Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt

A classic plaid shirt you can wear anywhere, woven from cool, breathable cotton madras ideal for summer travel. Button-down collar. Chest pocket. Short-sleeve plaid shirt in green multi. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 17(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Review 1 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travels well, pretty good at home too,
July 18, 2014
By: MidwestTraveler
from the Heartland
"I received a number of Orvis plaid and madras shirts as requested gifts this summer, and this one is probably my favorite to wear at home and on weekends. The color and pattern make it acceptable everywhere, and the durability and cut make it a good value. It also took me to the East Coast while traveling, and there it stood me in good stead when (for example) dining informally in Manhattan and visiting the flea markets in upstate New York."
Review 2 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice shirt,
June 25, 2014
By: CleverDan
from Rochester, NY
"I selected this shirt to go with my Murray's Nantucket Red Shorts. The reddish color matches perfectly, and on top of that the green colors match up nicely with a pair of pale green chinos that never seemed quite right with any color in my wardrobe. The shirt itself is very light weight - perfect for the hot and humid days of summer. Well made and very comfortable material."
Review 3 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really nice shirt,
June 3, 2014
By: mudpuppie
from Charlesto, SC
"Very nice, comfortable shirt. Bright colors, but in a nice way, not garish at all. Runs true to size."
Review 4 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No slim?,
February 25, 2014
By: WillyDeux
"I love Orvis quality, but it's one of the last remaining Men's clothing companies that doesn't offer Slim Fit shirts. I tried the shirt on, it fit like a box, and back into the package it went to be returned."
Review 5 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer's comin'...,
December 23, 2013
By: yoellis
from Baltimore MD
"This is such a great looking and well made shirt - I confess, I've been eyeballing it for a while and finally took the dive… The material is light and soft; it is going to be a pleasure to wear, during a hot and muggy, east-coast summer. Fit is true and good, even (or especially) after wash & dry. Colors are muted, but distinct, and I am delighted..."
Review 6 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't go wrong with Orvis,
October 4, 2013
By: Len1
from Orlando, FL
"It costs more but you get your money's worth with Orvis Quality."
Review 7 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Shirt,
August 26, 2013
By: rrechgo
"This shirt rates an A+ ! The colors are beautiful and the fabric is top quality. A very good choice!! I wil buy it in any additional colors offered."
Review 8 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely Summer Shirt,
August 15, 2013
By: Pondlife
from Middlesex UK
"Really good soft and lightweight material - a real pleasure to wear. As mentioned elsewhere, the colour is greener than it appears either on-line or in the catalogue but that's fine for me. The M size was larger than most Ms but OK"
Review 9 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
shirt sizes,
August 6, 2013
By: merlyn
from Houston
"I like the fabrics and stitching quality....BUT.....as a repeat buyer, for me the sizing continues to run different than just about every other shirt retailer. I usually wear XL, but Orvis XL is way too big; so I order L and while the shoulders fit, the torso fits like a M, and the short sleeves are a bit skimpy. I like Orvis, but will look for better sizing elsewhere."
Review 10 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A winner,
July 25, 2013
By: Andy635
from North East England, UK
"Nice material, irons well. Looks a cut above the usual. Couple of people have commented on how nice it looks (the pictures in the catalogue & website don't do it justice). if it was available in other colours i would buy a second one. i guess we need a 'Leeds Plaid' !"
Review 11 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost what I've looked for years for.,
July 1, 2013
By: Theaverageguy
from Toronto.ON
"One quibble. The catalogue makes this shirt appear black and red. The actual shirt has quite a large green element. But is still a great shirt. Black and red alone and I might have thought I'd died and gone to heaven. The internet colours are correct- only the catalogue is often off, playing down green most of all - and I have enough green shirt to stuff a moose. But the shirt looks, feels, is great. A good buy. Just remember - the green is a major element."
Review 12 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beautiful Shirt, But Needs Ironing,
May 24, 2013
By: SportShirtLover
from Missouri
"I loved the color and feel of the shirt, and the fit was good. However, the button strip was wrinkled after the first washing, and I don't want shirts that need ironing. I wish one of the reviews I read had mentioned that and saved me the trouble.
As much as I loved the look of the shirt, I had to return it."
Review 13 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks great; fits great,
May 3, 2013
By: OCSport
from Orange County, CA
"I like Madras as they make good business casual wear in the summer. This pattern is darker than most Madras products and I fell that it's a richer more sophisticated pattern than you normally find. They are also better constructed than the norm. I usually wear size L and this fit perfectly in both the sleeve and the body. I how have 3 of these shirts."
Review 14 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Form and function,
March 16, 2013
By: Shirtfull
"Beautiful, deep colors and durable but comfortable material -- all I could ask."
Review 15 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Orvis policy change,
June 25, 2012
By: OldGuy
"I have always purchased Orvis XL sport shirts. their cut has been consistent. This sirt was cut much differently than other XL shirts. This one is noticeably smaller. Is this a new Orvis policy change?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 8, 2012
By: McGwinn
from Dubuque, Iowa
"I love Orvis shirts! I have about 10 of them in my closet now."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Manchester Plaid Short-Sleeved Shirt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1