Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase

If you need more—more capacity, more pockets, and a more rugged exterior—this is the briefcase for you. Tough Bullhide leather handles the abuses of morning commutes and life on the job, with a patina that's the envy of every colleague in your meeting room. The signature-tartan-lined main compartment boasts a full business organizer, including a molded pocket for a smartphone or camera, and business card slots. The second compartment is padded and sized to hold your laptop computer. One outside slip compartment holds the daily paper. D-rings for included shoulder strap make it easy to carry in comfort. Snag-free nylon zippers; main compartment zippers lock securely. Personalized leather briefcase in brown. 13"H x 17"W x 5"D; 1,105 cu. in. Holds laptops up to 16" wide. Engraving on brass plate available. Specify the characters in the order they should appear. Up to 6 characters. Genuine leather. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
0
91 of 96(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Review 1 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Briefcase,
January 15, 2015
By: BobS3049
from Indian Rocks Beach, FL
"I purchased this Orvis briefcase after trying to find a comparable case (both online and in stores) that was a better purchase. The briefcase is VERY well constructed and easily fits my laptop (10.5" x 15"), iPad, checkbooks, calculator, files, etc. Where ever I take it, everyone has commented on how nice the case is. As with all Orvis products, you can expect QUALITY construction. My leather Orvis wallet is 14 years old and still looks like new!! I expect this will be the last briefcase I will ever purchase!!!"
Review 2 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Brief Case!,
January 7, 2015
By: Mocs42
from Orlando, FL
"I received this brief case as a gift from my in-laws last Christmas. I have had this brief case for over a year now, and I still enjoy it as much as the day I first got. It is very well constructed, has very high quality materials, and is just an all around great bag. I was suprised with how much the brief case can hold. I typically carry my laptop, my padfolio, and portable monitor in the back pocket. In the middle pocket, I still have room for my iPad air, headphones case, and can also fit my laptop's power cord. I traveled over 30,000 miles the past year and has held up very well. A must have!"
Review 3 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Road Warriors look elsewhere,
January 2, 2015
By: Jblaku
from Global
"It looks great, but I am disappointed in this bag. I wanted to like this bag and just cannot. Here are the reasons.
It is not an extra capacity briefcase for traveling with a computer, phone, and accessories. It has no pockets for chargers, batteries, chords, etc. You have to stuff it all where it will fit loose.
The computer storage pocket is only padded towards the inside of the bag, which is strange. Towards the outside of the bag there is no padding and has only thin liner and leather. There is no padding on the bottom either, but the pocket is suspended slightly. There is also no liner (or padding) on the inside bottom of the entire bag. Just raw leather. So no real drop protection here.
Storage for notepads, files or business literature is not really provided. There is a full size inside zipped pocket that could hold a few files. You could also put documents in the convenient side pocket (promoted for a newspaper) but that is not a very secure holding place.
The included shoulder strap is not leather, but a heavy brown canvas. Functional, yes, but it looks cheap against the nice leather exterior of the bag.
In my opinion this briefcase would be OK for daily commutes to the office and back with the occasional business trip. It might even work fine for the business person working out of a car too. However, the frequent domestic or international air traveler may be disappointed and return this bag like I plan to do.
"
Review 4 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
January 1, 2015
By: oldebutgoode
from Glen Mills, PA
"Observing my husband's ratty old briefcase, which went everywhere with him, I was inspired to find something new and special. This was my choice. It replaces his ratty old canvas briefcase with similar practical capacity and utility but with an elegance and sophistication worthy of his professional status."
Review 5 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the $$,
December 31, 2014
By: OrvisVeteran
from Oregon
"Very well built, appropriate for the board room or the field. I have used this daily for past two years, on three continents, and a quick wipe with a leather cleaner returns it to new looking.
Well worth the $$$"
Review 6 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice quality briefcase,
December 31, 2014
By: Kelly6785
from Washington state
"I purchased this briefcase for my husband for Christmas. He can be very particular about his likes and dislikes. But he really liked this bag.The workmanship is notable with the details evident in everything from the leather to the stitching of the bag. It is a fine quality briefcase and I was happy to see that it looked as good as or better than the picture in the catalog."
Review 7 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One Happy Boss,
December 30, 2014
By: TheDeuce
from Amarillo,Texas
"The bullhide leather extra-capacity briefcase was a gift for my boss and he said he would cherish it for the rest of his life. It is beautiful but rugged and capable of handling far more than a normal briefcase."
Review 8 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice!,
December 27, 2014
By: Chickgirl
from Huntsville, Alabama
"The leather brief case I gave my husband for Christmas was very nice. The leather is gorgeous and all if the compartments are perfect! A very nice piece in deed!!!"
Review 9 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great case,
December 19, 2014
By: CoachDave
from Charlotte NC.
"Received this bag as a gift a couple years back and love it. I travel weekly and carry it everyday and for the most part it is holding up well but showing some wear. If i could make 1 suggestion - I would like to see a strap or band that slips over the handle of a suit case. I fashioned one from an old leather belt that i gave up a few cheeseburgers ago and it works well but it is clearly an "add on""
Review 10 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Briefcase,
December 18, 2014
By: Judypetlover
"As with all Orvis products the quality is outstanding. I love the lining and the many pockets for holding laptop, ipad or documents. It was a gift for my boss as his was lost in an office break-in. He was quite happy with his gift this year and he is a difficult person to gift. Thanks again."
Review 11 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Briefcase,
December 5, 2014
By: chefgerg
from St. Louis, MO
"This is my second Orvis briefcase and I am thoroughly happy with it. The look, feel and quality of construction make it a perfect fit for my everyday use. I would highly recommend this to others."
Review 12 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful briefcase,
December 4, 2014
By: Kranberrry
from Chicago, IL
"I purchased this briefcase for my boyfriend, and he loves it. It holds his 16" laptop with no problem and has room for papers, pens, computer accessories, etc. It is handsome and rugged--well worth the price."
Review 13 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice purchase,
December 1, 2014
By: lyndajoyce
from Colorado
"I purchased this briefcase for my son as a gift. It is a lovely case and has plenty of room for all his needs. I always trust Orvis for excellence in their products."
Review 14 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic and functional,
November 29, 2014
By: ARuiz
from North Carolina
"I have been looking at this for years.
It is well made and has lots of interior pockets for all the things I need to be able to reach at a moments notice. The only thing I would change is the oversized Orvis logo as I do not like feeling like a walking billboard.
"
Review 15 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovely piece and design,
November 26, 2014
By: bwg07
"well made and very impressed with leather and design. can't wait to give as christmas gift; i have looked for the perfect size and right 'look' for a long time"
Review 16 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Traveling Briefcase,
November 11, 2014
By: GMtem
"If you need a briefcase that will hold everything you need in one case when traveling away from your home office this is the perfect choice for you! Holds it all and holds up to traveling wear and tear without a problem, in fact just enhances classic look. Combined leather nylon strap maybe less stylish than old full leather but holds up better"
Review 17 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Large,
October 15, 2014
By: timreviewsky
"This is a very large case. If that is what you want go for it."
Review 18 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
October 8, 2014
By: Joe1234
from So. California
"Was concerned about the bulk of this case and its appearance in professional setting. Yes, it is large but designed well...and my mistake in the past has been putting too much into smaller bags. This case is very attractive; already had compliments on it. Overall, very pleased and it looks to be a bag I can use for years."
Review 19 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Briefcase,
August 11, 2014
By: Mendhamguy
from Mendham, NJ
"Over the years, I've had briefcases from other companies which were gifts and which I liked, but they were no match for this. I decided to buy this for myself. Beautiful looking case with deep rich brown leather and nicely laid out interior which easily holds my laptop and assorted other commuting items (iPhone, books, pens, papers, lunch). I read some reviews which didn't care for the personalization, but I decided to have it personalized anyway with my initials and I'm very pleased with how it turned out. It's a classy oval brass plate with initials in black. Looks beautiful and compliments the case. I looked for awhile at different briefcases and this had the best layout and look for the money."
Review 20 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Son's Retirement Gift,
July 23, 2014
By: RetiredArmy
from Salt Lake, UT
"I purchased the Bullhide Briefcase as a gift to honor my son's retirement from the Air Force this month. After committing years of dedication to defending American freedom, it had to be a special gift to launch him onto his next career. The quality and personalization of this gift was the perfect choice."