Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Peregrine Isle of Man Jacket

Inspired by the legendary International Isle of Man Tourist Trophy (TT) motorcycle race, this eye-catching waxed-cotton jacket is built for speed. Constructed in traditional motorcycle style with a rugged antiqued finish, it features a leather stand-up collar with throat latch, and a subtle country-check lining. Four front flap pockets, full front zip closure with snap-closed wind flap. Snap cuffs. In red. Pure cotton shell and lining. Clean with cold sponge; no soap. UK.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 28¾" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Peregrine Isle of Man Jacket
Review 1 for Peregrine Isle of Man Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes and No,
November 18, 2013
By: TexEm
"I actually love the jacket, however, at the moment I don't recommend it. It is a waxed, red jacket and it cannot be cleaned in this country. If there were a re-wax facility here like Barbour has, I'd recommend it in a heartbeat. But being red (a gorgeous red), it will pick up grime like crazy and then what do you do? But until it gets too grimy, I'll wear it with pleasure. And it's a great weight and extremely handsome."
Review 2 for Peregrine Isle of Man Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What I Was Looking For,
September 30, 2013
By: DexterMorgan
from Montreal, Quebec
"It fits perfectly and it arrived within a week and a half.
It's the perfect jacket if you're looking for that kind of style in a lower price bracket than usual.
I've used it on my motorcycle already and it kept me the perfect temperature. I wasn't too warm, but I wasn't too cold from the wind either."
Review 3 for Peregrine Isle of Man Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
March 1, 2013
By: disagree
from Brookfield , Wisconsin
"The jacket quality was excellant but the jacket was too tight around the shoulders and arm pits . I tried both a large and extra large and had the same problem with both jackets. It reminded me of an Italian shirt that is tapered and manufactured for a smaller bodied person. I am 5'6" and weigh 180 pounds."
Review 4 for Peregrine Isle of Man Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Design / Cut By Maker,
February 19, 2013
By: BYOB
"This jacket was not properly sized .
'Cut way too small in the larger sizes . Very poor design !
"
Review 5 for Peregrine Isle of Man Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Btitish winner,
January 21, 2013
By: Article
from Canada
"A very classy but cool jacket.
Unique style and design . Very British which is my ancestory and red is my favorite color . I know in my part of the world there won't be any one else likely wearing this jacket. but I will await spring before wearing it as right now we are in the grip of a cold Canadian winter.
"
Review 6 for Peregrine Isle of Man Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit problem,
December 30, 2012
By: Ethlyn
"I bought this for my husband to replace a beloved Irish red waxed barn coat that he can now really only wear in the barn! The Orvis jacket seems like a nice piece but was not long enough or wide enough in the shoulder, even in XX Large. He usually takes an X
large, so I suggest going up a size or two.
"
Review 7 for Peregrine Isle of Man Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a surprise find.,
December 28, 2012
By: mrstix
from Calgary, Alberta
"I have been looking for a riding jacket like this for sometime. A well made summer weight riding jacket. It's well waxed for protection from rain and longer sleeves to accomodate riding in a crouch as well as lots of pockets. All in all a well priced answer to my needs."
Review 8 for Peregrine Isle of Man Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value, Highly stylish yet practical,
November 1, 2012
By: Punchbuggy
from San Francisco, CA
"I fell in love with this jacket from just the catalog picture. It looks even better in person. Excellent value for dollar, I get the sense this will be my favorite piece of outerwear for years to come. Distinctly stylish yet practical, fits like a dream, distinctive color, cut, unique style. My girlfriend describes it as 'ruggedly practical yet with eye-catching flair and style'. Very happy with this purchase, the detail in the stitching, in the hatch-pattern elbows to the back... I am rarely this pleased with an online purchase, highly recommended for any man who wants to add some flair and pizzaz to their everyday wardrobe."
Review 9 for Peregrine Isle of Man Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
snappy jacket,
October 9, 2012
By: gizmoid
"Loved the retro styling on this jacket. Quality construction and good fit. My only complaint is that the bottom pockets weren't the handwarmer style."