Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Kalamkari Shirt

Inspired by the ancient Indian kalamkari technique, each of our best-selling, pure cotton shirts is a unique work of art. Band collar with open V-neckline. Narrow epaulets at the shoulders. Chest pockets. Button-and-loop closures on placket and cuffs. Button-and-tab chest pockets. Gently shaped for a flattering fit. Women's band collar shirt in dark chamois. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(4); about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.234 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
34
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
4
121 of 145(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kalamkari Shirt
Review 1 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable top,
April 5, 2014
By: ProfessorSped
"So comfortable and can be casual or you certainly can drss it up!
Love it"
Review 2 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good travel shirt,
April 3, 2014
By: Ginny41
from Eureka, IL
"The shirt is casual and feminine, and can be worn almost everywhere. I especially like it because it is lightweight and crinkly, so it is ideal for travel."
Review 3 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very nice shirt,
March 24, 2014
By: AcuNan
from Eastport NY
"seems to hold a good shape and is good quality. However, if you don't get it on sale here, you can probably get very similar in a cheaper brand.
Color is good, held up nicely after washing too. Didn't need to be ironed."
Review 4 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this shirt,
March 23, 2014
By: ILikeOrvis
from New Mexico
"I've seen this shirt in the Orvis catalogue for a while -- seemed nice, but never got around to ordering until I saw it in the sale catalogue. When it came, it was even better than I expected -- very cool and lightweight in a nice neutral color that will go with a lot of bottoms. I think I'll be wearing this a lot when the weather gets warmer."
Review 5 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Came back for a second!,
March 13, 2014
By: gulfcoaster
from Saint Petersburg, FL
"Last year I bought this blouse in green and kept getting compliments on it every time I wore it. So I was delighted when I noticed it was on super-sale in chamois, I ordered right away. It washes and dries beautifully, no ironing needed. Love it!"
Review 6 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kalarmaki shirt,
March 10, 2014
By: VivsNee
from Boston, Ma
"I bought this shirt because it looks so coo land comfortable but could be worn day or night...When I opened the package I was vey pleased at the color, fabric and the quality of this shirt. It looks and feels like more.it cost so much more. Thanks Orvis you have made my day again.
I always recommend your website to all my good friends.
"
Review 7 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not the same,
March 6, 2014
By: Donhobo
from Crestview, FL
"this is my second Kalamkari shirt - the material in the first one was wonderful - the material in this one feels like cheap cotton."
Review 8 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt,
March 1, 2014
By: Jantann
from Seattle
"Although it arrived in a different colored pattern than I thought I had ordered, the gold pattern worked fine with my complexion. Very good quality."
Review 9 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better Than I Expected,
February 17, 2014
By: Robyn3517
from Utah
"I wanted the green one but the only one left in my size was dark chamois. With no picture I wasn't sure I was going to like it or not but the color is cream and gold and I love it! It washes up perfectly and looks really good on. Very comfortable and dressy looking without feeling fussy. I'm so glad I got this color instead."
Review 10 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Up to Orvis standards,
February 13, 2014
By: Abbyjean
from Danville, PA.
"Accurate sizing, pretty color and style. Can be worn without ironing but probably looks better when ironed."
Review 11 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Shirt!,
February 11, 2014
By: jerseygirl62
from rural PA
"I bought this in the chamois color. I have this shirt in blue and green colors. I find myself wearing these Kalamkari shirts more than others in my wardrobe. It can be casual, or dressy - it always looks good."
Review 12 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
February 11, 2014
By: Lin68
from Florida
"Love the fabric and color and wear it a lot with a blazer. I had to give it four stars because it shrunk about 1% but it still fits and is very usable."
Review 13 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this blouse,
February 10, 2014
By: BeelyBob
from Gower, MO
"I wish it was available in the other colors, I hope it is again soon. I would get one in every color."
Review 14 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
summer elegance,
February 3, 2014
By: Tuolumnegirl
"I love the fabric and style but again this was tough to order online esp because there was no picture showing the actual color that was available. It is not the best color for me but I think will be very versatile with camisoles. A cool choice for hot summer nights esp."
Review 15 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shrinkage!,
January 30, 2014
By: prov31mrs
from Lancaster, CA
"I really liked this when I bought it then I washed it (gently!) and it shrunk. That wasn't too bad but the lapels look very old fashioned and you probably need to iron it. It's ok but not my favorite. For a taller woman I highly would not recommend it."
Review 16 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely shirt,
January 20, 2014
By: Maryian
from Hammond, IN
"Lovely print and material shirt,
has nice draping effect when worn.
True to size, great casual top.
"
Review 17 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So Disappointed!,
January 19, 2014
By: Midwest234
"I had been looking at this blouse for some time and hoped it would go on sale and it finally did! I so looked forward to receiving it, but when I did, I was very disappointed. The fit is fine. But the fabric looks nothing like what is pictured. It does not drape as it does in the picture; in fact, it is stiff and stands away from the body. There is nothing soft about it. When I sat down in it, it wrinkled immediately, like the cheapest of linens. And it stayed wrinkled. One could not smooth it out. It needed ironing after 5 minutes worth of wear. I will not return it - it's simply too much trouble. However, I was going to buy another in blue - my favorite color - but now will not do so. I've read all the reviews and can't help but wonder if the fabric was not changed at some point. BTW, I too received the white buttons, not the buttons that matched the fabric."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patience Pays Off,
January 16, 2014
By: peggy980
from Bethlehem, PA
"I saw this top in an earlier catalog, probably 6months to a year before I purchased it. Every catalog that came along I would check to see if you still carried it and if it was on sale. My patience paid off when I saw it on sale, in the off season. I have yet to wear it, waiting for warmer weather, but love the material, style and fit."
Review 19 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 STARS,
January 15, 2014
By: JRRSOX
from Mechanicsburg, PA
"This blouse is unique in its styling, color and design. Soft and comfortable, yet classy. The color is perfect."
Review 20 for Kalamkari Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt for warm weather,
January 13, 2014
By: caps
"I bought this same shirt several years ago and am not buying it in a different color. It is very comfortable and light. It doesn't wrinkle much if you take it out of the dryer quickly."