Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase

If you need more—more capacity, more pockets, and a more rugged exterior—this is the briefcase for you. Tough Bullhide leather handles the abuses of morning commutes and life on the job, with a patina that's the envy of every colleague in your meeting room. The signature-tartan-lined main compartment boasts a full business organizer, including a molded pocket for a smartphone or camera, and business card slots. The second compartment is padded and sized to hold your laptop computer. One outside slip compartment holds the daily paper. D-rings for included shoulder strap make it easy to carry in comfort. Snag-free nylon zippers; main compartment zippers lock securely. Personalized leather briefcase in brown. 13"H x 17"W x 5"D; 1,105 cu. in. Holds laptops up to 16" wide. Engraving on brass plate available. Specify the characters in the order they should appear. Up to 6 characters. Genuine leather. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.662 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
73 of 77(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Review 1 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Large,
October 15, 2014
By: timreviewsky
"This is a very large case. If that is what you want go for it."
Review 2 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
October 8, 2014
By: Joe1234
from So. California
"Was concerned about the bulk of this case and its appearance in professional setting. Yes, it is large but designed well...and my mistake in the past has been putting too much into smaller bags. This case is very attractive; already had compliments on it. Overall, very pleased and it looks to be a bag I can use for years."
Review 3 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Briefcase,
August 11, 2014
By: Mendhamguy
from Mendham, NJ
"Over the years, I've had briefcases from other companies which were gifts and which I liked, but they were no match for this. I decided to buy this for myself. Beautiful looking case with deep rich brown leather and nicely laid out interior which easily holds my laptop and assorted other commuting items (iPhone, books, pens, papers, lunch). I read some reviews which didn't care for the personalization, but I decided to have it personalized anyway with my initials and I'm very pleased with how it turned out. It's a classy oval brass plate with initials in black. Looks beautiful and compliments the case. I looked for awhile at different briefcases and this had the best layout and look for the money."
Review 4 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Son's Retirement Gift,
July 23, 2014
By: RetiredArmy
from Salt Lake, UT
"I purchased the Bullhide Briefcase as a gift to honor my son's retirement from the Air Force this month. After committing years of dedication to defending American freedom, it had to be a special gift to launch him onto his next career. The quality and personalization of this gift was the perfect choice."
Review 5 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Father's Day Surprise,
June 20, 2014
By: kipsrun
from Massachusetts
"My husband loves his new computer/briefcase. He travels frequently and this holds everything he needs. Also gives a professional air."
Review 6 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worlds most durable,
June 16, 2014
By: Rocksmore
from Springville, Utah
"I have had this bag since 2001 as an alternate to my aluminum brief case and the Bull hide bag beats it by a mile in weight and ease of use ."
Review 7 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 16, 2014
By: spo65
"This is the second bullhide briefcase that I've purchased from Orvis for my husband. The first one lasted 10 years for business use and is still being used for fishing-related items. It is very sturdy, is large capacity, and looks good."
Review 8 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Extremely functional, but...,
May 17, 2014
By: JeffOTP
from Burlingame, CA
"Love the briefcase. Love its design. Love the set up.
But...
When slung over my shoulder, the back rubs up my slacks, expecially the pocket where I carry my wallet, resulting in stain.
Has to go back as I cannot affrod to get my slacks dry-cleaned after each wearing.
Bummer"
Review 9 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money,
May 16, 2014
By: 49erfan
from New York, NY
"I just received my second Bullhide Leather briefcase from Orvis. The second one was free because of Orvis' great unconditional return policy.
I am hard on my briefcases. Before I came across this product, I would generally go through one to two a year, running around the NYC subway system with a bag loaded to capacity with files.
I finally decided to break the bank and buy a good bag. This bag lasted more than five years but was beginning to show its age. There were some rips in the fabric and the hooks that hold the shoulder strap were deformed due to the heavy weight that the bag was required to carry. I was also on my second strap, the first one being replaced within two days of telephoning Orvis to tell them that it had broken. I brought the bag into an Orvis store to show them the defects, which would have destroyed any other bag, but did not effect the usability of this bag. The store manager immediately took the bag and issued me a gift card for the amount that I had paid.
The new bag was a few dollars more, but Orvis just waived the price difference and I had a new bag within a week.
It is clear that Orvis reads the reviews because they have made many improvements in things such as the quality of the lining and some small changes to make it easier to get to things and keep up with the technology of what you carry, such as computers.
Not only do I recommend this bag, but I recommend anything that Orvis sells because their quality is top notch and they stand by the products better than any other retailer. I look forward to making many more purchases at Orvis."
Review 10 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Expected So Far,
January 16, 2014
By: Magnumber44
from Colorado
"I saw this briefcase in the store and asked for it as a Christmas gift. Santa did not disappoint and I said goodbye to my old Tumi that had lasted me years. I wanted the ruggedness of the Orvis model but with more professionalism than a canvas bag or backpack. Well it seems very rugged - double-stitched zippers, brass strap hardware and zipper pulls, sturdy handles. I was pleasantly surprised with the interior - places for tablet AND laptop, documents, pens, keys, phone, business cards, etc. I want to emphasize that it is even more attractive up close than the picture lets on. I love this case - I hope it lasts forever! It's only been a few weeks, but no problems so far."
Review 11 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
January 16, 2014
By: NorthernMS
"I purchased this briefcase as a xmas present for my boyfriend and purchased the gift wrap option. I wish I could have seen it first. It is definitely a very nice, well constructed, handsome briefcase but it is a little larger than I expected and it seems heavy to me. He loves it, but I would probably not have given it to him had I examined at it first. He has not used it yet."
Review 12 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice briefcase,
December 30, 2013
By: Jbsonn
from Washington state
"Nicely constructed briefcase in leather, but not too heavy."
Review 13 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bag of my dreams,
December 30, 2013
By: DocSmith
from Columbus, OH
"Throughout medical school, I looked forward to all the people I would help throughout my career. As I worked with more and more physicians, I soon realized there was something else to look forward to: the doctor bag.
Each doctor has his/her own style, but trends come in and out. When it came time to select my bag, I wanted it to be an investment- something to last. When I saw this bag, I knew it was the one. High quality, timeless design, option to personalize.
It's been several weeks now and I couldn't be happier. Everything fits without the bag getting bulky. I am a professional, and this bag reinforces that- without boasting. It goes with me to the hospital, but it also came up hunting with me last week.
This is the bag of my dreams, and will continue to be for the foreseeable future."
Review 14 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice but a few beefs,
December 29, 2013
By: RodNGunn
from Oregon
"I received this bag as a gift. It is made of very nice leather. It is roomy and set up well for the electronics that most of us lug around today. I returned mine due to the cloth strap (won't hold up, looks cheap). I also thought the quality of the zippers was poor. Lastly, I did not like the giant logo on the side. Its a nice bag but I'm in my 50's and I want my last briefcase to be 5 stars... this one is 3 or 4."
Review 15 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bullhide briefcase,
December 28, 2013
By: YPHG
from York PA
"The briefcase itself is very nice. Before purchase I called cust serv to ask what the shoulder strap was made of . They said it was leather. Wrong!! It is canvas. How disappointing for this price point."
Review 16 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicest briefcase ever, I Love It!,
December 27, 2013
By: nevaeh
from Denver, CO
"Beautifully crafted, elegantly designed briefcase with plenty of room. There is no need to carry a purse everything fits beautifully into the bull hide leather extra capacity briefcase. It is wonderful for day to day business and travel. I absolutely love it!"
Review 17 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
December 26, 2013
By: Kateroo
from Birmingham AL
"Fabulous bag with lots of carrying capacity but not exceptionally heavy. Durable leather with professional appeal. Monogram plate added a nice personal touch. Top quality at a reasonable price!"
Review 18 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
December 17, 2013
By: Kaiser73
from Salinas,ca
"Outstanding briefcase, plenty of interior room without being bulky...
Quality of leather is beyond my expectations....
"
Review 19 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good solid product,
December 9, 2013
By: greatgifter
from Charleston, SC
"This piece will last a long time and be tough on wear and tear. Great for a hunter/outdoorsmen who can have the look in the business world. Only thing was the personalization was on a piece attached to the bag, not the leather itself as I was told in my ichat i did."
Review 20 for Bullhide Leather Extra-Capacity Briefcase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very functional.,
December 9, 2013
By: Eightdogs
from Midland, Texas
"Purchased for my husband and he raved on about it so much purchased another for my adult son. Manly and very useful as a briefcase / laptop case with plenty of storage for business trips and travel.Excellent value."