Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase

If you need more—more capacity, more pockets, and a more rugged exterior—this is the briefcase for you. Tough Bullhide leather handles the abuses of morning commutes and life on the job, with a patina that's the envy of every colleague in your meeting room. The signature-tartan-lined main compartment boasts a full business organizer, including a molded pocket for a smartphone or camera, and business card slots. The second compartment is padded and sized to hold your laptop computer. One outside slip compartment holds the daily paper. D-rings for included shoulder strap make it easy to carry in comfort. Snag-free nylon zippers; main compartment zippers lock securely. Personalized leather briefcase in brown. 13"H x 17"W x 5"D; 1,105 cu. in. Holds laptops up to 16" wide. Engraving on brass plate available. Specify the characters in the order they should appear. Up to 6 characters. Genuine leather. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
83 of 87(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Review 1 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great case,
December 19, 2014
By: CoachDave
from Charlotte NC.
"Received this bag as a gift a couple years back and love it. I travel weekly and carry it everyday and for the most part it is holding up well but showing some wear. If i could make 1 suggestion - I would like to see a strap or band that slips over the handle of a suit case. I fashioned one from an old leather belt that i gave up a few cheeseburgers ago and it works well but it is clearly an "add on""
Review 2 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Briefcase,
December 18, 2014
By: Judypetlover
"As with all Orvis products the quality is outstanding. I love the lining and the many pockets for holding laptop, ipad or documents. It was a gift for my boss as his was lost in an office break-in. He was quite happy with his gift this year and he is a difficult person to gift. Thanks again."
Review 3 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Briefcase,
December 5, 2014
By: chefgerg
from St. Louis, MO
"This is my second Orvis briefcase and I am thoroughly happy with it. The look, feel and quality of construction make it a perfect fit for my everyday use. I would highly recommend this to others."
Review 4 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful briefcase,
December 4, 2014
By: Kranberrry
from Chicago, IL
"I purchased this briefcase for my boyfriend, and he loves it. It holds his 16" laptop with no problem and has room for papers, pens, computer accessories, etc. It is handsome and rugged--well worth the price."
Review 5 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice purchase,
December 1, 2014
By: lyndajoyce
from Colorado
"I purchased this briefcase for my son as a gift. It is a lovely case and has plenty of room for all his needs. I always trust Orvis for excellence in their products."
Review 6 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic and functional,
November 29, 2014
By: ARuiz
from North Carolina
"I have been looking at this for years.
It is well made and has lots of interior pockets for all the things I need to be able to reach at a moments notice. The only thing I would change is the oversized Orvis logo as I do not like feeling like a walking billboard.
"
Review 7 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovely piece and design,
November 26, 2014
By: bwg07
"well made and very impressed with leather and design. can't wait to give as christmas gift; i have looked for the perfect size and right 'look' for a long time"
Review 8 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Traveling Briefcase,
November 11, 2014
By: GMtem
"If you need a briefcase that will hold everything you need in one case when traveling away from your home office this is the perfect choice for you! Holds it all and holds up to traveling wear and tear without a problem, in fact just enhances classic look. Combined leather nylon strap maybe less stylish than old full leather but holds up better"
Review 9 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Large,
October 15, 2014
By: timreviewsky
"This is a very large case. If that is what you want go for it."
Review 10 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
October 8, 2014
By: Joe1234
from So. California
"Was concerned about the bulk of this case and its appearance in professional setting. Yes, it is large but designed well...and my mistake in the past has been putting too much into smaller bags. This case is very attractive; already had compliments on it. Overall, very pleased and it looks to be a bag I can use for years."
Review 11 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Briefcase,
August 11, 2014
By: Mendhamguy
from Mendham, NJ
"Over the years, I've had briefcases from other companies which were gifts and which I liked, but they were no match for this. I decided to buy this for myself. Beautiful looking case with deep rich brown leather and nicely laid out interior which easily holds my laptop and assorted other commuting items (iPhone, books, pens, papers, lunch). I read some reviews which didn't care for the personalization, but I decided to have it personalized anyway with my initials and I'm very pleased with how it turned out. It's a classy oval brass plate with initials in black. Looks beautiful and compliments the case. I looked for awhile at different briefcases and this had the best layout and look for the money."
Review 12 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Son's Retirement Gift,
July 23, 2014
By: RetiredArmy
from Salt Lake, UT
"I purchased the Bullhide Briefcase as a gift to honor my son's retirement from the Air Force this month. After committing years of dedication to defending American freedom, it had to be a special gift to launch him onto his next career. The quality and personalization of this gift was the perfect choice."
Review 13 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Father's Day Surprise,
June 20, 2014
By: kipsrun
from Massachusetts
"My husband loves his new computer/briefcase. He travels frequently and this holds everything he needs. Also gives a professional air."
Review 14 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worlds most durable,
June 16, 2014
By: Rocksmore
from Springville, Utah
"I have had this bag since 2001 as an alternate to my aluminum brief case and the Bull hide bag beats it by a mile in weight and ease of use ."
Review 15 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 16, 2014
By: spo65
"This is the second bullhide briefcase that I've purchased from Orvis for my husband. The first one lasted 10 years for business use and is still being used for fishing-related items. It is very sturdy, is large capacity, and looks good."
Review 16 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Extremely functional, but...,
May 17, 2014
By: JeffOTP
from Burlingame, CA
"Love the briefcase. Love its design. Love the set up.
But...
When slung over my shoulder, the back rubs up my slacks, expecially the pocket where I carry my wallet, resulting in stain.
Has to go back as I cannot affrod to get my slacks dry-cleaned after each wearing.
Bummer"
Review 17 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money,
May 16, 2014
By: 49erfan
from New York, NY
"I just received my second Bullhide Leather briefcase from Orvis. The second one was free because of Orvis' great unconditional return policy.
I am hard on my briefcases. Before I came across this product, I would generally go through one to two a year, running around the NYC subway system with a bag loaded to capacity with files.
I finally decided to break the bank and buy a good bag. This bag lasted more than five years but was beginning to show its age. There were some rips in the fabric and the hooks that hold the shoulder strap were deformed due to the heavy weight that the bag was required to carry. I was also on my second strap, the first one being replaced within two days of telephoning Orvis to tell them that it had broken. I brought the bag into an Orvis store to show them the defects, which would have destroyed any other bag, but did not effect the usability of this bag. The store manager immediately took the bag and issued me a gift card for the amount that I had paid.
The new bag was a few dollars more, but Orvis just waived the price difference and I had a new bag within a week.
It is clear that Orvis reads the reviews because they have made many improvements in things such as the quality of the lining and some small changes to make it easier to get to things and keep up with the technology of what you carry, such as computers.
Not only do I recommend this bag, but I recommend anything that Orvis sells because their quality is top notch and they stand by the products better than any other retailer. I look forward to making many more purchases at Orvis."
Review 18 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Expected So Far,
January 16, 2014
By: Magnumber44
from Colorado
"I saw this briefcase in the store and asked for it as a Christmas gift. Santa did not disappoint and I said goodbye to my old Tumi that had lasted me years. I wanted the ruggedness of the Orvis model but with more professionalism than a canvas bag or backpack. Well it seems very rugged - double-stitched zippers, brass strap hardware and zipper pulls, sturdy handles. I was pleasantly surprised with the interior - places for tablet AND laptop, documents, pens, keys, phone, business cards, etc. I want to emphasize that it is even more attractive up close than the picture lets on. I love this case - I hope it lasts forever! It's only been a few weeks, but no problems so far."
Review 19 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
January 16, 2014
By: NorthernMS
"I purchased this briefcase as a xmas present for my boyfriend and purchased the gift wrap option. I wish I could have seen it first. It is definitely a very nice, well constructed, handsome briefcase but it is a little larger than I expected and it seems heavy to me. He loves it, but I would probably not have given it to him had I examined at it first. He has not used it yet."
Review 20 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice briefcase,
December 30, 2013
By: Jbsonn
from Washington state
"Nicely constructed briefcase in leather, but not too heavy."