were toasty the whole trip! These are a keeper."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Deerskin Leather Mittens
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2