Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag

We found this classic large messenger bag in the extensive archives at Gokey's Tipton, Missouri headquarters. Each time-tested design is crafted in the USA from heavyweight 18-oz. pure cotton canvas, paired with full-grain American-tanned leather. Abrasion-resistant nylon edge binding. Removable shoulder strap and luggage tag included. Solid-brass hardware. Large messenger bag in olive. Messenger bag: 14"H x 18"W x 8"D; 2,016 cu. in. Pure cotton canvas, genuine leather, and nylon. Tipton, Missouri, USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Review 1 for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
March 18, 2013
By: BigTup
from California
"I have a vintage version of this bag, and I saw that Orvis re-introduced this bag I thought I would treat myself to a new bag. I could not be more pleased. I was not sure new would be as good as an older version, but, without a doubt, it is. Same color canvas, same weight canvas and leather, better (roller) buckles. All brass hardware this time around. Made in the US, yes! My only comment is the Orvis description calling it a messenger bag, it's not. This is a piece of luggage. I've used the old vintage bag for quite a while now. I put underwear and socks in the 3 buckle compartment, I put an unbelievable amount of clothes in the main compartment, and I can slip my iPad, Kindle, magazines (Orvis catalogs) in the other side compartment. Without a doubt one of my favorite pieces of luggage."
Review 2 for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not for the frequent traveller.,
March 5, 2013
By: PaddyG
from Germany
"I bought this bag to use as carry on luggage. The size is fine but the finish leaves a lot to be desired, namely the straps were very poorly finished, the dressing used on the edges was smeared over the straps, The leather itself was flimsy at best. However the biggest draw back is the number of buckles that have to be opened to access the storage areas, 3 on one side and two on the other. I could see myself fumbling to open these at security checkpoints. As a frequent traveller this would not meet my needs."
Review 3 for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Large Brief,
January 23, 2013
By: TimmyD
from Spring Valley, Texas
"Perfect bag for anyone needing extra space to carry laptop, accessories and file folders. Larger than any other brief on market. Could use a few inside pockets for smaller items but not a major issue as small accessory holders are readily available. Getting lots of compliments on the bag!"
Review 4 for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST BAG EVER,
December 29, 2012
By: Crandall
"I go through 5 bags a year and by far this is the most versatile. The main section is big enough to carry my the paperwork and a scanner. It looks great especially next to my Orvis backpack. My first order had a slight imperfection but Orvis replaced it no questions asked in a matter of days."
Review 5 for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great carry on,
December 28, 2012
By: DrDonS
"The quality of this bag is excellent. The multiple compartments make it easy to organize. It is perfect as a carry on and can hold everything needed for a short trip. That it is made in the US is a plus."
Review 6 for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Weekend Bag,
September 27, 2012
By: ChicagoShawn
from Chicago, IL
"I purchased this bag for daily commute purposes on the train. Unfortunately, I found it too big for my liking as a day to day bag. Also, the organizational pockets I would expect in a messanger bag were kind of sparse - just the big main pockets. I returned the bag and went with the Battenkill Breifcase, which is perfect.
Having said that, if I needed a bigger bag for overnight/weekend purposes, this would be the bag! It looks great, had a good amount of space, but isn't bulky like a duffel, and has the convenient shoulder strap. The leather seems very durable - it's thick - but it was nice and softened when brand new, very nice quality.
Overall, I'd say this is a great bag. It's well made, functional, and looks great. This bag is kind of large though, so it's probably not best suited for day to day needs unless you have a lot to carry."
Review 7 for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome bag,
March 27, 2012
By: zaneq
from blue ridge mtns. va.
"i've been through many bags over the years, the zippers always fail or the seams come apart. With this bag I have no worries. the rugged leather straps and the heavy zipper work well no matter how full I pack the bag for my many weekends to the cabin with my wife and three large hunting dogs. I've received many compliments from our frequent guests about the good looking bag."
Review 8 for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Product,
March 13, 2012
By: Clickf64
from Dale City, VA
"This bag is beautifully made and looks great. However, it was larger and much heavier than I expected. Empty it was almost too much for me to carry. I was actually looking for something smaller, but was very impressed with the appreanance and quality. An excellent value."
Review 9 for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good, but NQR - Not Quite Right,
March 12, 2012
By: WishingIwasinMexico
from Marquette MI
"I have a lot of Orvis luggage, quite a bit of it Battenkill, and was looking for something to use as a carry-on that would work when I fly on regional jets. I hate to gate check and sometimes the only option is something that will fit in a very small overhead or under the seat. I thought this would be the perfect option, and it would be if it was only a couple of inches smaller. It wouldn't have effected the overall storage much, but it would have made it much more functional. The other issues I have with it is a lack of smaller, zippered compartments. There are only 2 fairly large open, unstructured compartments, and a side "flap" that you can stick a paper or magazine in. It would be more useful if there were other smaller compartments to put things into, so you weren't digging around in a large space looking for something that inevitably hides at the bottom. I also would have liked it more if it was the same color green as the rest of my luggage. I suppose the faded color is supposed to denote "age" as it came from a find in an old archive, but it's just one more thing that's NQR. On the positive side the workmanship, particularly the leather trim are outstanding. Subsequently, I actually purchased the large Bullhide briefcase, and it fits my carry-on needs perfectly."
Review 10 for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
February 27, 2012
By: moreorvis
from Florida
"This bag is the best ever. Can't wait to take my next trip and show it off. The quality speaks for itself. Waited 60 years to go first class!"
Review 11 for Gokey® Heritage Messenger Bag
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful purchase,
December 30, 2011
By: arkylou
from Needham Ma
"very masculane bag. It is both rugged and classy. My husband travels alot, hes feeling pretty good about carrying such a bag. Thanks for the product and all the pieces to go along with it,"