Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle

Our fishing luggage features new eco-friendly material, new cart system and wheels, and an updated color. Same great size and function as its best-selling predecessor, but with new tarpaulin top to protect against airline abuse and inclement weather. Store clothes up top and gear, wet or dry, in the separate vented compartment below. Designed to stand on end without tipping over. The bottom will hold a 9' four-piece rod tube. One gusseted outside end pocket and improved compression straps to keep load from shifting. Roomy main compartment features a full-length, zip-close mesh pocket. Fishing luggage in aurora. Imported.Bottom: 31"L x 5"H x 16½"W; 2,557 cu. in. Overall size: 31"L x 14"H x 16½"W; 7,200 cu. in. Weighs 11 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Flexible Bag,
May 15, 2013
By: Photoanimals
from UK
"The bag is sold as a fishing accessory, but I bought it for general travel and more specifically for an upcoming trip to Africa.
It has a handle and wheels so easy to move around, soft sided so easy to get into tight space, and seems very well made.
So happy so far
"
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seems well designed.,
March 11, 2013
By: SpecklyBob
from Kent, England
"Orvis are in the habit of asking for reviews soon after the product has been delivered. The bag is stored away, awaiting it's first trip, so I can't yet say how it stands up to usage. All I can say so far is It seems a great design, well made, sturdy, and lots of strong fasterners and zipped compartments. I bought it in the sale so Orvis have replaced it with a newer product but I can't say what the differences are. Being picky, the only change I'd make is to the bottom section where you store rods etc. This is robust and well put together and will protect the rods nicecly, but it could have been designed as a single rigid moulding, rather than seperately assembled pieces. To be honest, I've not seen one like that, but it would seem to me the next step forward. Who knows, maybe the new one is designed that way!"
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice luggage.,
March 5, 2013
By: FSBrazil
from Brazil.
"Even tough a 9 feet 4 piece rod tube does not fit like shows the picture (probably it is an 8 feet 4 piece rod tube), this luggage has the perfect size for traveling."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great design,
February 7, 2013
By: tiges
"It is clearly designed by a fisherman and after struggling with wet fishing gear at airports this is brilliant.Also its perfect for storing all my gear at home and my wife is happy with that!"
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Go To Travel Bag,
February 7, 2013
By: FlybumMedia
from Cleveland, OH
"I acquired this piece of luggage a few years ago and really like it. One of the most endearing qualities of this piece of luggage is the length on the retractable handle. It has two lock points as it retracts, but being that I am 6'6", I have a long stride. In the past using other pieces of roller luggage, I would have to shorten my natural stride in order to pull them behind which as you can imagine is very frustrating. With this bag, it doesn't matter if you are 5 feet tall or 7 feet tall, this bag will pull behind you in comfort. Additionally, it will hold more gear than you can fathom. From waders and boots to rods, reels, clothes.....if you know how to pack, this bag will get you where you need to be. The zippers, straps and all are very durable and put up with abuse! I will buy it again...if that day ever comes."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second time around,
January 5, 2013
By: Steve59
from Bucks
"This is a brilliantly designed piece of luggage and having owned the previous model for a number of years, I treated myself to the newer version, which if anything is even better. Strong, secure and perfectly designed for my travel needs."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another really good buy from Orvis,
January 2, 2013
By: Nelson1805
from Manchester UK
"This piece of luggage just fits the bill if you need a really strong well made rolling case! it has plenty of storage and handles very well when fully packed. I was amazed just how much I was able to pack into the case! its so well made I don't think I will need another case like this for a very long time to come. Delighted with my purchase and the service from Orvis"
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sturdy and well designed,
December 15, 2012
By: differentone
from NC
"Great packing space with separate departments. I bought it as a carry on and roll off so that I don't have to carry my hunting or fishing gear from the plane to my pickup - just hope it fits in the overhead."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rolling Thunder !,
November 2, 2012
By: Beckenham1758
from London
"This is the first Orvis travel luggage I have purchased. Although I went through the measurements in my mind I could not believe just how big it is. Rolls like a dream even when loaded. Stands up at the check in when loaded and the double length handle is great, stops that annoying problem of being hit by the bag when heading for check in. Love the quality of construction and the colour stands out on the carousel a treat. Only gripe ? wish it was a little longer so the tubes supplied with the rods would fit in straight. I have cut some down pipe to fit two rods at a time in each tube.
PS My dog loved the box it came in ! Must be many a primary school who would love it as well.
Great product, nicely engineered.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First trip success,
September 10, 2012
By: bankperch
from Orange County, CA.
"This bag came through with flying colors.
Didn't show any signs of wear on the first trip. I am pleased with the separate compartments for gear and clothing. Plenty of room for 8 days in Montana. I packed 47 pounds on the way there and 50 pounds on the way home. Overall a good purchase. Easy to handle from home to airport to lodge and back. Very nice, well thought out piece of luggage for the angler.
"
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Perfect,
August 2, 2012
By: WaterRat
from Black Earth, WI
"This duffel is simply perfect. It tips the scales at 50 lbs. when fully loaded, rolls easily through airports, stands on end at the check-in counter, holds multiple 9', 4-piece rods in the lower compartment (which is well protected so the rods do not require hard cases -- only protective cloth bags), and is both rugged and weatherproof. Plus, the red color makes it easy to see on the luggage carousel -- and near impossible to steal."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool new color, proven performance,
July 30, 2012
By: Fishyonado
from San Antonio, TX
"Very pleased with the new color. My third Safe Passage duffle. Need I say more?"
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great luggage,
April 3, 2012
By: Kimber30
from LA
"Great duffle bag. I use it for liesure traveling more than recreational sports. My husband has last years version and I got myself the current style. I feel like the compartments work for me and keeps my clothes and shoes in tack."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 27, 2012
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"Fishing, traveling, or fishing and traveling ... this is the best piece of luggage you will ever own. Functional, attractive, and rugged ... I had no idea luggage could make me smile."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fisherman"s Friend,
January 8, 2012
By: tarponbob
from Florida
"This rolling duffle is the best I have seen for the fly fisherman. It is the correct size for the airlines but It is also long enough (31inches) to put 2 rod tubes for 9 ft/4 piece fly rods in the bottom along with all my other gear. I put all my clothes in the top and I am ready to go. It handles easily and I like the way you can stand it on end without it falling over. It appears to be well made so it should last for quite awhile which is good because I travel a lot. I've made two trips with it already and it still looks brand new."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bag,
December 5, 2011
By: coach32252
from Lafayette,la.
"I have rolled this bag to Germany, Alaska, and a 100 other places. It has been in the back of pickup trucks and the bottom of jets and still looks like the day I got it from Orvis. The bottom area holds my flyrods--or waders--or dress shirts-what ever the trip calls for and the top section has plenty of room for fly boxes, socks , underwear etc etc. Just a great bag--tuff as the day is long"
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Luggage for Fly Fishing,
November 7, 2011
By: Mikey2
"I have used this bag twice for trips to Chile and Alaska and it is the perfect bag to carry the gear you will need for fly fishing. Your boots, waders and rods fit in the bottom and clothing in the uppers section keeping your cloths separated from any wet boots or waders."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Your Gear,
November 2, 2011
By: RickTN
from TN
"This is a large capacity bag with ample room for waders, boots, rods, reels, accessories, vest and other clothing for your fly fishing vacations. I used on one recent trip and all my gear was in perfect shape when I returned. A luggage tag or place to put ID on the outside of the bag would be a useful enhancement."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fishing Luggage,
September 3, 2011
By: SteveInUpstateNY
from Upstate, NY
"Durable, and sized right. The bottom compartment holds two rod tubes (4 piece, 9') my breathable waders, boots, vest, wet bag and more. I did not even have to put the tubes in on an angle. They fit like they are supposed to. The upper compartment is roomy and sufficient for my travel needs. Excellent for heading to the woods or for flying with my gear. The storage options are great for keeping my stuff organized. I would feel very comfortable (not worrying about breakage) checking my fishing gear when using this luggage to fly. The castors are big enough to go over rough spots, roll easily, and seem sturdy. This is now my go-to luggage for all occassions, but especially for fly fishing trips."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Rolling Vented Duffle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Improved over the last model but...,
August 30, 2011
By: Ronsir
from River Forest, IL
"This is a replacement for the previous model of this bag, which I used for many week long fly-fishing trips. The overall size of the bag and the top-bottom configuration is very similar to the last bag, and is great for any kind of fishing trip. Overall, the fabric is is heavier and seems more durable than the last model, which eventually tore at one vent hole in the bottom compartment. The rubberized tarp over the top is also a very nice improvement over the last bag. The wheel system has also been improved as well as the handle, which now pulls to two different lengths. These improvements will add to the durability of the bag and ease of use.
Two things were changed on the current model, both for the worse in my opinion. The zipped back compartment of the last bag had a waterproof "balloon" type internal lining that could expand partially into the main compartment of the bag. It was ideal for storing laundry at the end of a trip, isolating it from the main compartment. This will now have to be stowed in the bottom compartment, which I use for fishing accessories, waders, shoes etc. Additionally, the previous model had two compression side straps on one side of the bag through one could slip and secure a multi-rod fly rod tube. making it very easy to move about with your bag and rod tube as one compact unit, allowing complete freedom of movement for your other arm and hand. I thought those two features were very carefully designed and thought out, and it is a real disappointment to see them eliminated from the new model"