Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap

When a standard ball cap just won't do, it's time to up the ante. He'll appreciate the vintage look of authentic Harris Tweed and the fine craftsmanship of this six-panel ball cap, made at one of the last cut-and-sew hat factories in the country. Fully adjustable with a solid-brass slider and lined in lightweight silk for added comfort and warmth. Vintage tweed baseball cap in brown plaid. One size fits most. Wool/silk/polypropylene. Dry clean. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 30(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Review 1 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Harris Tweed Ball Cap,
February 11, 2014
By: Mucksiegooma
from Northern Minnesota
"I ordered the Olive Check cap as pictured in the catalog and on the web, which looked to me to be a light green and the other option was brown plaid, which had an Orvis name pin on the left side of the cap. I opted for the olive check.
When I received the cap it looked more brown than green and had an Orvis name pin on the left side. I called and a replacement was sent, which was exactly the same as the first.
Conclusion, don't believe what you see, you may not receive that.
I sent both caps back and only wish I could get one similar to the picture on line and in the catalog."
Review 2 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
January 25, 2014
By: USMC67
from Macomb, IL
"Received this cap for Christmas from my wife and it is terrific. Very warm and comfortable."
Review 3 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good - but not great - hat,
January 22, 2014
By: Bufoboy
from Asheville, NC
"This hat solves the problem of finding a warm ball-style cap for winter, and the Harris tweed is handsome. Its only construction defect was a slightly crooked adjustment strap at the back. As for design defects, there is relatively large gap at the back, the hat sits a bit low and chafes the top of the ears, and the bill arrives flat, giving the hat a dorky look until one can work the right curve into its shape. (Rubber bands worked well for doing that.)"
Review 4 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Ball Cap,
January 16, 2014
By: Stanhopeguy
from New Jersey
"Bought this tweed ball cap for my father-in-law because it was dressier than an regular ball cap and he is a snazzy dresser. He loved it. Couldn't be happier. Great quality and it looks great too."
Review 5 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cap for Son-in-Law,
January 16, 2014
By: NashVegas
from Mt. Pleasant, SC
"We bought this cap as a gift for our son-in-law who loves to go hunting in style. He loves it!"
Review 6 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
January 13, 2014
By: notdos
from Bham, Al
"This cap is the real thing,,not some overpriced ball cap.
Warm, but not hot and not at all itchy.
"
Review 7 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
looks odd,
January 4, 2014
By: JArthur
from Pennsylvania
"This is a very odd-looking cap. It does not resemble a baseball cap whatsoever; with its flat, unshapeable bill to the poor construction with uneven attachment of the bill to the cap. The photo in the magazine does not look anything like the product (think of the photos on the wall of fast food joint burgers and what they look like when served.) If you want something different, however, this may be the product for you."
Review 8 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this cap.,
December 31, 2013
By: HLFL
"My boyfriend -- an outdoor guy who dresses very well indoors -- loves this cap that I got him for Christmas! He dresses up or down and it's a warm cute cap on his head! Cute is probably not what he's going for... so I'll say good looking."
Review 9 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice hat,
December 18, 2013
By: pwd2
"This hat is being given to a son who wears a hat every day. We were pleased with the quality and hope he feels the same. It seems like a good choice for cold weather since a ball cap is part of his wardrobe."
Review 10 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish,
December 18, 2013
By: KBTowner
from West Virginia
"Hope he likes it!! A gift I am sure he will enjoy! Another Orvis sucess!"
Review 11 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent autumn cap!,
October 8, 2013
By: CoolPapa
from Wadsworth, IL
"I had one of these Harris Tweed caps years ago that I wore out. Comfy, keeps the autumn chill at bay, and keeps the sun out my eyes. Looks good with my favorite jacket too! Thanks, Orvis!"
Review 12 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best cap ever,
May 21, 2013
By: blackdogdesign
from New Zealand
"This cap is great, great cap and I have a few, very warm and just like it was displayed, very happy."
Review 13 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Key to any tweed ensemble,
December 31, 2012
By: HisNibstheTweed
"It is all well and good to have tweed jackets and trou, but it is key in America to have a ball cap in tweed as well so it does not squish under the ear protectors on the hunt."
Review 14 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elegant Baseball hat,
December 30, 2012
By: handydandy
from Fullerton, CA
"My husband has enjoyed wearing the wool baseball cap this winter as it keeps his head warm while walking from the train to the office. It looks more dressy than a regular cap and he wears it with nice pants and good shirt and an Orvis jacket.
They say that heat flows out of your head and now he maintains a warm interior and handsome look with the cap.
"
Review 15 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Wool Cap - Versatile too,
December 29, 2012
By: TomCan
from upstate, new york
"This wool cap is made by Harris Tweed a well respected company of fine garments. The wool is hand woven in the Hebrides. The inside lining is not only an extra later but is it smooth so the hat feels and fits great. The adjustable wool strap with brassy buckle in the back is a welcome feature since although I take a size seven and five eighths I can never be sure mail order if one manufacturer's hat size is the same as another so it's best to get the adjustable especially when the strap is so attractive.. The stitching is precise and secure. This is a very durable cap that can be used with any overcoat or dress up a bit with this cap and a tweed vest worn under an open sweater or blazer and some dark Levi's 511 jeans . You'll be ready to shovel the driveway or grace the cover of GQ. Enjoy!"
Review 16 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epitome of style and function,
December 29, 2012
By: ZZDog
from Atlanta GA
"This cap is fantastic. It is simple, functional and looks great. I got compliments and questions as to where I got it the first time I wore it. I wish I had gotten it earlier."
Review 17 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
December 28, 2012
By: pauma321
from Sonoma County, CA
"This was for my 96 year old Dad. He put it on Christmas and even sleeps in it. Very fine workmanship."
Review 18 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Little Hat,
October 22, 2012
By: catt
from New England
"This is a great little hat. Soft, warm Harris tweed wool, made in the US. Very distinguished, nice muted colors that can be worn with almost any fall/winter outfit. I little expensive but so well made you know it will last many years."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size,
March 8, 2012
By: dogcat
"Made well. Assembled in the USA. I have a large head and it is too tight. Would be better if it came in sizes. I liked the hat enough to have a tailor split the back about 1/2 inch and restich each side of the split. Fits well now."
Review 20 for Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product, excellent service,
December 29, 2011
By: matrush
from NSW, Australia
"After ordering my Scottish Harris Tweed Ball Cap I waited with anticipation for it to arrive. After waiting about a month I contacted Orvis by email. They replied the next day and sent a replacement hat immediately which arrived about a week later. Excellent service. I would certainly shop at Orvis again."