Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Mountain Division Sweatshirt

Breathable pure cotton knitted in a flat-back French-rib style, then prewashed and preshrunk, make these sweatshirts for men a perfect answer to cool, clear summer evenings: a touch of warmth without sacrificing breathability. Quarter-zip mockneck style. Heathered-gray elbow patches and collar lining. Sweatshirts for men have a button-flap-secured pleated pocket. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44).
Average Customer Rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
10 of 14(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Warm,
March 25, 2013
By: ChrisRD
from East Anglia, UK
"Great quality and a very cosy item to wear. With a tee underneath, easily keeps out the chill, but you soon brew up indoors!
Generously sized, which was good for me, but if you like a closer fit, consider ordering a size smaller."
Review 2 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sweatshirt for giants!,
March 21, 2013
By: Curtly
from Oakham
"I ordered the XL and if I had put a belt round it, it would have acted as a dress so I swapped it for the L and although it fitted round the chest, the arms were about 6 inches too long! I might send it back again or I might give it to my 7' 3" cousin."
Review 3 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sizing is an issue,
February 28, 2013
By: Stevieg2
from Wales
"The sweatshirt was OK however, the size was huge for a Large. Large was given as 42/44 which I am but this sweatshirt drowned me."
Review 4 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Check the size,
January 3, 2013
By: SimonD1
from UK
"This is the usual Orvis quality. A very useful sweatshirt. However, I have purchased a number of Orvis clothes and always found that XL fitted me well. This XL was XXXL and had to be retuend."
Review 5 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good move,
November 8, 2012
By: MACKEY
from Kingston, PA
"Bought the mt. sweat and wore it for two days. Works well for me in red and blue.IT'S STRIKING in red and it's true blue. Order at least one size down. Runs large! Perfect pocket and cuffs with excellent tailoring. Looks custom made to boot. Got lucky on this item.Double check your order to avoid returns. Make your own luck!"
Review 6 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The XL is really big,
November 7, 2012
By: TxPhil
"I bought this Sweatshirt and returned it. I am borderline between a large and XL. I typically like my sweatshirts on the large size for simple comfort. I like my sweatshirts with a little taper around the waist or to have some sort of "gathering" or elasticity to keep it bunched around your waist. This product is definately cut big and its cut darn near square in the XL size....zero taper, nothing to keep the botttom of the sweatshirt around your waist. I think the wind would come right up it...I had to send it back."
Review 7 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Beware of sizes,
November 3, 2012
By: Yukio
from Boston Ma.
"Though the sweatshirt is a quality garment, the description of the size was inaccurate. The item wears bigger than the size indicates. I wear an xl exclusively but this sweatshirt ( an xl) swam on me. It fit like a double xl. So maybe buy a size smaller than you normally wear."
Review 8 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweatshirt,
September 18, 2012
By: Qualitybuff
from Brookline, MA
"This a great sweatshirt. I bought it in Red - which could have been a shade deeper - but looks really good with the light grey trim and elbow patches. The flap pocket detail is excellent.
I absolutely agree with the sizing comments the previous gentlemen have commented upon. I typically wear a Large in most sweaters - I am 5-10, average build, and wear a 43/44 jacket size. I ordered a Medium in this sweatshirt and it fits like a generous Large."
Review 9 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect for football,
August 2, 2012
By: buckeyeguy
"Even as an avid Ohio State fan, I sometimes look for items that exhibit team colors but without logos that potentialy limit versatility of use. This sweatshirt is perfect. I like the open cuffs and bottom and the stand up collar for blustery days.
Looking forward to making a fashion statement in the stadium this season.
"
Review 10 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mountain Division Sweatshirt,
June 4, 2012
By: HanoverVAFly
from Hanover, Virginia
"All the comfort of Orvis's sweatshirt but dressed up a bit. Practical and comfort rolled into yet another quality product. Great for evening off the river or rolling into town for evening after long day on the river."
Review 11 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BIG,
May 16, 2012
By: ThomasO
from Pennington, NJ
"The sweatshirt is comfortable, handsome (particularly in red, I think), soft, and versatile. I've worn it to the gym and under a blazer. But it is BIG. I originally ordered a large, based on the Orvis guideline that large is for those who wear about a 43 or 44 suit jacket. When the sweatshirt arrived its sleeves covered my hands beyond the fingertips and the chest size turned out to be 50 inches. I returned it, discussed substituting a Medium but was glad I decided on a Small. The sleeves are still a bit long (my shirt sleeve length is 34) but it is a good, but loose, fit around the chest and belly. Note: I've been wearing it 4 days a week. ."
Review 12 for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing generous,
March 25, 2012
By: Skillie
from Burford
"I would advise to buy this sweatshire a size below what you normally buy as it comes up quite big."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mountain Division Sweatshirt
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2