Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Washed-Denim Chore Coat

Rugged, 14.5-oz. pure cotton denim ensures this chore coat will stand up to hard use; a heavy prewash lends the broken-in look and feel of a longtime favorite from the very first wearing. Traditional work-coat styling, including four front pockets and a button-front closure. Button-adjustable cuffs. Gusseted underarms. Denim chore coat in indigo. Pure cotton. Washable. Made in USA.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Review 1 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Boxey looking,
August 18, 2014
By: timreviewsky
"Looks better in the photo should be longer and thinner. Orvis need a fitted line for its mens cloths. Not everyone is 30 pounds overweight."
Review 2 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I hoped for,
April 22, 2014
By: MichaelBF
from White Plains, NY
"I was hoping to get a very lightweight jacket to replace a denim jacket of this type that I have had for many years but apparently doesn't exist anymore. I was disappointed because jacket is a heavyweight denim. Quite nice if that's what you want.
Also, unlike other Orbitz products, which tend to be cut full in the waist for guys with pot bellies like me, this jacket was cut for thin people. I could not button it. Needless to say, I should lose weight. But in the meantime, i buy Orbitz jackets because they fit now."
Review 3 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
March 1, 2014
By: Herbjr
from Avondale, PA
"Great Coat! Excellent fit and well made. I'm 6' 2" and 210 lbs. with 35" sleeves. Typically wear an XL in other manufacturer's clothes, but from experience with Orvis jackets I new a Large should fit. Mine did not smell as others reported. Could wear right out of the box. Expensive like most Orvis clothes but worth it because it will last for years."
Review 4 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best,
January 29, 2014
By: Kaleem
"I really love this jacket like always no match to Orvis quality"
Review 5 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Coat,
January 9, 2014
By: DanKel
from San Antonio, Texas
"Sizing was right on - full cut.
Very nice fabric and well made - good for outdoor or more social uses.
"
Review 6 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Denim Jacket,
October 17, 2013
By: Texn
"Nice denim jacket. Well constructed. Looks great on. I'm a size 42. Sizing guidelines suggested a large. I went with a medium. Fits perfectly. Plenty of room in the gut.
Reeks something awful, right out of the box. Washing it didn't get rid of the stench. Airing it out now.
Assuming the odor dissipates, and I think it will based on other comments, I would recommend it."
Review 7 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful coat,
October 2, 2013
By: Chuck22940
from El Paso, Tx
"I wear this coat everyday now that the weather is getting cooler. Easy to wear over a sweater in the evenings. Perfect to carry to the theater for an afternoon matinee. It has become one of my favorite articles of clothing."
Review 8 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
September 28, 2013
By: LaughingHorse
"My kind of clothing! Looks well-worn and very comfortable."
Review 9 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beware the smell,
September 16, 2013
By: Crabtre3
from England
"Excellent quality but dreadful smell. It took 4 washes and a week of hanging in the garden to get rid of it."
Review 10 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Unique Coat,
April 17, 2013
By: jbVertigo
from Central, IN
"I have only worn this coat a few times but I really like it. I think it is a unique look and I think it will actually get better with wear. It is made of durable denim and looks good for a casual night out as well as a great working coat. Particularly if you were doing work outside but didn't want to get to warm. This is not really suitable for super cold weather but I think you would be fine in the high 40's to the 50's."
Review 11 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic,
March 25, 2013
By: Jack123
from Kearny, NJ
"It was a long wait getting it but worth it. Good looking, quality jacket!!"
Review 12 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket that Fits,
March 22, 2013
By: 3rdValley
from Sacramento, CA
"Great jacket for California weather, can be worn year around. I am 6'2" with 37" sleeve size and this jacket fits me in the XXL size."
Review 13 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well worth the cost,
October 8, 2012
By: indianrunner
from Cotswolds
"This is an excellent jacket.
Very well made with lots of attention given to the detail, making it very comfortable to wear. It looks good on too!
However, don't know what goes into the denim but the initial smell is apalling - like mothballs but worse; it took several washes to get rid of it.
"
Review 14 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks & feels great,
June 13, 2012
By: Stasshu
from Milford, CT
"This jacket looks & feels great from the minute I put it on. It is perfect for a cool spring or fall crisp day. This coat is well made and knowing this, make you feel great when you are wearing it. I have also received several compliments on the appearance of the jacket."
Review 15 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged and durable,
May 9, 2012
By: ETA1
"Fits nicely and very well put together. Very basic, but yet classy."
Review 16 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denim Chore Coat,
April 30, 2012
By: skyhook
from NYC
"This is a great coat. Perfect for most weather and adding s heavy sweater extends the temperature range for usage.It has a great cut and feel. My only suggestion would be inside pockets."
Review 17 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Bees Knees,
February 6, 2012
By: Mihangel
from Cardiff, Wales
"Couldn't buy this coat from Orvis UK, so had it shipped from USA. What a stunning coat, quality heavy duty denim made to the highest standard. I'm really pleased with this puchase. Something that will last beyond my time. Thank you Orvis, this is the bees knees!!"
Review 18 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fabric softness and Color,
December 14, 2011
By: CEDinTX
from Plain-old-TX
"Hi, I ordered this coat from the picture and description. When it arrived, the acid wash was very uniform and unattractive, and the fabric was not as soft and comfortable as I was lead to believe by the description."
Review 19 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The real deal and US made, too!,
December 10, 2011
By: chili
from connecticut yankee
"This is a great coat. Quality that will last a lifetime. Yes, it's a bit pricey. But it's worth it. This is the companion to your favorite jeans. The buttons are metal and copper coated. The pockets are riveted . These aren't just nice handsome details , they make the coat durable and strong. This is a coat you'll be handing down to your favorite grandson. And last but not least, it's made in the USA."
Review 20 for Washed-Denim Chore Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Roomy Fit,
November 17, 2011
By: Shteevr
from Santa Ana, California
"I ordered this coat as soon as I saw it in the catalog and waited nearly a month for it to become available. I ordered a Medium (38 - 40) because I'm a size 40. It's got a lot room in the coat and I'm tempted to send it back for a Small."